We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bar”

MacCallum House Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
MacCallum House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 22 Restaurants in Mendocino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Lansing St.
Transit: Mendocino Transit Authority.
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
305 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Nice bar”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Bar was open but dining room was closed for dinner the night we went. Had wooden nickels to get discount in drinks. Good discount. Beautiful bar and great service by the bartender. Ok selection of wine and beer. Cozy setting. Expensive without the wooden nickels. Dining room menu appears limited.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelagentreplies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    103
    41
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent Dining in an Historic Hotel”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

The MacCallum House Restaurant is in an hotel more than 100 years old in the heart of Mendocino. It is lined with mahogany woodwork with two stone fire places. The service was friendly and efficient. There were quite a few servers for a medium sized restaurant. The food was excellent. We had the King salmon, which was caught locally; the spaghetti squash vegetarian special; and the scallops. The wine list was extensive. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Tasting Menu”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We really enjoyed the tasting menu with the wine pairing. The wild salmon was special, this being salmon season. The Caprese salad was followed by Liberty Duck. The duck was cooked to perfection with the skin nice and crisp and the meat tender and moist. After a very refreshing granita the Niman Ranch Fillet was superb as were the accompanying zinfandel glazed shallots, black pepper & cherry compound butter. All the wines were local and very well matched we particularly enjoyed the 2010 Baxter 'Black Label' Pinot Noir, Anderson Valley which was paired with the duck.
The service was outstanding and helped to make this a very enjoyable dinner.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovesweims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
livermore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A hidden little jem!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

So glad the hubs and I stumbled upon this place. MacCallum house is an older Victorian style house on a tiny street, with the enclosed porch converted to dining space. Such a cute venue. My husband had the burger and opted for a salad instead of fries. Both were delicious. I had the leek and potato soup, and then the scallops for dinner. . .fabulous. My scallops were cooked to perfection. For dessert we ordered the blackberry souffle with a side of warm dark chocolate, my husband was practically licking the ramekin clean. Overall, a great little find, in an otherwise sleepy town.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank towanda324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Best Eggs Benedict!”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stumbled upon the MacCallum House while wondering around Mendocino looking for breakfast. Oh boy, their eggs benny is superb! Done just right- yummy and not super heavy! I would highly recommend!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MAI T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MacCallum House Restaurant also viewed

Mendocino, Mendocino County
Little River, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
Little River, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 

Been to MacCallum House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing