We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and atmosphere”

MacCallum House Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
MacCallum House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 24 Restaurants in Mendocino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Lansing St.
Transit: Mendocino Transit Authority.
plumas co.
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Food and atmosphere”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just spent 4 nights at the MacCallum House and enjoyed a lovely breakfast every morning. Our dinner was off the Cafe menu and I must say that the wild caught shrimp cocktail was very good and I am not a big fan of shrimp. I also had the fried chicken(another food I never have) and it was most enjoyable paired with mashed potatoes and asparagus. The oysters??? Tiny. I would be embarrassed to serve them, especially for the price. The other appetizers looked very good and everything is prepared as you would expect from a fine restaurant. The service and wait staff were excellent and the atmosphere is perfect for this quaint little town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vistaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    108
    43
    22
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
393 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“A lovely spot...a table on the veranda!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Delightful to get a table on the enclosed patio for dinner. No reservations taken for this area of the restaurant. Perfectly huge and delicious salad, flatbread and special pasta. Friendly Josh clearly enjoys his work as a server. Memorable, casual and a place we shall return to....

Helpful?
1 Thank Joan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Should Be Better”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Would you think that a restaurant by the ocean should have the freshest seafood? You would think so, but our experience did not affirm that assumption. We visited on a Wednesday night in March. The bartender produced amazing drinks--he certainly didn't stint on the spirits. Our table was ready within minutes of the reserved time. From this point, things took a less hopeful direction. The oysters apparently had been sitting around for a while. We sent them back. The scallops were okay, not great, nothing amazing. The salad came with a slip of paper tucked into it. The dessert, however, was very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California, United States
1 review
“Sunday hours”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We just recently were up in Mendocino for a girls weekend. We woke up Sunday morning and had a beautiful hike on the coast. It was nearing 11:00 and we were feeling hungry. Remembering a wonderful dinner at the McCallum House years ago, we thought it would be a great idea to wander over to the McCallum for Sunday Brunch. We arrived at 11:15 am and was told " We quit serving at 11:00". I was stunned! Who on earth stops serving Sunday Brunch at 11:00am? Most Brunch places stop around 2:00pm!!!
Needless to say, the Goodlife Cafe was open and we had a fabulous spread for a very reasonable price....

    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foresthill, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good all around experience”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Very good food, even though a bit pricey. Excellent service. Crab cakes are amazing! Eating outside is a treat because the grounds and views of the ocean are so beautiful.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank KarenR456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MacCallum House Restaurant also viewed

Mendocino, Mendocino County
Little River, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
Albion, Mendocino County
 

Been to MacCallum House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing