We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Patterson's Pub

Patterson's Pub
Ranked #4 of 22 Restaurants in Mendocino
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Augustine, FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

During our stay in Mendocino, we discovered Patterson's pub and enjoyed it so much, we did two more dinners and a lunch there. There is a daily menu board as well as their everyday menu. The food is excellent. The stuff is terrific and everyone makes you feel welcome. My wife and I enjoyed everything we ate and the portions are extremely generous. It was the best food in Mendocino and not nearly as expensive as most of the other restaurants. One warning, they only accept cash so they can keep their prices down. We strongly recommend Patterson's

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 4evertravel730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    267
    66
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Noisy pub, good beer, friendly service and indifferent food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We arrived around 7.45 on a midweek evening and found the pub noisy and crowded. However, after a few minutes perched uncomfortably on a high stool around a column, we found a table and a friendly server. The beer was good and the noise level gave the place a lively atmosphere. We both had the burgers and found them disappointingly damp and greasy because the beef was topped by soggy fried onions that had seeped their juices down through the meat to the bun. Not a great meal for the money.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YohoBoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Small stop in Mendocino CA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Small bar and restaurant in Mendocino that we walked into after seeing the menu board outside. We ate at 4:30 PM so it wasn't packed yet. You seat yourself and the friendly waiter/waitress gives you a menu when they can. We ordered Fish & Chips, beer and water. They have a large water tank that you serve yourself with plastic cups. It did take awhile to get our order taken, but I think they were changing the wait staff because we started with one and later had a different one. The food came out pipping hot:. The fish and chips was very tasty and "hit " the spot. The place had 3 different TV's with different sports on. Also they had board games if you wanted to play while waiting and even a "free" book exchange or just take one if you wanted. They ONLY take cash.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BSTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Raucus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

An Irish pub with a vibrant (raucus?) atmosphere.The night we visited there was football on all the screens and the place was packed.We eventually got a seat by the bar and ate.I had the meatloaf.It's probably the best I've ever eaten.The whole place was buzzing but food of an exceptionally high standard is consistently produced from a tiny kitchen.Cannot praise it too highly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oldernwiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun and Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Good food and quick, friendly service. The pub was packed but the waiter found us a table somehow and offered us quick service. They all work really hard in that place! Great beer selection

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patterson's Pub also viewed

Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 

Been to Patterson's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing