We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didjeridon't”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn
Ranked #13 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Didjeridon't”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I was taken in by the by the great reviews and the lovely website, but Didjeridoo is a didjeri don't. This place may have been nice a long time ago, but no more. And that must have been when the website photos were taken. Two words they need to learn there are "maintenance" and "service".

A little paint here and there, some basic maintenance and for crying out loud, water the garden. The beautiful garden that was let die was our first clue. The room was tacky and unkempt. A little touchup paint would go a long way. And for the price, how about some new blinds that work, and not the cheapest that Walmart sells either.

Seemingly clean, given the maintenance of everything else, I was apprehensive about the cleanliness of the bed and was fearful of what lay under the covers. And service seems to end when they get your money. One example, a request for decaf coffee in the morning was met with a curt "regular only". The included breakfast seemed ample, albeit, extremely basic. Think a pile of scrambled eggs. A pile of pancakes and a pile of sausage. And there's no table to sit and eat at. You have to sit in a chair and eat off your lap, or stand. Bon appetite.

My advice would be to look elsewhere or risk a disappointing visit to lovely Mendocino.

Room Tip: Try another place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didj-Inn, Owner at Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Hi!
For the past few months I've been answering bad reviews with just "Loving-Kindness". Yours, like most of the bad reviews, is more of a refflection of you than of our Inn. You talk about our garden being dead and un-watered and it's beautiful. I'm not sure where your from but we had the driest year in recorded history this year and I have water trucked in. Last year I spent 12k on water this year 3k and the only diffrence is my grass dosent look like your golf course. Next you complain about maintenence and cleanliness. Your right the blind in your room was not working. I had already ordered a new one thru selectblinds.com but they don't come in 1 day....Our place is clean, very clean. Our girls do a great job and thats all I have to say about that. I heard you ask Paula for decaf and she very politley said "we don't have any but we have a great sellection of teas and many are decaf", we care the entire TAZO tea line. The Breakfast;
Scrambled Eggs with Shitakee Mushrooms cooked in coconut oil and my eggs are always mixxed with beat sour cream cooked in organic butter, probbaly the best eggs you will ever have in your life, Chicken Apple sausage cooked in brown sugar with red chili peppers, Macadamian nut-Butter scotch Pancakes cooked in coconut oil, Wallabys Vinalla Austrailian style organic yogurt and wild blueberries from Maine, Pure Maple Syrup, Agave, Sirachi, and Orange Juice.... What did you want?

Loving-Kindness

Charles
@ Didjeridoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    60
    22
    24
    32
See reviews for
41
173
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is the great Bed and Breakfast in town of Mendocino.
They really have the best breakfast. It was outstanding. The rooms are really nice too.
They have music sometime and play the Didjeridoo. It was fun.
We love it.

Joan and Ron Burch

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didj-Inn, General Manager at Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hi!

We have some great music happen here, and next year starting in April thru June we will be having our Abalone Potlucks every Saturday night and belive me if you think my breakfast is good you will really love my Abalone Tacos (free to Everyone). Hope to see you next year,

Loving-Kindness

Charles
@ Didjeridoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We arrived at the Didjeridoo around 10 pm to find our sweet, spacious room (#62) awaiting our arrival. Late arrival, we were met with the sweetest note and our keys taped to the front door. Big, comfy cozy, king size bed with awesome pillows and blankets with the cool coastal air coming through the open windows. We had a separate entrance from the main house, so it was a completely private accommodation. The room was clean and well equipped with a small microwave & fridge, an awesome gas fireplace, & a huge garden tub. We slept extremely well & woke up the next morning to a lovely breakfast made by Charles, our host. The gardens in the front yard were stunning and made for a delightful spot for meditation and yoga. LOVE Y'ALL!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lilylily33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didj-Inn, Owner at Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Yay! Another happy person!

Loving-Kindness

Charles
@ Didjeridoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I came there during the Labor Day weekend and thought most of the places were closed so I went with this one. It is a nicely situated house right where you enter the town from the road. It is charming and well kept. There is an atmosphere of relaxed liveliness. The hosts were sweet and organized a nice dinner/fundraiser with a band, food and wine. The only drawback was that our room no. 73 was average- we paid $ 500 for a simple white place with a clunky brown couch with old nighstands and ugly lamps. In an email we were promissed a dvd player and i brought movies but sadly there was nothing in the room. I was hoping for a better looking place, no jacuzzi in our bathroom either. It did provide peace and quiet and the bed was super comfortable, down comforter and all although the pillow did have smudges, but it was satin or sorts so Im letting that go, i don't doubt it was clean. My advice to the owners, make the room with the king size bed cuter in some way so if doesnt feel like motel six, i did see the other rooms by peeking inside and they were wAy better so I feel jipped a bit. The rest was perfect. The owner is a sweetheart.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tsurechka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didj-Inn, Owner at Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hi!

Sorry you felt jipped, I think it seems kinda hi for room 73 also even on labor day weekend. Let me know who you are next time you make reservations and we will give you a free nights stay!
Glad you liked most everything else :)

Loving-Kindness

Charles
@ Didjeridoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here on the last night of a road trip after some camping on the Lost Coast. The jacuzzi tub in our room was a great remedy for my tired feet and aching back from sleeping in a tent. Charles, the host, makes an amazing breakfast and we enjoying chatting with him and the other guests over a relaxed morning.

My only suggestion for future guests is that if you enjoy an afternoon nap, request one of the upstairs bedrooms. We were right next to the front door, which gets pretty busy between 4-6pm as new arrivals are coming in. The nighttime, however, was super peaceful. Thanks to everyone that made our visit so enjoyable. :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kander27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didj-Inn, Owner at Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Great having you folks! We have some outside corridor rooms that are very quiet too. Thanks for staying!

Loving-Kindness

Charles
@ Didjeridoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

A great name because you are falling asleep with the window open an inch or two. The sea breeze and fresh air coming into the room while you are cuddled up under the quilts. Before you went to bed you may have sat in the front yard drinking wine with your friends or had a cup of herbal tea. There is many varieties of herbal tea for your drinking pleasure with an handy plug in kettle ~ very convenient. I read that staying here is like staying at Grandma's house, that's exactly how it felt. Breakfast was good, it was not "diet" food but if you went for a long walk or run along the cliffs on the paths you would deserve this caliber of breakfast. The seating options were limited inside but if you ate on the patio the table was perfect. Our Host Charles was kind and hospitable, our fellow guests appeared either shy or uptight barely wanting to talk at the breakfast gathering. The trail down to the beach is easy to find, just don't pay attention to the private property sign :)

Room Tip: The 2nd floor rooms are quiet but if you have a heavy suitcase please ask for help taking it up the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didj-Inn, Owner at Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hi!

Thank's for coming to our place and enjoying, Thats what the Didj is about.

Loving-Kindness

Charles
@ Didjeridoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

What a delightful little inn. This 1860s early Victorian is set in lush gardens, across from the old church. Location couldn't be better! We walked all over Mendocino from our hotel. In fact, we took the historical Mendocino walking tour. The Didjeridoo Inn was featured in the tour as one of the historic homes.

We were also greeted with a bottle of delicious pinot noir on the dresser. We stayed in a downstairs room with a king-sized bed and claw-foot tub. The bed was so comfy, I could barely get out of it. The white-brick fireplace was lovely, and the inn supplied firewood for the guests.

The staff was always friendly and conversational. We had a nice chat with the owner on Saturday afternoon as we sipped wine on the patio.

The other reviews were correct that the walls are thin and it's a little noisy. Since this house was built in the 1860s, that's to be expected. Our room was right off the hallway near the dining area. As people gathered for breakfast on Sunday, their conversations seemed pretty loud. Anticipating the noise, we brought along ear plugs, and went right back to sleep.

I would absolutely be back. It was a wonderfully romantic spot and a perfect setting for fabulous birthday weekend.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms may be quieter than the downstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NetDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.2 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
611 reviews
0.1 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Sweetwater Inn and Spa
Sweetwater Inn and Spa
#14 of 25 in Mendocino
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hill House Inn
Hill House Inn
#15 of 25 in Mendocino
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn

Property: Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn
Address: 44860 Main Street, Mendocino, CA 95460 (Formerly Mendocino Village Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Food, Art, Music and Vibes await you at Didjeridoo. Set just across the road from the ocean bluffs and the oldest Presbyterian church in California our spot in the village is cool. Walk to great eateries and all the local shops or relax and meditate in our beautiful gardens and historic lobby. See local art displayed in our relaxed lobby, break bread with us at our open pot-lucks & drink wine with us :) If you play bring your instruments, music happens here. Didjeridoo is perfect for weddings, reunions, small private parties and any other happenings that need to be in a place of love and beauty. Our rooms are great too! They range from quaint to fancy, some Victorian some simple and zen, all beautiful. We are Mendo people and want your visit to our village to be special and cherished. Peace Please note Didjeridoo is not a place that uptight conservative people will enjoy, in fact they will write bad reviews and hate it like they hate many things in life. Didjeridoo is most enjoyed by cool people looking for a nice stay in a beautiful place in an extremely friendly environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn And Meditation Center
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn & Meditation Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing