We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shed room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Shed room”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

The shed room is small but cozy and clean, very nice. Breakfast served in the room is very good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Massimo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    88
    27
    2
    3
See reviews for
57
217
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sebastopol, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2011

This was a wonderful stay. We had a room with an incredibly comfy king bed and a little gas fire place, great for a cold day. At night, we could hear the ocean. Everything was clean and new in the room. The breakfast was a nice treat of organic fruit, some juice, yogurt and a home-baked muffin. The muffin was a little heavy on sugar, but that's a personal preference. The only inconvenience was hearing the fan from a nearby restaurant, but that went off by about 10:30 pm. I truly hope to go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veronique577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Sobrante, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Mendocino is a historically preserved town, populated with art shops, upscale food, a scattering of bake-heads trying to walk and a host of B&Bs each trying to out "cute" the other. Sea Gull Inn does a brisk business here but keeps things personal and friendly. The inn keepers do their best to give you a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Each room is different, review which one you might like but book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catmacleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We had never been to Mendocino before, we were very impressed. This sleepy haven on the coast was everything we expected from a B&B experience. I only wish we had more time to stay here, we were on a 2 week long road trip up PCH, with this a one night stop along the way.

The Seagull was amazing in itself. The room was comfortable, the food was great, and everything was within walking distance. We ended up in town very late, the owner was very accommodating. We walked around town looking for food, and settled on the “café” next door. I put that in quotes because we were expecting light fare, instead were treated to one of the best fine dining meals on our trip.

The room itself was quaint, the “driftwood room” it was called. All of the artwork was hand crafted from drift wood that had landed on the nearby beaches. Very well decorated and very inviting. IN the morning, the light breakfast was brought to us (again amazing) and then we looked around town a bit before heading out. I would love to make a weeklong trip out of San Francisco just to come here, highly recommend anyone thinking of staying here to give it a shot.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcavaliere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We recently stayed for 3 nights in the Geranium Room at the Seagull Inn and enjoyed every minute of it.
The inn is clean, comfortable and cosy. There is a beautiful garden and we ate out breakfast out there every morning as well as relaxing there in the sun one afternoon. The breakfast is yummy with freshly baked goods and fruit.
The inn is in an excellent location and you can walk to all of the little shops, cafes and restaurants of the village in minutes. You can also access the coast walks in minutes.
Mendocino itself was smaller than I had expected and if I had known more about it I might only have booked to stay for two nights as there is not that much to do once you have walked around the handful of shops and explored the coastal walk.
But I would definitely recommend the Seagull Inn if you are in Mendocino as it is a really great place to stay and is great value for money too. Oh and Sophie the cat is a delightful extra feature too - very cute :)

Room Tip: We had the Geranium Room which is the biggest room in the B&B and very spacious, bright and priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SjuB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

My wife and I first visited Mendocino in the summer of 1970 and have been back many times over the decades since. This past July we finally came for an entire week to just soak up the peace of this special place. This was our 4th visit to the Seagull in the last several years and we keep returning as the Sea Gull still has the uncommercial, artsy nature that Mendocino had during our early visits. We have now stayed in the Geranium Room, the Lookout 1 Room (our favorite) and, most recently, the Sea Urchin Room which is very compact but a bargain for Mendocino. We love the Sea Gull as it is right in the village so we could walk the town and the watch the ocean any time day or night. We also love that it looks like a repurposed “Grandma’s House” as opposed to a modern, elegant B&B. The gardens are beautiful and we had both lunch and dinner picnics there. In the course of our week’s stay we got to be friends with several of the staff and felt like we were staying with good friends or family instead of a B&B. I highly recommend the Sea Gull if you want to see what Mendocino was like in the seventies and eighties.

Room Tip: Do not expect the rooms to be like new construction. This is an old house with old house quirks. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2011

The perfect getaway. Location excellent for walking the little town. Breakfasts ample, eaten outside in beautiful garden setting. Jim and Ayla very helpful with suggestions. Cozy, warm and cute. Would go back anytime and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Mendocino.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scfulghum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.1 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
623 reviews
0.0 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,156 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blackberry Inn
Blackberry Inn
#8 of 25 in Mendocino
225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 44960 Albion Street, PO Box 317, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mendocino CA and Sea Gull Inn, one of the original B&B Inns on the scenic Northern California Coast. The house was built in 1878. A giant Holly tree shades the front porch. The private garden has several secluded sitting areas. Meticulously maintained, the inn and its grounds are very much a part of Mendocino's charm. All bed and breakfast lodging guest rooms have private baths and some have views of the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing