We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of JD House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
JD House
Ranked #11 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Nothing bad to say at all!! We stayed in Kit's Cabin. It was just so cute as well as feeling luxurious. The room and bathroom were spotless, staff were incredibly friendly and breakfast was delicious. Great location and lovely town. So pleased we chose JD House and thanks to the owners and staff who made our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    33
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
92
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

lovely room with whirlpool bath and luxury toiletries, just what we needed after two hard days of driving. Lots of advice about the area, restaurants, wildlife.

We were woken by the bin men at 6.15 am on our first morning, which allowed us to experience a Mendocino sunrise and walk out on the headlands to see the mist roll down the river and the coast clear - wonderful! We woke ourselves on day 2!

Lovely breakfast, fresh scones coming out of the oven and quiche, yogurt, lots of fresh fruit, juice, coffee, anything you wanted.

Loved our room, Osprey, definitely worth the extra for the terrace and view.

Great stay.

Room Tip: Book Osprey
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polli396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

We were looking forward to staying here, photo's looked good etc but never expected it to be this good - amazing. The room was beautiful (Kit's Cabin), spotless, well arranged, shower good - you even get your own deck area.

We had a really good welcome - couldn't have been made to feel more at ease had we known them.

The town of Mendocino has to be seen, try and get there even i f you aren't staying - it's just wonderful (was used as set for Murder She Wrote) It's full of character, friendly people, not too many shops but those there are good. There are also sea walks along the cliffs which were spectacular. We were staying for just one night and that was the main disappointment - should have been much more. A fabulous find.

Room Tip: MUST go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizc365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed in the Raven and had a great time. The B&B is close to everything and has a great view. The gardens were amazing! The different types and colors of flowers were so beautiful and well maintained. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. Perfect for a 25th wedding anniversary trip. Be sure to get out and explore while you are there. We hope to go back someday.

Room Tip: Pick the Raven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCUalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

We had a nice weekend at the JD House. It's a quintessential b&b. The breakfast was delicious (esp. the chicken apple puff pastries) and the staff is friendly and welcoming. We stayed at the First Mates room. It was tiny and it had no TV and the bathroom needed major updating. I think the experience could have been a 3.5-4 stars if another room was available - we saw some of the larger updated room and they were quite lovely.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationtime2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

Everything other posters have said is true and not subject to debate or repeat. The inn is within walking distance of everything in the village, I was lucky enough to snag the Raven room and the grounds are gorgeous. I even stopped at Restoration Hardware on my way home to price the bed linens they used--I WANT them!!!!!!

As excited as I was to stay here, this place is kinda rough around the edges. Businesses and restaurants close early, so with everything at a commercial standstill by 9:00 PM, it's easy to hear the random car door, and some kinda "hum" (like a vibrating cell phone) that could be high-tension wires (though I didn't see any) or a water pump--something that droned on. My room had a fridge that turned on and off noisily when it's thermostat kicked on and off; I learned to keep the fridge on during the day, but turned it off at night. Then there was the gas stove--it comes on and off quietly enough when it's "thermostat" setting is used. However, as the metal chimney warms and expands, there's light banging and crackling; ditto when it goes off and the metal cools. Were it not for a my own noise machine, sleep would have been difficult.

My experience may have been due to the room I stayed in; perhaps other rooms on the property were quieter. However, were I to travel to Mendocino again, I might consider the sister property just for comparison.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrwritesf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

It's cosy, charming without being obstrusive - just the right combination for a b&b. We stayed at the water tower room. It had a fireplace, and offered a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indianbayrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.1 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.1 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#8 of 25 in Mendocino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JD House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JD House

Property: JD House
Address: 571 Ukiah St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious country style with tremendous ocean views and gorgeous English gardens, this Mendocino bed and breakfast (one of the three Mendocino sister inns that make up Blue Door Group — Inns of Mendocino) is the epitome of seaside charm. Gaze at the rugged coastal cliffs as you linger over coffee on the spacious back veranda. Stroll through the stunning and fragrant vegetation. Pick the Queen Deluxe Water View room with a private 12′ x 14′ deck with 180 degree views. Or choose the quirky Watertower room or cozy Kit’s Cabin for a “very Mendocino” experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
John Dougherty House Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing