We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dinner”

Victorian Dining Room & Garden Room
Ranked #16 of 23 Restaurants in Mendocino
Price range: $18 - $34
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: ZAGAT describes the restaurant best when they write “Victorian delights abound at this charming, period Mendocino Hotel restaurant kitted out with a dark-wood interior and a Californian menu that’s right on the mark; order small plates – or if nothing else, a cocktail and hang out in the bar under a stained-glass dome and drink in the lovely, Old West ambiance” “Well worth the price!”Selected "Best Hotel Wine Country,2009" San Francsico Chronicle.North Coast cuisine. Fine dining and casual Bistro.
Truckee, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We ate dinner here twice during our stay in Mendocino. We had reservations for the dining room, but decided we preferred to eat at a window table in the bar area that afforded a stunning view of the ocean and cliffs, lovely. A short wait with a glass of wine proved pleasant. We loved the bouillabaisse and the fresh fish specials, which were swordfish and wild salmon. The warm spinach and bacon salad was delightful, and the crab bisque was delicious. We were treated in an attentive and friendly way by the staff. We highly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxandKrista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    25
    21
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Love the food and atmosphere!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled on this restaurant the first time we visited Mendocino and wanted to make sure to eat here again when we came back. It didn't dissapoint! The clam chowder was very creamy, the crab cakes were amazing and the fish and chips were perfectly fried and fish so fresh! So glad we returned! We ate here at lunch both times so not sure how dinner compares!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jnland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good place to eat”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We went there our first night in Mendocino and had a lovely dinner. Service was great, our dietary concerns were handled well, and our meals were delicious. There are many nice places to eat in the Mendocino area, but we chose to go back there for our last dinner. We were not disappointed__another great dinner, well served. Try it, you'll like it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa rosa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“local seafood”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I had the pleasure of having lunch at the Mendocino hotel today ...the special was local lingcod stuffed with dungeness crab, it was absolutely fabulous !!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SantaRosaLolita69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
Level Contributor
231 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Small but Good!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This restaurant is located in the Mendocino Hotel. It is a small, quiet Victorian style Garden type restaurant. It has a variety of unusual and delightful entrees on their menu. We went for breakfast and our food and service was outstanding. Prices are a little on the high side, but I don't think you could find a better meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victorian Dining Room & Garden Room also viewed

Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 
Little River, Mendocino County
Albion, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 

Been to Victorian Dining Room & Garden Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing