We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised by new Remodel!”
Review of Blue Door Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Door Inn
Ranked #9 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2012

The Blue Door Inn is Fabulous!!! Don't let the phrase "remodled" throw you off. The new owners recently purchased what used to be called the White Gate Inn. As the White Gate it was still one of the best B&B's in the Village. What the remodel did is turn a Victorian themed Inn into a magnificent modern jewel.

I love the decor. I stayed with my 13 year old son and his mouth was hanging open, the first thing he did was pull out his camera and take pictures of our room, lol. It is outstanding, simple but elegant. The beds are amazing and plush. Whoever chose the light fixtures, kudos, they rock! Everything is clean and sparking through out the property, including the baths. At breakfast, my son could pick kiwis from the open living room windows.

I would give the property a full 5 stars with the addition of a couple of extra features I would expect from an inn this wonderful at these prices (which still aren't bad). I would have liked a refridgerator available to us somewhere on site for cold drinks/waters. Also the rooms/inn did not have any Village guide information available. We arrived in the evening and couldn't find any information for dining, etc. Also, no fresh flowers. After our stay, I wrote a pleasant email to Steven the inn keeper and touched on these points. I received a great response in return. It made me trust they would at least consider these amenities. I would probably stay here again. I guarantee this is one of, if not the nicest presentation of a B&B in the Village or the immediate area for that matter.

You won't regret staying here. If the items I would have liked don't really matter to you, it's definitely 5 stars then.

Room Tip: Stayed in the downstairs Sandringham. Beautiful! All the rooms are though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crystaldeatherage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 155 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2012

Photos of the Blue Door B&B on line, coupled with one review, sold us on staying there. We had no regrets. The Blue Door Inn was perfect. It is beautifully remodeled. Only been open a month. The linens were wonderful. Bed was so comfortable. Steven, the innkeeper/chef, was so helpful...and his breakfast was out of this world, warm pear compote followed by poached egg with sweet potato/ham/bell pepper hash and fresh local baked bread. Perfect. The location was ideal, within walking distance of the ocean, river, restaurants, shops....but most of all, I cannot recommend the Blue Door B&B highly enough. It is spectacular.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank docnsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed at the Blue Door Inn this past weekend, during Mendocino County's celebrated Crab & Wine Festival, and we could not have been more happy with our experience. The property is the former Whitegate Inn, located in the heart of Mendocino Village, and the new owners have put their heart and soul (and I'm assuming a large chunk of money) into renovating the place completely. The resulting property -- the Blue Door Inn -- is absolutely stunning, with many modern amenities that you won't find at other Mendocino County properties.

Sue, the innkeeper, is fabulous, and was available any time we needed her. She also prepared an absolutely delicious breakfast for us each morning (included with your stay), and set out wine, olives and crackers for us each evening.

The property is conveniently located within walking distance of many of Mendocino Village's best restaurants and retail establishments.

All-in-all, we would recommend this place to anyone. And for the level of service and quality of experience you receive here, it's very reasonably priced.

I would give it more stars if I could!

Room Tip: There are three rooms on the top floor, and two rooms on the bottom. Buckingham and Kensington on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LALLYGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank FabioSilvia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank saladin277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Si vous allez à Mendocino, vous ne pouvez pas trouver mieux ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PascalouBio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.1 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
629 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Door Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Door Inn

Address: 10481 Howard Street, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range: $168 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mendocino's luxury inn group comprised of three distinctive inns within a block of each other! Luxurious, comfortable contemporary design. All rooms appointed with all new flat screen TV/DVD, Frette bathroom linens, luxury bed linens on Simmons Beautyrest mattresses. New jetted tubs some rooms with double showers. Curated small plates breakfast and a rotating wine hour in the evening lets you see all three of our inn buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Door Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing