We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but that's about it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2010

I suppose it all depends upon the weather. Unfortunately for us it was foggy. The Inn is OK and within walking distance to everything. If it was located in a typical town, they would only be able to charge a third of what they are charging. Our room was very small and had an OK continental breakfast delivered to our room. The best part was that the house sits on a quiet side street and is very accessible (walking distance) to everything in town. A previous review of Mendocino tried to compare it to Carmel. The waterfront may be as nice if not nicer, but the town is no Carmel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PBABD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 390 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2010

Our family has vacationed at the Sea Gull Inn for over 30 years! We started vacationing in Mendocino yearly when our children were babies and we have always stayed at the Sea Gull Inn. The rooms are comfortable, very clean and reminiscent of simpler times; you can find much amenities in your room too. The breakfast is made by the owners and wonderful! They use organic and natural ingredients. I am gluten intolerant so the owner makes gluten free breakfasts for me. The gardens are peaceful and beautiful! lots of flowers and humming birds! The location, well what can we say, is in the heart of Mendocino and we can walk everywhere! which we love doing! In fact, we park our car and don't even see it until we leave!

We love the Sea Gull Inn! It is priced very well and the owners are excellent hosts too!

We are shooting for another 30 years at the Sea Gull Inn in the heart of Mendocino!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenehouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Everything is magical about this B&B conveniently situated in the heart of Mendocino village. The rooms are charming, nice and comfortable and make you travel to some ancient peaceful times. The owners welcome you with a big smile and each morning bring a fresh-made delicious breakfast to your room. Add on the top of this the beauty and peacefulness of Mendocino itself, and your perfect holiday is ensured!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denizS76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

My sister and I stayed at the Sea Gull inn in the barn. I slept in the comfortable loft bed and she downstairs. The decor was delightfully funky and we were happy to find a small fridge. The staff/owners were friendly and it was spotless. Hint: Avoid the Mendicino Inn for clam chowder.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nevermindiquit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

My partner and I stayed here for two nights and it simply added to our wonderful weekend.

The room was quiet and clean. The owners are very hospitable and eager to make restaurant and beach recommendations. There are several places to each breakfast or have a picnic on the grounds.

We really enjoyed having breakfast brought to our room in the morning-yipee!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheryllynn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We stayed at the Seagull Inn and there were very positive aspects: the location is great in this beautiful seaside village, the house is old and quaint and the garden is pretty and secluded. The sea urchin room was small and cottagey but the bed was jammed against the wall on one side. The decor was tired and dated but we slept well and didn't mind the small shower room. The breakfast was delicious but very small and compared badly to those offered in other B and Bs on our 4 week trip.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamien19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

A good place to stay in Mendocino, in the middle of the town, easy access to beaches, cafes and restaurants. Inn keepers are welcoming. Room was quite small, but I expected this as it was an old house. The decor felt dated and too chintzy for my liking, however some others may really like this style. Breakfast was served in the room, as there is no communal space to eat, unless you can grab a seat in the garden. This is a downfall I feel, part of the charm of staying in this type of accommodation can be meeting the Innkeepers and other guests and chatting over breakfast or afternoon coffee, this was lacking here. The breakfast is pretty average, compared to other places I have stayed in this Inn provides the minimum required - coffee, a small bowl of fruit, yogurt in an eggcup (who serves yogurt in an eggcup?) and some slices of bread. Perfectly OK, but sometimes you want more than OK for your dollars.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pat1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.1 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
640 reviews
0 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hill House Inn
Hill House Inn
#16 of 25 in Mendocino
439 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blackberry Inn
Blackberry Inn
#8 of 25 in Mendocino
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 44960 Albion Street, PO Box 317, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range: $114 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mendocino CA and Sea Gull Inn, one of the original B&B Inns on the scenic Northern California Coast. The house was built in 1878. A giant Holly tree shades the front porch. The private garden has several secluded sitting areas. Meticulously maintained, the inn and its grounds are very much a part of Mendocino's charm. All bed and breakfast lodging guest rooms have private baths and some have views of the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing