We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Mendocino”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfectly Mendocino”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Highly recommend Sea Gull Inn if you're passing through Mendocino - which I also highly recommend that you do. It's just an absolutely lovely place! And Sea Gull Inn hits it home with a beautiful setting, a great location one block off the beaten path and lovely owners. Perfect service, without being intrusive. It's just a beautiful, peaceful place with very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusinessJumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    85
    27
    2
    3
See reviews for
54
212
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Tiny little Inn/BandB in Mendocino. Has a combination of rooms in the house as well as some seperate bungalow style rooms in buildings on the property. Really pretty, fantastic location. very clean. Breakfast service in our room was included and was very nice, fresh and very tasty. We stayed in "The Shed" and it was great, ideal for a couple. Its well named, basically a big graden shed which has been completely renovated with all the comforts you could want including a nice big bathroom. Very comfortable and would be our first choice going back.

Room Tip: stay in the shed.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timberpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We've been here 3 times. The first time was just luck (only place that had a vacancy) but we keep going back because it's such a great place to spend a few days. As another review mentions, it's the quintessential bed and breakfast -- except the breakfast isn't just your average meal. It's fresh-baked muffins or rolls, fruit, coffee/tea, oj, yogurt...all delivered to the room so you can breakfast in bed. Beds are comfortable, rooms are clean and neat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was our first time at the sea gull inn, as we have always stayed at the mendocino hotel in the past. We were not disappointed, it was as perfect as couled be hoped for, especially for the price (plus free breakfast, wow). The location was ideal, right in the center of town, a block or two from the 3 places we had dinner at. The vibe was so cool and relaxed, what a cute and quaint property. It is the only place In mendocino that I ever want to stay at in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in "the shed", which is a stand alone structure not attached to the main buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark32363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I can't imagine a more ideal bead and breakfast weekend than you get at the Sea Gull Inn in Mendocino. I wanted to introduce my children to the bed and breakfast experience and it was as if the Sea Gull Inn popped out of a novel. Remote coastal community of Mendocino, beautiful coastline, peaceful, etc. Since the Inn is a historic building, like most of the buildings in Mendocino, you feel the place is timeless. The owners are relaxed, cheerful, and attentive, which is perfect. I enjoyed having breakfast served in the room, but others may prefer something else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJFSJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My daughter and I spent a night in the Sand Dollar room for our short stay in Mendocino. Jim took our reservation late in the day and made arrangements for our late arrival. The room was ready and waiting when we arrived. It was very clean and the beds were wonderful. Fresh organic breakfast was delivered to the room as promised. I would highly recommend the Sea Gull Inn for anyone staying in the Mendocino area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vjsmith_ttown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is the perfect family or girls retreat. I have vacationed in Mendocino for almost 15 years and have stayed in pricey inns and VRBO - this was my first time at the Sea Gull Inn and I will return. The Inn is centrally located in town with great street parking. In three days we didn't drive - the best restaurants and shops are "right there" and the beach is a mere 5 minute walk. The Inn is also very quiet with rambling and whimsical English-style gardens and pathways. Four of us girls stayed in The Barn - a wooden building with a loft space and also I believe the largest accommodation on property. The space was impeccably clean. There was also a small fridge, and no other "kitchen" amenities e.g. a hot pot to warm water or coffee maker (that would have really been nice). Wine glasses and a corkscrew are provided. Before booking, the hosts were very responsive to any inquiries over the phone or via email and in person are equally as warm and attentive. The delicious and generous home-made breakfasts are charmingly served in bone china and brought to your room with your choice of fabulous coffee or a selection of teas. The birthday girl was gluten intolerant and breakfast was thoughtfully prepared with this in mind. There is a private sun-deck with rustic wooden furniture - perfect for enjoying a picnic. The inside living space has a comfortable sofa and reading chair. The downstairs bedroom has a very comfortable bed (great pillows) that literally occupies the entire space - there is a few feet to spare to the wall. There isn't a reading light or nightstand which would have been nice and a draft came through the window right onto the bed, which I plugged using a pillow. There is a very efficient central heating system which would have permeated into the room had I kept the door open. The Barn is a great place for families or very close friends. I have viewed the private rooms and they are lovely. I think the Seagull would be a nice place for couples wanting a romantic hide-away. Check their website for great specials. We also received four complimentary passes to The Mendocino Botanical Gardens - a very nice gift. The Seagull is a real gem to find in the heart of Mendocino - you will be treated like a valued family member and you will look forward to your next visit.

Room Tip: visit their website for excellent descriptions and then be sure to call the Inn to clarify any quest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.1 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
616 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hill House Inn
Hill House Inn
#15 of 25 in Mendocino
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 44960 Albion Street, PO Box 317, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mendocino CA and Sea Gull Inn, one of the original B&B Inns on the scenic Northern California Coast. The house was built in 1878. A giant Holly tree shades the front porch. The private garden has several secluded sitting areas. Meticulously maintained, the inn and its grounds are very much a part of Mendocino's charm. All bed and breakfast lodging guest rooms have private baths and some have views of the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing