We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Blue Door Inn”
Review of Blue Door Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Door Inn
Ranked #8 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful Blue Door Inn”
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

After reading reviews and pouring over the gorgeous photos of this place we were certainly not disappointed. Stephen was so warm & welcoming yet discreet and his breakfast was the most divine we have ever had. The Sandringham room was so tastefully decorated and we loved sitting in the lounge each evening beside the fire enjoying complimentary wine & nibbles.

Mendocino is a gorgeous place to visit but staying at the Blue Door Inn made it that much more memorable. Thank you so much ; )

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    22
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
117
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at the Blue Door Inn from 11/19-11/21/2012 and even though we caught 2 very rainy days in Mendocino we truly enjoyed our stay thanks to this wonderful B&B.
The interior design is fantastic in every aspect. It is modern, minimalistic and yet very comfortable and romantic. It's the little details here and there that make a big difference, from the chocolate chip cookies in the hallway to the Kiehl's amenities in the bathroom. Everything was so well put together and squeaky clean. The pictures on their website do this place fully justice. We absolutely loved the beautiful and cozy sitting room where complimentary wine and snacks were served from 4 - 6PM in the afternoon. Another highlight was the delicious 2 course breakfast in the morning. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morgan hill, ca
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Re-modeled this is a very nice property smack in the middle of Mendocino so you can park your car and walk to shops, restaurants and walking trails. The living room area is a wonderful setting to read the paper in the morning or sip some wine in the afternoon. Breakfasts are to be expected good at any B & B but this one exceeded the norm.

Truly a nice place with a reasonable price. We will be going back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oxfordman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, NY
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

We had a problem, and Steve was so wonderful to give us a chance to reserve his inn at another time. He was very caring and made a bad situation better. Thank you! Can't wait to visit your beautiful place.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank tamdave12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
155 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Booking 3 months in advance was not enough time to get one B&B for our 5 night stay. Since we had to split the trip between 2 lodgings, we chose The Blue Door for our finale. Oh the amenities! Restoration Hardware and Crate and Barrel could us this place for a catalogue shoot. We loved the elegant simplicity; dove grey walls, deep baseboards, attractive mouldings, lincrusta ceiling, Ihome docking station, gas fireplace with tile surround and hearth, Frette towels. This was Sandringham. At breakfast, Stephen dazzled us with spectacular breakfasts featuring, fresh fruit, a spiced peach puff pastry, fried egg and bacon with a sweet potato pancake, a breakfast casserole of eggs, potatoes, and herbs. There was fresh squeezed OJ everyday, and an assortment of teas, and coffee.

Room Tip: If you don't require a bathtub, you will love this accommodation (sandringham)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyF309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We hadn't been to the North Coast for several years because our former favorite inn/B&B had started to disappoint. I fFound the Blue Door reviewed in a local magazine and decided to give it a try for my husband's birthday week (it happened to fall on Labor Day this year). We were very pleased with our choice. Parking is on the street as you can find it, so be forewarned for busy weekends. You have to ring the doorbell to get in and Victor promptly answered. We were checked in quickly and given our room key to our suite on the second floor, the Kensington. The inn was bought and remodeled in late 2011. Decor is subdued and minimalist, contrary to many B&Bs, and it was a welcome change. Good sized room with a nice armoire, very comfortable king bed, TV, large bathroom, two sitting chairs, and WiFi. Downstairs you'll find coffee starting at 8:00, and wine at 5:00 or so, to enjoy in the sitting room and chat with other guests. Younger travelers may be more comfortable than older ones because you have to climb steep stairs for the three rooms on the second floor, our giant tub was very slippery (can't speak to standing showers in other rooms), and there was no close makeup mirror in the bathroom, The two breakfasts we had were refreshingly healthy and delicious. One of the best features is that they're right in the middle of Mendocino, so we walked to dinner and shopping without having to move the car. They only have five rooms and word of mouth will be spreading quickly, so reservations would be prudent. The second night we were there, drop-ins filled the inn by 5:30 or so, and that was a Wednesday night.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to one of the 2nd floor suites for views of the quaint downtown. The Kensington has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyWandererQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2012

A wonderful inn for people who like classy modern interior. The rooms are beautyful
the breakfast was great and wonderfully prepared by Steven. A work of art.
The downstairs sitting room was charming and a glas of wine was offered in the afternoon.
Thank you Steven for making our stay so lovely.

Room Tip: I think theyare beautyful. If you are a little older you may wat to choose a downstairs one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilkommen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.1 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.0 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Joshua Grindle Inn
Joshua Grindle Inn
#7 of 25 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Door Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Door Inn

Property: Blue Door Inn
Address: 10481 Howard Street, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mendocino's luxury inn group comprised of three distinctive inns within a block of each other! Luxurious, comfortable contemporary design. All rooms appointed with all new flat screen TV/DVD, Frette bathroom linens, luxury bed linens on Simmons Beautyrest mattresses. New jetted tubs some rooms with double showers. Curated small plates breakfast and a rotating wine hour in the evening lets you see all three of our inn buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Door Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing