We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil retreat”
Review of Brewery Gulch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brewery Gulch Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 2, 2014

The Brewery Gulch Inn was a pleasant surprise. It's Pacific northwest style is not overly designed nor does it boast overt sophistication, however, little hints showed that owners are discerning and well travelled through simple touches and attention to detail that made the inn special in an understated way. While located in quiet Mendocino, the discreet inn has a powerhouse chef Peg Davis that prepares light buffet suppers with authentic international flare. Thai chicken salad one evening or delicious pulled pork the next. Coupled with tastings of wines and beers from local wineries and microbreweries Breakfasts are an incredible feast. The Thanksgiving brand coffee is a ready gift for anyone to take home after enjoying it throughout one's stay. The centre of the inn is a bright living room warmed by a fire place, with the always awaiting snacks and drinks that welcomes guests as one would find if staying at a friends home. A game of chess, huge collections of DVD's, international magazines local newspapers and books; a tiny gift shop thats there for you to browse through. Meals are also taken here. The atmosphere is cosy, peaceful, and begs to be revisited.

Take your breakfast on the deck or an afternoon drink as you gaze towards the distant scene of the shoreline. A bird feeder welcomes humming birds, robins and blue jays. The inn is shielded from the road below by trees and shrubbery and it is quiet. You may spy a family of deer by the parking lot in the evenings or at night.

Rooms are simple, comfortable, well appointed and very very clean. The bed is comfortable and sheets are good quality. Perfect for a good night's rest. The bathroom is generous, with heating for chilly days, towels are fluffy and all amenities provided for. High quality soaps and shampoos from the UK.

Who needs a holiday hideaway when Brewery Gulch Inn can be your retreat?

Room Tip: You can hear your neighbours upstairs if you stay at a downstairs room. So choose an upstairs room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wings852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 1,189 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2014

Book the Meadowview Suite enjoy the drinks and tasty food in the evening and the outstanding breakfast in the morning. Try the Millionaire Bacon.
Steven and the staff here are great. I wish we'd have been able to stay longer but next time we know.
It's a special place that should be experienced to understand.
Mendocino is out of the way but that's why its cool.
Thanks BGI! The family absolutely loved the place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank lonestar70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

The Brewery Gulch is top notch in every way! There is a definite reason this Inn was just voted #20 out of the best 100 hotels around the world from Travel and Leisure. The hospitality and service is stellar, so warm and welcoming, super friendly while not being intrusive and the owner Guy makes you feel like a long lost relative! The food is exceptional from the home made pastry, made to order breakfast in the morning, and a gourmet dinner buffet served with wonderful local wine and beer. The rooms are beautiful with high end amenities, and the landscape and property views are fabulous! You absolutely can not go wrong here.....I promise!!

Room Tip: Osprey room was wonderful! Rooms on second floor may have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank JameyNoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed in the Lookout room. It faces west and had a good view for the sunset. It did not have a deck and was one of the least expensive rooms--I understand. Nothing is inexpensive here, $380.00 per night. The room is large and the bedding is nice. The meals are very good. We did not need to eat anywhere else. I hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Dunn45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

The Brewery Gulch Inn is THE place to stay in Mendocino. I was there for the music festival a couple weeks ago. Gorgeous room and views and 5 star, extraordinary meals. The staff couldn't be nicer. Everyone is so Zen and takes such care to be helpful and pleasant. First rate in all aspects.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be beautiful - each has a distinctive personality (those that I saw)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Paradise and utter bliss is found in Mendocino at The Brewery Gulch Inn. The warm welcome we received not only by the owner, Guy,and the knowledgeable and pleasant staff, was only matched by the beautiful views, amazing food and luscious wines. Breakfast was a feast that ranged from bacon and eggs to the french toast smothered in walnuts. The "Millionaires" bacon is to die for and the before breakfast pastry is so delicious. Dinner is called a light buffet but plenty enough to fill you up for the night! There were some dietary concerns and they were addressed by each person that served us. Chef Peg even came out to see if everything was to our satisfaction! We've never encountered this type of attention to detail combined with great hospitality. When it was time to see the area, maps were drawn to detail and advice given freely about what to see. We walked through a fern canyon where there wasn't a sound and then hit the town of Mendocino for a concert during the Mendocino Music Festival. Everyone we spoke to knew the Inn and were generous in their praise of Guy and his staff. Back to the Inn and to our "Heron" room (each room is named for a local bird). Fireplace, comfy bed, soft throws to cuddle in, a balcony to step out on and drink in the fresh air and impossible view. Our entire experience was perfect - we wouldn't have changed a thing. Once you've been to the Brewery Gulch Inn you can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Every room has a view so you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Rick and Gay X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

This was our first time at the Brewery Gulch Inn. We were well taken care of and the food was fantastic. Very friendly people who run the inn and they had suggestions for our time there. Enjoy our trip and would return to this lovely place.

Room Tip: The corner king room (the Raven) was very quiet and has a two person tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank sandy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.9 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
641 reviews
9.4 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
640 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Agate Cove Inn Hotel
Agate Cove Inn Hotel
#5 of 25 in Mendocino
433 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
494 reviews
3.6 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brewery Gulch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewery Gulch Inn

Address: 9401 N Highway 1, Mendocino, CA 95460-9529
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range: $343 - $533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brewery Gulch Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized by Travel + Leisure and Conde Nast magazines as one of the top 100 hotels in the world, our Arts & Crafts-style inn is perched on a bluff top on the east side of Highway 1 and commands sweeping views of Smuggler's Cove and the Pacific Ocean. Built of eco-salvaged redwood pulled from the nearby Big River in 2001 and updated continuously since, Brewery Gulch features 10 ocean-view rooms with decks, gas fireplaces, DVD-equipped flat-panel televisions, recharging stations and Bluetooth speakers. Included with each guest's stay are both a cooked-to-order breakfast AND a delicious light dinner buffet featuring area wines and local craft beers, all prepared by the Inn's acclaimed in-house chef. Come see why TripAdvisor ranked the Brewery Gulch Inn as one of the "Top 10 Bed and Breakfasts and Inns To-Die-For" worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Brewery Gulch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brewery Gulch Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing