We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage in Mendocino”
Welcome to The Larkin Cottage!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Larkin Cottage!
Plenty of off-street parking. Your stay awaits you.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Welcome to The Larkin Cottage!
Plenty of off-street parking.
Your stay awaits you.
The entrance to the private yard.
Private yard.
Private hot tub is on the right.
Hot tub off the deck
Living room with fireplace.
Vintage pine cabinet holds TV and media equipment.
Dining area.  Comfortable chairs perfect for reading & watching TV by the fire.
Fully equipped kitchen overlooking the yard.
Bedroom featuring a queen-size Sleep Number bed with luxurious linens.
Bathroom with tub/shower.  Plush robes are provided for your enjoyment.
Porch overlooking the yard and hot tub.
View from the yard.
The gazebo in the gardens, perfect for a small wedding!
Swing in The Larkin Cottage garden.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Mendocino, Mendocino County, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Linda L
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage in Mendocino”
Reviewed June 9, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We stayed here for 7 nights as part of our 3 week trip to California. It was the perfect place to relax and unwind away from staying in hotels. Both the cottage and the area were lovely. Linda, the owner, couldn’t have been more friendly or welcoming. It was a fantastic place to stay and visit the State Parks, the Redwood trees were amazing, lots of coastal walks, and even tried both sea and river kayaking. I would highly recommend staying here if ever in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2018
It was so good to meet you both. I would gladly welcome you back if you are ever this way again. ~Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky G
Yokohama, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage close to Village of Mendecino”
Reviewed February 22, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is well appointed beyond the basics (e.g., nice thick towels, bathrobes, good pillows/mattress, welcome gift basket) and offers privacy despite being on a property close to the main house. The design of the property is such that the front deck & hot tub of cottage face a back garden and high fence and the cottage has tall hedges trees surrounding it. If you are looking for a quiet, very clean, and meticulously maintained place to stay with a very responsive owner, this is it! The only downsides for someone could be the lack of ocean view and faint road noise audible from the front deck/hot tub only, but these were minimal issues for us. Would definitely rent again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netime201...
Oakland, California
1 review
“Charming romantic country cottage”
Reviewed August 31, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

If you want a romantic getaway, or just a cozy solo one, this is your place! Country style cottage with matching decor and all the amenities: Sleep number bed, completely private outdoor hot tub, small but fully equipped kitchen, fireplace, porch, comfy living room, lots of fluffy towels and good linens. Everything was absolutely immaculate, so if you need clean, you got it. It's located just outside Mendocino proper -- a 2 minute drive or 10 min walk -- so convenient yet quiet and private. Many thoughtful touches such as a gift basket to welcome you with some treats. Met owner who was very helpful. A great deal -- a whole cottage for the price of a Mendo B&B room. Highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suzettehe...
Rancho Cordova, California
1 review
“One of a kind cottage”
Reviewed August 20, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Larkin cottage is a perfect place for two to spend an anniversary. We spent our 4th here and it is arguably the best place we've been to so far.Linda's attention to detail and thoughtfulness about everything you could need for a romantic weekend is aamazing. She thought of everything , even things we didn't need but it was nice to know those thing's where there. So,if you like cozy,comfortable, peaceful,beautiful surroundings this is the place for you.
p.s.she also included a very nice welcome basket filled with wonderful treats and goodies that we made full use of. Thank you linda can't wait to go back. Sincerely Mark & suzette D. In rancho Cordova.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2017
Mark and Suzette, I am glad you enjoyed your stay at The Larkin Cottage. The weather here was a change from all of the heat in the Valley. Soon, September and October, we usually have our best weather. The days are sunny and warm and the nights are cool, perfect for enjoying the fireplace. I hope to see you again. ~Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisF642...
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“Wonderful cottage in beautiful setting”
Reviewed January 1, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Our stay at the Larkin Cottage was wonderful. The cottage was cozy and perfect for our 3 day stay. Close to gorgeous parks and good hikes...plus walking distance into Mendocino.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Breakfast fixed in the tiny but well equipped kitchen...
Liked least: Fireplace fan was noisy.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athena M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A piece of paradise”
Reviewed January 19, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
6
people found this review helpful

We decided to travel to Mendocino county for our wedding anniversary because we heard a lot about the beautiful nature but didn't expect the cottage to be the best part of our trip. The cottage itself has many beautiful views of garden and jungle and very beautiful flowers even in winter. The hot tub has view of the jungle, although it's placed in very private corner of the yard. Even the furniture is picked very carefully. This place is the best place I've ever travelled in lifetime and it has nothing less than a dream.

The landlady, Linda, is very kind and lovely (although I never met her in person). She welcomed us with a very beautiful and carefully selected card to congratulate us on our wedding anniversary. Also asks everyone to write in her journal of the cottage which is also very cute and means how much she cares.

Wanted to add some comments about the ratings below:
Kitchen & utensils: were better than great. I decided to bake a red velvet cake for our anniversary and tried to take my baking tools with me but was surprised when I saw the cottage was equipped with anything I needed.
Was the property as advertised? No, it was far better than what you see in the photos.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Our trip could be more relaxing if there was a dishwasher in the cottage
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 20, 2015
I am so happy you had a wonderful anniversary weekend at the cottage. And, I am glad you were able to find all the baking items you needed. I look forward to your return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne G
Petaluma, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning, nurturing and cozy!”
Reviewed November 20, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We loved all the creative touches - beautiful garden, a basket of goodies on the dining room table, local artwork everywhere, a fully stocked though small kitchen, hot tub, and deliciously comfortable bed! Forgot to mention wild ocean close by, and wonderful restaurants and shops in downtown Mendocino a few minutes away, but these are already legend...

Thank you for a perfect anniversary weekend :)

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing