We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food, Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lobby Lounge

Lobby Lounge
Ranked #20 of 22 Restaurants in Mendocino
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
Dining options: Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
277 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Value”
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

After a disappointing meal at the Mendocino Cafe I was happy to the find the Lobby Lounge of the Mendocino Hotel.
The old Hotel ambiance is lovely and the food very good.
The Hotel Mendocino Salad with feta, pecans and dried cherries was so good I will be going back for it again later.
A chicken sandwich with bacon and Brie on foccacia was also good.
And the Creme brûlée with berries would have been perfect except that the sugar crust was soft in places--I think it may have been made earlier and then refrigerated. The homemade biscotti with it was also excellent.
Definitely worth going back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MMMSebastopol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ceres, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxin' in the Lobby Lounge”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Seated by the window looking out on the beautiful headlands and cliffs of the Northern California Coast was only made better by the wild Mendocino Mushroom soup and oysters with spinach prepared by the chef in the Hotel kitchen. Sipping a local sirah, we unwound from our long but beautiful drive up highway 128.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ladykat000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect spot”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We did not make reservations for the Victorian room so we could not get in there for dinner, but we were happy with the Lobby Lounge we had a view of the water and surrounded by beautiful antiques and a most happy server she was delightful.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank DiamondJim3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
253 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“inexpensive casual dining option”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

[review of the Bistro cafe in the bar -- not the main Victorian Room] The Bistro menu in the Mendocino Hotel bar offers an inexpensive and tasty dining alternative to the main hotel dining room. The bar food service begins at 5 pm and continues until the bar closes. I ordered the Dungeness Crabcakes ($16), which actually tasted like crab and avoided the "overly spicy" treatment common to many chefs; my wife had the Reuben sandwich on sourdough ($16) and we shared a delicious Caesar salad. For dessert I had the Olallieberry cobbler with vanilla ice cream ($9). Everything was delicious! The bartender was doing double-duty behind the bar and table service, so we had a leisurely pace for our dinner -- but not a problem since we were enjoying the view of the Pacific Ocean through the window next to our table. "Traveling the world one meal at a time..."

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DSteveCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Nice homey atmosphere, good service and an amazing angus burger.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kanugrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lobby Lounge also viewed

Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 

Been to Lobby Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing