We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arguably the Best Burger on the Mendo Coast”
Review of Mendo Burgers - CLOSED

Mendo Burgers
Cuisines: American
Description: Just for a GREAT, juicy, tasty Burger and REAL Potato French Fries (Large cut fries), try Mendo Burgers. Jeff has owned it since 2007--but it is HIDDEN AWAY--down a walkpath between the Shoe Store & Bakery on Lansing. A hidden away gem for a good burger--nothing eclectic, fancy, etc. Has Vegetable, Turkey, Beef Burgers. $7.95 and Large Fries $3.95. Everything in Mendocino is Pricey for Food--but we wanted just a good, juicy, tasty Burger, and we got it at Jeff's little hide-away called Mendo Burgers. He is trying to get better signage for his business because he is located in the back of another business--the Bakery. Good luck to him on that because this place the Locals all know about--but visitors need to be able to find him too--especially Families.Not everyone wants a fancy, expensive, eclectic meal all the time...
Restaurant details
Description: Just for a GREAT, juicy, tasty Burger and REAL Potato French Fries (Large cut fries), try Mendo Burgers. Jeff has owned it since 2007--but it is HIDDEN AWAY--down a walkpath between the Shoe Store & Bakery on Lansing. A hidden away gem for a good burger--nothing eclectic, fancy, etc. Has Vegetable, Turkey, Beef Burgers. $7.95 and Large Fries $3.95. Everything in Mendocino is Pricey for Food--but we wanted just a good, juicy, tasty Burger, and we got it at Jeff's little hide-away called Mendo Burgers. He is trying to get better signage for his business because he is located in the back of another business--the Bakery. Good luck to him on that because this place the Locals all know about--but visitors need to be able to find him too--especially Families.Not everyone wants a fancy, expensive, eclectic meal all the time...
Fort Bragg, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Arguably the Best Burger on the Mendo Coast”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I rated this as high as I did because I think Mendo Burgers has one of the best burgers on the Mendocino Coast.

They use high quality beef (Roundman's an excellent local butcher in Fort Bragg and John Ford (natural/organic beef from nearby) with buns made for them by a local baker. I feel sorry for anyone who thinks a fast food burger like In-and-Out is as good or better. Such a person hasn't had a real hamburger in a long time, if ever. Re: the prices, they've gone up $1 since the current owners took over 6-7 years ago. This is remarkable given how much food has gone up.

The burgers aren't the biggest around, but they're not tiny (I'm guessing they start out as quarter-pounders). If you're hungry you can order a double burger, which is reasonably priced if you compare it to the other good burgers in the area.

The fries are great, old fashioned steak fries from potatoes that are cut right there in the restaurant. The shakes are old fashioned and good. Everything else on the menu is very good.

The owners are ex-New Yorkers and are more colorful than typical laid back proprietors in the area. Jeff can have an edge, but part of that is he takes pride in his business.

Things to be mindful of: The restaurant may close early if they are out of buns or it's been a slow day. They cook everything to order so if it's crowded and/or you are in a hurry, go somewhere else and save yourself some aggravation. They are a cash only business. Their restroom is for customers only (Mendocino has strong water usage limits and there is a public toilet not far away).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    26
    13
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Something decent and reasonable to eat @ Mendocino”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

These guys are great. They make shakes and burgers and fries. Good to grab those if you are going for hikes or back from hike.

Good price compared to very high ends restaurants.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank G1uravS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It's a burger joint, get the burgers”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had no expectations. We were hungry, we were in Mendocino, and the sign said "burgers." They are good burgers, quality meat on fresh buns with fresh toppings. And the fries could only be fresher if they were dug from the ground immediately before slicing. And they weren't expensive, given the quality; I've had more expensive hamburgers that were not half as good. Why anyone would go in there for fish and chips is beyond me, unless of course it's for the chips (which are called French Fries on this continent). The owners are an interesting couple who did us a favor, and we're glad we ate at the counter so we could talk. There's a lot you can learn about how other people live when you talk to them. Bring cash, and don't expect to use the bathroom unless you're a paying customer. Them's the rules.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeD609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendocino, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Welcome to Good Burger”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Good Quality ingredients. When I am in the mood for a good burger and some garlic fries, this is the first place that pops into my mind. My wife and I love it here. Very quaint mom n pop style joint. Definitely recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Clint B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“owners left a bad taste in my mouth...”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

along with the "garlic fries". So my husband and our two little boys were camping down in manchester and went on a drive and ended up hungry in mendocino, we found mendo burgers on yelp, and decided to give it a try. The female owner, was pretty rude to us, rushing us to order , there was nobody else in line behind us btw, and then got so annoyed that we didn't have cash on us. She then told us to go across the street to the ATM, my little 4 y/o had to pee pretty bad and so we asked if i could get the restroom key while my hubs ran to the ATM, she gave us a scathing look and said, i think you should probably pay me for your food you ordered before i give you the key..... are you FREAKING SERIOUS?!!! HORRIBLE HORRIBLE customer service! So then we get our food, fish and chips - DO NOT call something fish and chips when its not, called it grilled cod and fries. The burgers were pretty tasty but the fries were just ok, we ordered garlic fries and were sooo disappointed that they seriously just sprinkle garlic powder on them, im sorry we are in northern California and the bar is set high for garlic fries, and for people ( the owners) who visit AT&T park on a regular basis, they should know better!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mendo Burgers also viewed

Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing