We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had the best time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Ranked #6 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is lovely, the food is amazing we went to the afternoon tea and had breakfast and dinner every day we were there. The entire place makes you feel cared for and welcome. We loved bringing our dog Rosie who felt just as at home as we did. I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We loved our room with a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 494 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

For the past four years, we have made the Stanford Inn our annual Christmas holiday retreat. It is set in a beautiful location, south of the town of Mendocino, bordered on one side by Big River, and overlooking the Pacific Ocean.

Not only is the beauty of its 7 acre spread outstanding, but the owners have created a wonderfully accommodating place to eat, relax, and rejuvenate. The rooms are spacious, cozy, and comfortable with wood burning fireplaces. The complementary full breakfast offered each morning in the Ravens (onsite vegan restaurant) is a perfect way to start each day.

Wandering around the property, one can visit the llamas, mini donkeys, and horses, inaddition to meandering through the large organic vegetable garden, wondering what delectable items will be used in the restaurant's daily menu! One can also rent canoes, kayaks, and/or paddleboards and take an paddle adventure up Big River. If paddling is not your thing, a great walking trail has been created for those who would rather trek alongside the river. A pop into Mendocino (5 minutes away), is a delight for shoppers of all sorts.

The owners and staff hold themselves to extremely high standards of hospitality, cleanliness, and personableness. They always there to provide for their guests needs and inquiries. They have created an environment which lends to itself to cater to individuals, couples, families, and even the family dog!

As we leave the Stanford Inn each year, we already look ahead to our next visit there!

Room Tip: We enjoy an upstairs room (no elevator, stairs only to carry your bags), but have also stayed downst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I have stayed at this place a couple times and look forward to my next visit. The amenities are great and the food is wonderful. My children love the heated pool. The rooms are probably the most cozy rooms I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shauna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Lovely big rooms, with cozy fireplaces. Great food, whether you are vegan or not (I am, but my family isn't, and it worked for all of us). But best of all, really lovely people. My children left their bathing suits in the room, and the hotel could not have been nicer about finding them and sending them home. All in all lovely experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarcyP345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at The Stanford Inn 4 times, and cannot wait to return! The rooms are beautiful, and the view from every room is perfect..whether of the llamas grazing, or the ocean. Oh, and the imcredible vegan food! As a vegan, this place is a wonderful indulgence, but it is a treat for anyone who loves quality organic food.
It's worth the cost..especially with the incredible breakfast thrown in!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank almawilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We are having a perfect first time 3 night stay. Our room is cosy & comfortable and feels like home already. Love our comfortable king bed, cosy fire place and beautiful 2nd story view of gardens. Rooms are very clean and well appointed. Wonderful bike ride along the Big River. All food is vegan and still tasty. The coffee is especially good. Would definitely stay here again! Seems like such a good value. The 1 1/2 hour massages at $145 are a great value as well. Very, very happy and relaxed.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StephNovato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We just got back from a three-night stay at Stanford Inn in Mendocino. This is definitely the place to stay when visiting the Mendocino area.

We stayed in one of the Big River Executive rooms. The room was very clean, spacious, and very well decorated. The room was so comfortable with a king bed, a very comfortable love seat/sofa, coffee table, desk, nice cabinet which hid the TV and DVD player, mini refrigerator, microwave, awesome coffee maker, amazing, real-wood fireplace and a wonderful, big balcony looking over the bucolic grounds and the ocean in the distance. The room was so comfortable, that I almost felt as if we were staying in a tiny cabin.

On our arrival, there were home-made vegan chocolate chip cookies waiting for us (which were very delicious), and the fireplace was all set to go with newspaper, kindling and wood, so all we had to do was light a match.

The room was well stocked with extra piles of wood and kindling, lots of good organic coffee and tea, comfy robes, and extra pillows and blankets.

It was so nice having the beautiful grounds available to walk around in. It is so peaceful there, with the Big River farm, the horses and llamas, the birds (especially the ravens) and all the beautiful landscaping. The energy here is so much more peaceful than in the town of Mendocino itself. Plus, the location is unbeatable. It's right alongside Big River, which has a fun beach to explore, as well as the river to paddle in.

We took advantage of the free bike rentals which come with your stay at the Inn, and took them just over the Big River bridge onto this amazing 8-mile trail which runs along the river. We had a great time, and we were given locks for our bikes so that we could ride them into town as well.

Other amenities included Stanford Inn's amazing saltwater pool, which is housed in a solarium/green house. It is decorated with an amazing collection of plants, and the solarium includes a jacuzzi, sauna, showers, extra towels, lounge chairs, soothing music and drinking water. It would be easy to hang out there for hours. It definitely had a spa-like feel and I felt so rejuvenated.

I've stayed in many hotels, where "breakfast included" meant some coffee with pastries and cereal. But at Stanford Inn, your stay includes a full, healthy breakfast from their Raven's restaurant menu, juice and coffee or tea. All the food I had there was amazing. On top of this, there is a formal Afternoon Tea that is also included in your stay. They serve you tea or coffee with one of their amazing desserts. I had their fruit cobbler and their blueberry custard, both of which were amazing. Plus, they have a "Happy Hour" for inn guests which starts at 3:30pm, where you get 50% off of the Inn's wide selection of cocktails and beer.

The Inn's lobby is a nice place to hang out in. You can hang out in their comfy couches in front of a roaring fire, with a selection of magazines. The lobby also contains a fun gift store with a great selection of books, gift items, wines and snacks.

The whole hotel is so beautiful, well taken care of, and it seems that the Stanfords have a knack for anticipating all their guests wishes. The staff were so friendly and professional throughout our stay at the Inn. I definitely recommend this place and definitely plan on going back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank habberstandish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.6 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
641 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
9 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,190 reviews
1.2 mi away
Agate Cove Inn Hotel
Agate Cove Inn Hotel
#5 of 25 in Mendocino
434 reviews
4.1 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Inn by the Sea

Address: Highway 1 & Comptche Ukiah Road, PO Box 487, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range: $356 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Inn by the Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside, the exquisite Stanford Inn sits atop a meadow overlooking Mendocino Bay. Embodying the best of the rugged Mendocino Coast, the Inn is a haven. The rambling lobby, guest rooms, and suites are paneled in pine and redwood. Every detail is attended to, from wood-burning fireplaces set and ready to light to the sumptuous organic breakfasts. Inspired by the Stanford's Certified Organic gardens, The Ravens' restaurant is outstanding and nationally acclaimed for its vegetarian cuisine. Guests are indulged at the Inn's Massage in the Forest and private yoga sessions. Canoeing and kayaking on Big River, California's new State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Stanford Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Inn By The Sea Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing