We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Weekend Getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MacCallum House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Reviewed September 10, 2006

We visited for our 1 year anniversary and couldn't be more pleased with our experience! We were completely impressed with the staff and service, the incredible fresh food, and the luxurious comfortable rooms. Many rooms have recent remodels, particularly in the Barn, and look amazing. The pillows, sheets, baths, private hot tubs...all add to the most romantic and relaxing experience. The food and wine are from local farmers and growers and with such an excellent chef, each dining experience including the complimentary gourmet breakfast, are amazing. You will be sure to be impressed, pampered and to enjoy the MacCallum House and surrounding Mendocino immensely.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Mr&MrsO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (629)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

534 - 540 of 629 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2006

Places like the Mac House are truly rare, and staying there is always a very special experience. The rooms are unpretentious yet luxurious, with wonderful French amenities, unbelievably comfortable beds and cozy linens. The staff is courteous, down to earth, and truly interested in you having a good time. The grounds are beautiful, with incredible gardens and spectacular views of the coastline. We've now stayed in 5 different rooms at the Mac House, and each one is different, yet each one nice in its own way. What makes the Mac House special is its unique blend of old and new, of traditional and contemporary, and balancing the luxurious with the casual and perhaps even funky. Even better, there is a room for every price range, and you consider that the room prices includes breakfast; the Mac House appears like a distinct bargain.

The food is indescribably delicious, with fresh, organic, local ingredients. Easily equalling and in my opinion eclipsing many of the restaurants in Napa and Sonoma, the food at the Mac House is consistently impressive and represents an excellent value. Ample portions prepared with care will make it difficult not to let out that belt one notch, but I would ahve to say it is absolutely worth it.

Of course Mendocino is a wonderful town with great hikes and quaint shops, but very important to us is that it is a town that really loves (well behaved) dogs. And the Mac House is no exception, allowing you to bring your dog and taking the same great care in ensuring that your dog enjoys his stay as well. And one more thing: Please be a good owner and look after your pet to ensure that the Mac House continues to let people bring their dogs!! It rare that nice places allow pets these days, so please don't abuse the privelege.

If you are having a special occasion, like a Birthday, an Anniversary, or both as it was in our case, you really owe it to yourself to consider the Mac House in Mendocino!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank groovology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2006

We loved our Honeymoon Room and enjoyed our 1-year anniversary here. We received gift certificates to B&Bs for our wedding so it was nice to go to Mendocino in style. Great staff that took care of our requests even though our property was not close to the main house (2 blocks away). Had a nice relaxing bath every day along with scenic walks around town.

Note: the property is right next door to the cemetary. In a small town, this is an expected view. The balcony from our room had a beautiful view of the town but one can also see the cemetary & headstones very clearly. This could be an issue depending on the travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank gnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2006

My husband and I went to the MacCallum House to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. We stayed in room # 26, which was wonderful!! Huge bed, hot tub outside our room, private patio, comfy robes, and a wonderful breakfast (although short-staffed). We had a nice stay and were thrilled that we had chosen to go to the MacCallum House. Though the stay was nice, the problem started the day after we left. My husband developed red, raised, itcy, painful bumps all over his abdomen. Not knowing what they were, I diagnosed them as hives and reassured him that they'd go away soon. The following Monday, he went to the doctor because his "hives" had gotten worse. The doctor told him that his "hives" were actually folliculitis from a hot tub not being cleaned properly. The only hot tub we've been in during the past eight months was the one at the MacCallum House. I called and spoke with Noah the next day. He appologized and reassured me that the hot tub would be drained and cleaned right away. He also said he'd happily send a gift certificate. Since we enjoyed our stay so much, we decided that we'd go back when we received the certificate, minus a room with a hot tub. It's been well over a month, and we have yet to recieve the promised gift certificate. How disappointing!! Needless to say, we won't go back. As business owners, we know how important it is to follow -through with your word to a customer. It's unfortunate that the MacCallum House didn't do just that!!!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank scottslove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2006

My wife and I stayed here for our 1st anniversary. We booked the wine tour package. We couldn't have been more pleased with our entire experience. We stayed for three nights. The wine tour was fantastic. Our chauffer/guide was very knowledgeable of the area vineyards and was not at all pretentious. We also booked in-room spa treatments and were very pleased with the massage therapists and the service.

We ate three breakfasts and two dinners on site. It seemed each meal got better. We stayed in room #30 - Napoleon Suite. We would go again in a heartbeat and have already recommended to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bdubs9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2006

The MacCallum House was a wondeful and luxurious place to stay. It is beautifully decorated and landscaped. I particularly loved the flowers in the garden. The staff was exceptional and very kind. Each member of the staff including our waiter remembered to wish us a happy anniversary which made us feel very special. During our trip, we stayed in many nice bed and breakfasts but the MacCallum House was our favorite.

Stayed: August 2006
1  Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2006

The MacCallum House is a picturesque place within an incredible setting. All services were excellent including the maid service, the food, the rooms, and the front desk personel. The attention to detail was very nice too such as chocolates in your room, a free wine hour every day and the most amazing breakfasts! I stayed a week while taking a class at the Mendocino Arts Center and once I was there, I parked my car and walked everywhere because MacCallum House is very centrally located. I will go back to this place again soon!

Stayed: July 2006
3  Thank LaMcHi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.1 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
8.5 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
627 reviews
2.4 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,173 reviews
4.6 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
656 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacCallum House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacCallum House Inn

Address: 45020 Albion St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Price Range: $195 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MacCallum House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a classic Victorian boutique hotel located in the heart of Mendocino. Situated on 2 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds the MacCallum House has a full service fine dining restaurant, casual cafe, and bar on site. We offer wedding and group services as well. Our accommodations feature a number of standard amenities including concierge services, 24 hour desk help. Our rooms have many luxury touches such as Shikai bath products,mini bars,gourmet in room coffee, robes, fireplaces, hot tubs, DVD players, Ipod docking stations, phones, and ocean views. We also provide free Wifi property wide so you can stay in touch with the rest of the world. As part of our collection of rooms we also have two vacation homes that are fully equipped and great for families. In addition our Suites property has large rooms complete with ocean views, jetted tubs, gas fireplaces, and large plasma televisions. Come discover why the MacCallum House is the most comfortable place to stay in Mendocino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your MacCallum House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maccallum House Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing