We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time to Mendocino”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn
Ranked #11 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at Didjeridoo Inn- great breakfasts; helpful hosts who guided us to dog-friendly restaurants and hikes. RIght across street is the beach. Dog-Friendly. Would definitely stay there again.
Plus - got a didjeridoo performance by Miranda - excellent!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AB132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didj-Inn, Owner at Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Our location is Great for people and dogs. We luv dogs here. I have 2 Corgi's (Morgi and Comptche). Miranda is such a great Didj player! Thanks for having a good time :)

Loving-Kindness
Charles
@ Didjeridoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
There are newer reviews for Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 322 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

4 of us took a last minute trip to Mendocino and decided since it was mid week not to book in advance. When we pulled into town at 3:30, we saw the Didjeridoo Inn & Sweetwater Inn but decided to see if we could get a last minute rate at one of the more expensive deluxe Inns. The 2 on the top of our list were sold out and the garden units at the Mendocino Hotel were still way overpriced even with a $100 discount. So we decided to check out the Didjeridoo and Sweetwater. The 2 rooms we were shown at the Didjeridoo #62 & #72 were both really nice and soooooo much nicer than the Mendocino Hotel I was sold. The owner was extremely nice and offered to hold the rooms while we checked out the B & B next door. Our friends decided to stay at the Sweetwater in the 2nd floor main house Victorian Style view room and we took room # 72 at the Didjeridoo. The outside entry meant our room was very quiet. The room had a more modern clean style which I really liked with a fireplace, in room jetted tub and separate shower in the bathroom. the king size bed was very comfortable although the comforter was a bit too warm. If we had stayed another night I would have asked for a 2nd lighter blanket instead of using the down comforter. Can't say enough how excellent the breakfast was the owner was also kind enough to let our friends join us for breakfast. Another nice thing about the Inn is the easy walk to the beach along the river. We will stay here again but will book in advance if it is a busier time as I am sure this place sells out.

Room Tip: Room 62 in the main house has a very pretty sitting area in a bowed out window area on the main floo...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmystic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didj-Inn, Owner at Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank You!
Glad you enjoyed and hope you stay again.

Loving-Kindness
Charles
@ Didjeridoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

read some negative reviews before getting to Didgeridoo Dreamtime and after staying decided that there are some people who you're just not going to please no matter how hard you try.
Yes - breakfasts are at a set time but what a great way to meet other travellers/guests and hear what they've done and recommend, also the breakfasts are great... bacon with pecans who'd have thought?? and the yogurt was lovely (I don't particularly like yogurt) - the room we stayed in was cosy but had a lovely view of the church and towels and bedding are changed on request. I think sometimes we forget our footprint when we travel and knowing that fresh linen's available when needed is just fine...
someone had commented on the scruffy garden - we 'brits' call it a cottage garden and was lovely. Had a great stay here and would recommend it as a base to discover the Mendocino coast and red woods - also went kayaking up the Big River. Great experience.
Thanks Charles and staff for a lovely stay

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunnyflower44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didj-Inn, Owner at Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Hi! Thanks for enjoying Didjeridoo. Some people are looking for a little more up-scaled place than we offer but they like our price, most people like our price and our place :)
Bacon: place a sheet of parchment paper on a cookie sheet, lay thick bacon side by side, take 1/2 dark organic brown sugar & 1/2 chopped up organic pecans mixed up and spread a thin layer over the bacon, Bake @ 375 for about 35 minutes or until it looks done. It's GOOD.

Loving-Kindness
Charles
@ Didjeridoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Charles in Charge - felt like we were staying with family!

Was in town for my best friend's wedding last weekend, and so we had the whole place booked with close friends. Beautiful property with sweet smelling garden, large comfortable bed and fireplace. We stayed in Room #61, in the front of the house. Great light, high ceilings and cool hottub right in the room.

And - the breakfast was.... AMAZING!!!!! Great coffee. Loved the caramelized bacon and chocolate babka french toast. Cute & tasty little yogurt and fruit cups.

Oh - and we got a great deal on the price too. Would highly recommend to anyone who is heading to the Mendocino area. Walk to shops, restaurants, beach, trails.

Super friendly staff. Dog friendly. Felt safe and comfortable.

LOVED it, enough said.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didj-Inn, Owner at Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

You guys were GREAT!!! What a fun weekend! Your pictures are very cool too! See ya soon!

Loving-Kindness

Charles
@ Didjeridoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I have now stayed at this remarkable inn three times over the past two years and highly recommend this as a great place to make your home while in Mendocino. I found the company in the morning at breakfast invigorating and learned a lot about the area while speaking with Charles the proprietor. The breakfasts were some of the best I have ever been served and if you are lucky on some Sundays Charles dive to get abalone for a special meal? Not to be missed. The rooms range from cozy Victorian to larger nearly suite size. I have stayed in a range of the rooms and they were kept clean and very comfortable. I look forward to my next visit and have found myself returning again and again while traveling in Northern California. A terrific home on the road!

Room Tip: for saving money, the smaller rooms on the top floor but for added space the water tower or for priv...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romes666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didj-Inn, Owner at Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

I'm looking forward to your next stay too!

Loving-Kindness

Charles @ Didjeridoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I loved this place. Our charming, two story, "water tower" room was clean and had a wood stove, a microwave, and a small refrigerator. The breakfast was some of the best we'd had in three weeks of traveling in CA. The atmosphere was relaxed and casual. Fresh gourmet coffee was available all day long and the owner was more than happy to help us find local attractions like the prettiest beaches. This B&B is clearly a labor of love-a soulful stay in Mendocino.

Room Tip: Ask about the "water Tower"
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didj-Inn, Owner at Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank You! The water tower is cool and we will be redecorating and painting it this winter. I think it's perfect for a couple with a younger child who want to be in the same space but with a little separation. Thanks for liking my breakfast too!

Loving-Kindness

Charles
@ Didjeridoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

While every body's expectations will be different, this place did not meet mine in quite a few ways. We make a point of trying to stay in individually run B&Bs, to try and support local businesses, so any comparisons made in this review are to these and not to a chain hotel. I recognise that everyone has different standards, so have uploaded photo's so that you can also form your own opinion and not just rely on mine. In our 15 day california roadtrip this is the only place that we stayed that we found disappointing.

On entering, I was wary based on the poorly maintained lobby and stairwell. However, Danielle who greeted us was friendly, so I hoped for better things in our room.

By the end of my stay my opinion was that the building was shabby and poorly maintained. The bed was lumpy and uncomfortable and the sheets were not as clean as I would have liked. The bathroom was tiny and dated. The sea view was more of a glimpse and not worth the extra money.

By my standards, service was inflexible. On arrival we were told breakfast is at 9 - not from 9, or until 9, but at 9. We had to leave by then to catch a flight home, so asked if there was any chance of an earlier breakfast. Danielle said this should be fine, and we agreed to check our flight time, and let her know. When we finally managed to find someone again (after another guest phoned them - see later) we were told in no uncertain terms that they were cooking breakfast for 25 people and that they certainly couldn't accommodate a "special breakfast". We weren't offered toast and coffee, or even a piece of fruit. I've never stayed anywhere that has had this kind of rule. This was not stated in our booking confirmation or at any point prior to booking, nor is it on the website. As we left the next morning, 2 other couples were also leaving - and all commented on breakfast. There clearly is demand for more flexible breakfast times.

The innkeepers are not based on site, and leave a phone number for you to contact them. This does not help those (like us) who are travelling from abroad with mobile phones that don't work on american frequencies.

Overall, for the £90 we paid I think this was very poor value. There are plenty of places to stay in Mendocino - we were offered better rates at The Nicholson Inn, The Seagull Inn, Blair House and John Dougherty Inn, and rooms at a couple of pounds more at the Agate Cove Inn and Packard House B&B. Chose Didjeridoo because of the sea views - and ended up regretting it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ripleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didj-Inn, Owner at Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Hello,

Well those are the grainiest pictures I have ever seen. 66 is a beautiful room and the view is a fine view of the church with the ocean behind it but on a foggy day the ocean drops out.

We serve breakfast around 9am until everyone has eaten and we get great reviews of our breakfast. You were leaving at 7am and maybe your travel plans are very strict, but I was unwilling to come in at 6:30, you are right. When you asked about toast at 9pm that night I told you I had already been to the market and had no bread but could leave you granola and milk (I did and it was left uneaten). We do live on-site and our number to call if we aren't in the lobby is posted in your room, on our office entry and at the entry of the front door so I don't know why you were not able to get ahold of me????

Finally,

At Didjeridoo we cater to the 99% not the 1%.

Loving-Kindness

Charles

Ps. You are our first Complaint from Europe EVER! :) We love Europeans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.2 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
627 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hill House Inn
Hill House Inn
#18 of 25 in Mendocino
420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sweetwater Inn and Spa
Sweetwater Inn and Spa
#14 of 25 in Mendocino
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn

Address: 44860 Main Street, Mendocino, CA 95460 (Formerly Mendocino Village Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range: $112 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Food, Art, Music and Vibes await you at Didjeridoo. Set just across the road from the ocean bluffs and the oldest Presbyterian church in California our spot in the village is cool. Walk to great eateries and all the local shops or relax and meditate in our beautiful gardens and historic lobby. See local art displayed in our relaxed lobby, break bread with us at our open pot-lucks & drink wine with us :) If you play bring your instruments, music happens here. Didjeridoo is perfect for weddings, reunions, small private parties and any other happenings that need to be in a place of love and beauty. Our rooms are great too! They range from quaint to fancy, some Victorian some simple and zen, all beautiful. We are Mendo people and want your visit to our village to be special and cherished. Peace Please note Didjeridoo is not a place that uptight conservative people will enjoy, in fact they will write bad reviews and hate it like they hate many things in life. Didjeridoo is most enjoyed by cool people looking for a nice stay in a beautiful place in an extremely friendly environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn And Meditation Center
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn & Meditation Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing