We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get better”
Review of Brewery Gulch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brewery Gulch Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tahoe
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It doesn't get better”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We've been going to the Brewery Gulch Inn now for years. The setting, the service, the food, and the staff are superb! Our experiences there are magical. Guy is gracious, knowledgable and immensely helpful. Having traveled the globe I can't think of a more welcoming place to spend a few peaceful days!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HighAltitudeTahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,036
    82
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
85
836
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Our family stayed one night in the Meadowview Suite. The room was very comfortable with a beautiful view of the meadow. We enjoyed excellent local food for happy hour and an amazing breakfast the next day. It was truly the best food we had on our 8 day trip. The staff was very helpful and kind. It felt like we were staying with friends; friends with an really nice house! Our older kids were comfortable and welcome at the Inn, but I would caution against bringing younger children as most of the other guests were couples enjoying a quiet weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I were married in Mendocino many years ago. We have returned frequently to
various inns since the Heritage House closed. Trip advisor ranks BGI #1. This was our first time
staying here. The inn is as advertised. Rooms are large, beds are very comfortable. Staff
provides a high level of customer service. The breakfasts are delicious and included in
the price. In addition, the small plate dishes offered each evening were so ample that
we did not go out for dinner. They offer all you can eat and or drink each evening from 5:30
until 6:30 pm. The inn has a large deck off of the great room which is lovely for watching
the sunsets. We did find that the combination of the great room and the deck offered the
opportunity to enjoy some lovely evenings meeting the other guests. Very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: We were in the Madrone room. Lower level corner room with a semi private deck. Nice fireplace, jac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeniciaPatMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veneto
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Brewery is a very nice quiet place where to spend some days while visit this magnificent County. Guy , the owner, answers directly to any questions and is always ready for advise and nice suggestion. Wonderful breakfast and nice happy hour ( if I have to say, being Italian , that pasta or risotto could leave place to some local food, maybe prepared in a better way, but this is only being accustomed with that kind of food prepared differently ). If you are 3, I highly recommend wren room: for a little amount of money is incredibly better than raven even if without a sea view. We are sorry not to haven taken that while booking. Inn offers very goof bath amenities. Very good stay. Only think, because of Italian, we use to pay that kind of accommodation less than a 4-5 stars hotel, while in US is not like that .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli6610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sisters, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Brewery Gulch Inn in the Lookout Room. The view from the room included a look at the patio, beautiful flowers, trees, and the bay. A spacious room, good size bathroom, and comfortable bed. Be aware that there are stairs to climb to get to the Lookout, but they are wide, carpeted, and have hand rails. Breakfast at the Gulch is incredible; a wide selection and the ability for alterations. The nightly "appetizers" and wine are really dinner. The Gulch's chef is outstanding. In fact, all of the staff we encountered were outstanding. Guy, the proprietor, was very helpful with his knowledge of local restaurants and hikes which are easily accessed from the Gulch. If you're up for it, leave the car at the Gulch and hike into Mendocino, but remember to get back for wine and food!

Room Tip: There are rooms on the main level which do not have any stairs to navigate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michele s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sr
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a true gem on the Mendocino Coast! We enjoyed the rooms, the food, the wine, the service, and the comfortable atmosphere for our anniversary getaway. Anyone looking for a relaxing, peaceful, conveniently located stay on the coast should definitely come to the Brewery Gulch Inn. The rooms are quaint, updated, clean and very comfortable, and the grounds are beautiful. the BGI exceeded our expectations and we can't wait to go back for another visit!

Room Tip: The Heron room had a semi-private deck with ocean view, and you could open the doors at night for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ammjks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Hard to add much to all the reviews. Guy, the proprietor, is as friendly, helpful and professional as you could imagine. A short drive to Mendocino proper, and the parks in the area. Nice views from the second floor rooms. Only shortcoming, thin walls typical of B&Bs so you need to go into quiet mode and consider ear plugs unless you are a great sleeper.

You will probably meet some interesting, accomplished people while there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dldmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.9 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.9 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
620 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#5 of 25 in Mendocino
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
618 reviews
1.5 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
699 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brewery Gulch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewery Gulch Inn

Property: Brewery Gulch Inn
Address: 9401 N Highway 1, Mendocino, CA 95460-9529
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brewery Gulch Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized by Travel + Leisure and Conde Nast magazines as one of the top 100 hotels in the world, our Arts & Crafts-style inn is perched on a bluff top on the east side of Highway 1 and commands sweeping views of Smuggler's Cove and the Pacific Ocean. Built of eco-salvaged redwood pulled from the nearby Big River in 2001 and updated continuously since, Brewery Gulch features 10 ocean-view rooms with decks, gas fireplaces, DVD-equipped flat-panel televisions, recharging stations and Bluetooth speakers. Included with each guest's stay are both a cooked-to-order breakfast AND a delicious light dinner buffet featuring area wines and local craft beers, all prepared by the Inn's acclaimed in-house chef. Come see why TripAdvisor ranked the Brewery Gulch Inn as one of the "Top 10 Bed and Breakfasts and Inns To-Die-For" worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brewery Gulch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brewery Gulch Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing