We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary B & B”
Review of Packard House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Packard House
Ranked #11 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 23, 2009

The positives included: location in downtown Menocino near restaurants and shops, modern furniture and art, updated baths etc. A choice of breakfast (continental delivered to your room or a fruit and second course in the dining room at 9AM).

The negatives: Torn wall paper in the bathroom, chipped paint throughout, service is ok but not exceptional.

At over $300 a night I thought it was over priced.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Western View
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 137 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2009

We stayed at the Packard House for our 10 year wedding anniversary. We LOVED it! We are not typically fans of Bed and Breakfasts. First, we are not really social people, so a Bed and Breakfast is not our first choice. Second, we like more contemporary surroundings and typical B&Bs are victorian or antique. We have found an answer to both of these in the Packard House. We stayed in the Garden Cottage. This part of the B&B is separate from the main house. The cottage has a king size bed, mini-fridge, mini-microwave, fireplace, jetted tub with separate glass shower, sitting area (with loveseat and chair), a dinette table and two chairs. Also, we have a patio that is on the courtyard garden. The decor is contemporary and stylish, but the best thing of all was the breakfasts. The guests in the cottages are brought a "breakfast basket" in the morning. It contained delicious croissants, muffins, scones, fresh fruit, yogurt, fresh squeezed juice and coffee. My husband and I ate out on the patio every morning. We never talked to anybody (which is right up our alley). The owners/hosts/employees were all extremely helpful and nice. It was the most relaxing place we have stayed in a long time. We especially enjoyed "Oscar", the Yorkie puppy that stayed at the B&B.
If we are ever in Mendocino again, we will only stay at the Packard House. It was the best!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mirensmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2009

We had a nice room, very comfortable bed, and friendly service. They offer wine at 4 PM, breakfast at 8:30
Easy walk to main town area

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fuzzyviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2008

My wife and I stayed three nights at the Packard House in early September. This is a great B&B. The innkeepers were very thoughtful, kind, and knowledgeable about Mendocino. They made us feel welcome every moment. We stayed in the Garden Cottage which was simply outstanding! The room was large and beautifully furnished and had all the amenities. Each afternoon the innkeepers would put out wine, stuffed olives, crackers, and wasabi dried peas for all the guests to enjoy in the B&B's common room. We had a very relaxing stay and enjoyed every minute in Mendocino and especially the Packard House.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sloan70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2008

Overall, a nice stay. Very well run B&B in Mendicino. This establishment is run more along the lines of a nice hotel. The staff maintains more of a professional, business-like attitude rather than a typical laid-back, informal B&B style. Seated, traditional breakfast is available at 9am (no other option offered) unless you wanted a 'basket' of breakfast rolls. Beds VERY comfy, as were the sheets and towels. All top notch. Nice toiletries. Wine is available promptly from 4-5pm, but only red wine is offered. Crackers and olives, but no cheese. Good recommendations from the staff for dining options around town. Agree with previous poster (albathion ) that the Village View room is anything but... shurbs obscure one window, and the other window must be kept with the blind closed for privacy since it looks right out onto the front door entrance! The room is very noisey, from the the light jazz music playing in the adjacent public room, to the more annoying pacing/banging from the room above you on the second floor. If you choose to stay here, select any room but the Village View.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank RJtraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

Mendocino is a lovely town--it seems like every house and store has a stunningly beautiful garden. Packard House is wonderfully situated to stroll about the town or out along the bluffs to watch the sunset.
Our room, the Village View, was a bit of a disappointment; the photography that sold us on the room on the website was very 'creative'; I checked on the internet while we were in the room, they’d taken out several pieces of furniture then lit it up and shot with a wide angle lens so it look like this big, uncluttered room with tall windows and lots of light, instead of a dark (thick shrubs blocked the ‘village view’) space you could barely walk through. The room was also on the first floor and somewhat noisy. However the location is great, the Victorian house was pretty inside and out and the people working there very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank albathion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2008

What an enjoyable time my boyfriend and I had at the Packard House! We arrived on a Thursday after doing some wine tasting on the drive up and were very impressed immediately with the curb appeal of the House. The garden was beautiful and Damien was very friendly while assisting with our check in. We stayed in the Garden cottage for 3 nights and were not disappointed. Very cute and clean and met all of our needs for a quiet getaway. We enjoyed delicious dinners at the Moosse Cafe, La Petite Rive and the Mendocino Cafe. We had afternoon cocktails at the Mendocino Hotel on their ocean facing balcony and couldn't get over how beautiful the location is. Every evening at the Packard there is a wine hour hosted by Damien or Andrew. Terrific wine, crackers (no cheese), olives and wasabi peas. Tom and I loved meeting our fellow guests and had a great time swapping stories, especially with Rick and Alma who were from the UK. Every morning, promptly delivered to our cottage door at 9am, was our yummy breakfast basket...very tasty! Croissants, scones, homemade yogurt and preserves, coffee and OJ. On our last morning during check out, we were very impressed with the hot breakfast being served to those staying in the house proper. Before leaving town, we popped into the sister property of the Packard, which is the JD House, to have at look at it so we can decided where to stay for our next trip to Mendicino. That place is a lot of fun as well! Tom and I will definitely be back thanks to all the care and consideration of Damien and Andrew.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WittyKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.3 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn
#12 of 25 in Mendocino
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sweetwater Inn and Spa
Sweetwater Inn and Spa
#14 of 25 in Mendocino
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hill House Inn
Hill House Inn
#18 of 25 in Mendocino
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Packard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Packard House

Address: 45170 Little Lake St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range: $225 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering sophisticated luxury in a casual coastal environment, the Packard House is a Mendocino bed and breakfast (one of the three Mendocino sister inns that make up Blue Door Group - Inns of Mendocino) is located in the heart of Mendocino Village. Downtown shops, beaches, trails, headlands, and fine dining are all within walking distance. Biking, kayaking and fishing are all nearby, and the fabulous wineries of Anderson Valley are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Packard House Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing