We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great One Night Honeymoon Spot”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mendocino Seaside Cottage
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
“Great One Night Honeymoon Spot”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We ended up in Mendocino on a whim, and actually found this great place on a walk to explore the town. Mel was really nice about the last-minute reservation. Aside from the delightful tropical cottage we stayed in (we especially loved the Zebra hangers and the leopard paintings), the path to the bluffs from the back yard of this place not only provides great views but also second-to-none access to little trails in the seaside park. It was exactly what we needed. Thanks Mel and Lindalee!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quinn_Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
43
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gardnerville
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We stayed in the Tropical cottage, and everything about it was perfect. It was in a very quiet area, with beautiful ocean views and landscaping. Short walk to the Ocean and walking distance to town. The cottage is warm and light and much bigger than expected. The kitchen was well stocked and the appliances all worked great. The bathroom was amazing, awesome jacuzzi tub, 5 showerheads in separate shower, fireplace and skylight! The bed and bedding where very comfortable. Mel is a great host! The best place we've stayed in Mendocino.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank relaxedtraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2010

Our 2nd Fall break in a row spending a week at the same place, a dog-friendly, quiet cottage with almost 2 whole walls of window views out towards the Headlands in our favorite kick-back town, Mendocino. One week after returning this October, we booked the same week for next year. We have stayed in approximately 8 different rentals in town on almost yearly visits the past 20 yrs, and this is our hands-down favorite. Mel is a great host.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAISY60922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

What a wonderful setting for rest and relaxation. Nestled at the end of a country lane, this Vicorian house is the perfect getaway. Although it is totally secluded among the trees, it is walking distance to town. This place is so peaceful and the views so spectacular that you could just leisure here all day. Or you can easily visit Mendocino Village, drive to Ft. Bragg, the Botanical Gardens or enjoy a trip along the coast.
We went with two other couples at the end of September and had a marvelous stay. The view of the Pacific Ocean is breathtaking! We took a leisurely walk along the bluffs and watched sea lions playing in the surf. Our first evening, the weather was so beautiful we served cocktails on the patio of the Honeymoon Suite. The next night, a little chillier, all six of us gathered in the turret of the Penthous Suite for a glass of wine. It was a 5 minute drive to the famous, wonderful Cafe Beaujolais for dinner or any of the several good restaurants in town.
Mel and his sister are but a phone call away (there is no staff on site) and are very accommodating. We preferred to be left alone as we had everything we needed. All the rooms have microwaves and refrigerators, our rooms were also equipped with dishes and glassware . The French roast coffee in the rooms was a treat . Although phone reception is not good (YAY) there is free wifi.
If you want to be left alone and "get away from it all" in comfort check out the website and call Mel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ouicmoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Great location walking distance to dinning coffee houses and shopping a very private yet central location We have been coming here for 4 years or more

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherryd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.5 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.4 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
611 reviews
7.2 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
5.0 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mendocino Seaside Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mendocino Seaside Cottage

Property: Mendocino Seaside Cottage
Address: 10940 Lansing Street, Mendocino, CA 95460
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small private getaway in the Village of Mendocino. One of the very best locations in the Village, away from the business district & traffic yet only a short stroll to the shops & restaurants. Two minutes from the bluff overlooking the beautiful Pacific Ocean. Ocean views, lighthouse views, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs for two, free internet, private decks, & wetbars. An alternative to the Bed & Breakfast choices in the Village. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing