We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for a simple lunch”
Review of A Cultured Affair

A Cultured Affair
Ranked #17 of 23 Restaurants in Mendocino
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Sierra Madre, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good place for a simple lunch”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We rolled into Mendocino fairly late in the afternoon and wanted a simple lunch. Most eating places in Mendocino are either quite upscale (a' la' Cafe Beaujolais) or of the ice cream and cookies variety. We wanted a sandwich and maybe a bowl of soup. A Cultured Affair, which is a funny name for such a simple place, was just the ticket. We shared a roast beef sandwich which was made from nice fresh ingredients and a bowl of pumpkin bisque soup which was wonderful. The soup may vary from day to day. The place is small and out of the way but worth looking for. Enter off Main St and walk up a path and over some stairs around another building and you'll find it. It's not long on atmosphere. You'll find simple seating and a few locals enjoying the place as well. We did not find the service particularly slow but then again we weren't in any hurry. Maybe a tiny bit pricey but well worth it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    20
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mendocino, Ca
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good organic”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

simple food, small with just a few seats but the food will be worth it.
Especially the soups

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Starsinger13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great location- too long to wait for a sandwich”
Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

We found the restaurant as we were walking along looking for a quick place for lunch. We were immediately charmed by the garden and as there was no one else there, our kids could explore a bit.

The food was a bit pricey, about $35 for 2 roast beef sandwiches and 2 PB&J. The food was good, but it took about 10 minutes for our children's food and the another 20+ minutes for my husbands and my lunch. It was okay, but typically I expect faster service for cold sandwiches.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meowpurz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful garden for lunch”
Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

A great lunch spot down an alley behind Main Street. The special tuna was great on their gluten soy nut free bread. The garden was a wonderful combination if sun, shade and flowers.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeanO22101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Special Tuna!”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Ordered their special tuna sandwich as it was highly recommended. Was surprised to see it served in a pita, but it was stuffed! It was a textural delight; full of celery, apples, carrots, etc. Yummy! Would've loved an option to buy chips on the side... Do the owners a favor and if you want water, buy a bottle instead of asking for the free stuff.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sousaphone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Cultured Affair also viewed

Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 

Been to A Cultured Affair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing