We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and memorable honeymoon”
Review of Brewery Gulch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brewery Gulch Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We had an amazing three days at Brewery Gulch Inn. The Osprey room was comfortable and had an incredible view, and we enjoyed just hanging out in the main room downstairs partaking in the books, games, and delicious food and drinks... not to mention the birds and views from the terrace. Guy and the rest of the staff were very helpful in recommending things to do in the area.


One warning, and has nothing to do with the Inn: Jogging on the nearby stretch of Rt. 1 is a little nerve-wracking as there is little or no shoulder, lots of sharp near-blind curves, and lots of fast traffic.

We hope to return to Brewery Gulch soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,165)
There are newer reviews for Brewery Gulch Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 1,165 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed in the Madrone Room, to ring in the new year & it was a nice relaxing getaway

Be forewarned there is NO cell service but they do offer FREE WiFi and FREE local & domestic long-distance calls from their landlines - how awesome!

Breakfast was top of the line gourmet - we enjoyed egg dishes; Brioche french toast that was thick & custardy; & pancakes that were thick & fluffy & just to die for!! Freshly squeezed OJ in the mornings & delightfully flavorful coffee

All day, fresh, homemade muffins & pastries; coffee service & chilled water

In the evenings, they have a Happy Hour w/ wine & a mini-buffet of dishes that ranged from glass noodles w/ mushrooms & beef skewers; to fresh truffled risotto & baked brie that was all incredibly tasty!

Rooms were huge. We had our own private balcony as well as a little sitting area to watch tv - which was the full range of Direct TV, including a million Showtime channels.

Beds / pillows were super-comfy. Bathrooms were huge & had lots of hot water w/ great water pressure. Molton Brown AND Asprey bath products - wonderfully smelly! And they offer the absolute fluffiest, plushest, most wonderful towels I have ever used in my life......EVER!

Fireplace was a gas heater so really the "fire" could only be enjoyed while you were heating up your room.....unless you went into the lobby where they had a wood-burning fireplace & another larger deck to enjoy the woods & various colorful birds who came to partake of their feeders

Only downer ( no fault of the facility ) was the family w/ the *constantly* screaming baby, who planted themselves in the lobby for the ENTIRE visit & this room echoed throughout the entire house so our visit was extremely loud

But for what was in the control of the facility was top of the pops & the cherry on our sundae that was New Year's Eve! You'll love your stay at Brewery Gulch!!

Room Tip: Madrone Room was great - but you'll hear footsteps from above
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderlust s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Great small lodge with very nice rooms. Food as part of the stay was quite good. I would stay here again. Great views of the Pacific from the rooms. Well decorated room with a fireplace and well laid out bathroom

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We just finished a seven night stay at Brewey Gulch. The owner, Guy, takes a personal interest in meeting every guest's expectations and is on site frequently. He has a surprisingly large staff for such a small inn which shows that he is serious about service and isn't looking to squeeze out every penny of profit magin. You could run the inn with less staff but it wouldnt offer the same level of service. The staff is wonderful, Guy has hired well. Housekeeping does a superb job here, immaculate rooms and common areas. The front desk people are top notch too.

The breakfasts? How can I describe them other than excellent. The dinners are as well, You honestly couldn't buy a breakfast this good anywhere in the area. The chef Peg (Victor on weekends and he is also very good) is super talented and is obviously given free reign to purchase expensive ingredients (such as dried cherries, truffles, excellent cuts of meat, etc). Her small plate dinner courses could hold their own against anything offered in the pricey snooty foodie reaturants in town. The "millionaire bacon" at breakfast deserves all the accolades it gets but be sure to specify if you want it plain or sweet. The sweet is a bit too sweet for my taste.

Good wines and premium beers are complimentary with dinner and the selection is impressive. They should consder adding a pump type espresso machine to their coffee bar so guests could whip up steamed milk lattes, cappucinos etc. Every other breakfast drink is available including fresh squeezed grapefruit and orange juice. Oh, lest I forget, Peg's mango lhassies are the best I have ever had. She has her own recipe which tastes like it has lime and cardamom in it. It is so tasty and full of intriguing flavors.

Once in a while Peg treats the guests to truly extraordinary pastries in addition to the usual muffins and scones. She is a world class pastry chef. Her flakey pastries are the equal of anything you could find in the Paris bakeries. Really! Her dinner deserts are also excellent and very original. If the inn rooms seem pricey, don't forget that all this food and drink is complimentary which actually makes the rooms very competitive. Good dinners are expensive in Mendocino and they are complementary for Brewey Gulch guests. The "light" dinner is served on small plates, but you can have as many servings as you'd like so nobody goes to bed hungry here. Peg has a lot of fresh local vegetables in her dishes and seasons them to perfection. Extra deserts are always made and put out for midnight snackers. A large bowl of fresh fruit is always out too.

Details Details Details. How about visually appealing fruit infused drinkling water in a Mobius pitcher (in additional to plain water), candied ginger offered at checkout to porevent motion sickness on the drive home, a NIKON spotting scope to watch the ocean, and a cozy wood fire in a huge beautifully crafted steel stove (metal workers, check out the perfectly rounded welded seams) central to the great room. Plus many hundreds of DVDs and sat TV. Our gracious morning waitress Mirta added to the pleasant warm ambience. We recognized her from the Joshua Grindle Inn, our former favorite which sadly has closed. Our weekend waitress was also very helpful pleasant and attentive, but I unfortunately did not get her name.

The inn is quite close to Highway 1 but amazingly there is no highway noise. We like it cool at night and sometimes slept with our balcony door open (which faced the highway) and were never troubled by highway noise. I guess the intervening trees absorb the acoustic energy? We had a view of the south cove of Medocino Bay from our window. Not waterfront property but pleasing views.

The inn is about a mile and a south of Mendocino, which some may consider a disadvantage, but its a very easy drive. I wouldn't suggest walking it at night due to exposure to highway drivers during parts of the trek.

The inn is much newer than the old ones in the area and has more of a luxury ski lodge feel to it than the Victorian ambience you get in the older properties. It's not better or worse, just different.

Note: zero cell coverage in the inn, and I mean nada, no bars, but they offer free US landline calling with in room phones. You can use Skype with their free wifi if you need to make cheap foreign calls.

There are so many 5 star reviews that I hestitated adding another as it is just cumulative, but a great hospitality performance deserves a hearty applause and I offer mine here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Brewery Gulch Inn is conveniently located just south of the village of Mendocino on a peaceful and verdant property. It's next to Highway One, but we never heard traffic noise. The staff members are professional, helpful, and kind and made us feel very welcome. The memorable breakfasts are served in the dining area, where you can enjoy lovely views of the ocean and the trees while reading the daily newspaper. As other commentators have noted, the evening hors d'oeuvres, served with a selection of wines and beers, can easily serve as dinner--a special bonus if you don't feel like going out after a long day. We stayed in the Osprey, which is nicely appointed with two leather chairs, a comfortable bed, and other features; it also has a balcony with beautiful views of sunsets and moonrises over the ocean. At night we enjoyed watching old movies from the inn's wide selection of DVDs. We didn't want to leave and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrAgricola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We took a quick trip right before Christmas to escape the craziness of the holiday season and couldn't have asked for a more relaxing stay. The food was wonderful. The staff so helpful. They have an excellent movie library that we took advantage of. Gorgeous sunset.
We plan on doing it again next year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cmrooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The Brewery Gulch Inn is by far one of the best places to stay. Wonderful staff combined with a beautiful inn and scenery equals perfection!! My wife and I celebrated our honeymoon here, and we both are already planning a return trip. The food was so good (especially the pastries). All of the staff was so delightful. Never ever pass up a chance to stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank broadwaya126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.9 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.9 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
628 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
715 reviews
3.6 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
648 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brewery Gulch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewery Gulch Inn

Address: 9401 N Highway 1, Mendocino, CA 95460-9529
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range: $385 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brewery Gulch Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized by Travel + Leisure and Conde Nast magazines as one of the top 100 hotels in the world, our Arts & Crafts-style inn is perched on a bluff top on the east side of Highway 1 and commands sweeping views of Smuggler's Cove and the Pacific Ocean. Built of eco-salvaged redwood pulled from the nearby Big River in 2001 and updated continuously since, Brewery Gulch features 10 ocean-view rooms with decks, gas fireplaces, DVD-equipped flat-panel televisions, recharging stations and Bluetooth speakers. Included with each guest's stay are both a cooked-to-order breakfast AND a delicious light dinner buffet featuring area wines and local craft beers, all prepared by the Inn's acclaimed in-house chef. Come see why TripAdvisor ranked the Brewery Gulch Inn as one of the "Top 10 Bed and Breakfasts and Inns To-Die-For" worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brewery Gulch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brewery Gulch Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing