We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best bed you will ever sleep in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MacCallum House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Best bed you will ever sleep in!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Feathers, clouds, little pieces of heaven. I stayed in the rooms by the cemetery-- the perfect touch for a couple always in love with a gothic getaway. Walk through the cemetery between town and your room, and enjoy the private hot tub in the back with a nice bottle of your favorite local wine or beer. I love, love, love The Mac House!!

Room Tip: Stay by the cemetery and get a private hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goats_Udder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    151
    51
    51
    35
See reviews for
74
346
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Bragg, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is the second time we stayed at The MacCallum House Inn and it was great again! We stayed in room 19 in the old Barn. Great views! Great high beam room with beautiful rock fireplace! Love the full length window with a view of the bay. Great furniture and comfy bed! Love it!

Room Tip: You can not go wrong with room 19! Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millsapmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
520 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed in Room 5 for 2 nights. The room is in the attic and has two comfortable beds that are separated. To get to the private bathroom you have to go outside the room and down steep stairs. While this was not a big problem it is different. Because the room is in the attic the roof slopes so it is not a normal room. It did not cause problems for me, but you should be aware of it before booking this room. The food at the restaurant was very good. I ate breakfast and dinner there twice. You get a discount of $14 per night on dinner and breakfast was included. There was a good selection of local and other wines on the list. The town is pretty and very peaceful. The hotel had convenient free parking. The drive from Anderson Valley is very nice, going through redwoods and along the ocean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim_atl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is an old house in Mendocino. Stayed one night in the attic room. Quirky room, long and narrow with 2 separate bedrooms on the side of the main room that were a little haunted houseish but worked well. Beautiful window looking out over the bay at one end but it is floor to ceiling, opens up with a simple latch and no guard rail, not child or clumsy friendly. Very friendly staff and a great breakfast in the morning. They also give you a $7 coupon per person to use on drinks at the bar or juice with breakfast. Why $7? Why not $10 or discount the price? I will likely never know. Overall, liked the place but check out the room photos it is not for everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DreadPirateMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Let me preface my remarks by saying I am not a fan of antiques so bear that in mind. We stayed one night at the MacCallum House in the main house. There are lots of buildings and choices of accommodations. We stayed in room #1 which was nicely appointed with antiques (g)... from our room we had a nice view over the tops of the other old buildings to the Pacific ocean. The bed was comfortable but a little high off the floor and we ran into the massive bed frame a couple of times. There are complimentary bath robes in the antique armoire. Also they had 2 of the fold up suitcase stands, a nice touch most places only have one per room. The shower offer plenty of hot water, but be aware it will go suddenly hotter or cold depending on water usage in other parts of the house, such is the nature of old houses. On the whole we enjoyed our visit to MacCallum House and to the small town of Mendocino. Be sure to take a walk along the headlands overlooking the Pacific, it's worth the short walk from the B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here! We opted to stay in the suites, about 8 minutes walking distance from the main house. They are next to the village cemetery, but so are several of the other local b&b's. Our room was well-appointed, had a beautiful view and a bottle of Husch Cenin Blanc waiting for us. The Grey Whale is one of our favorite restaurants and we loved the breakfasts each morning! There is 18% gratuity added to the bill- probably because people forget to tip the waitstaff. It is a restaurant! And it was so nice to not have to deal with a grumpy b&b keeper in the morning when late to breakfast ;)

Loved the gardens as well- we saw lots of hummingbirds!

The suites do offer large jetted tubs and the sides are rather tall. I'm average height- 5ft6, and managed to score a nasty gash when trying to get out of the shower. My husband did inform the manager upon check-out and she quickly sent us a written apology, which was appreciated considering it was my own clumsiness that caused it :)

Room Tip: The suites are further from the main house, but private and quiet - some with ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacque B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were put in the separate building about five blocks from the inn and the rooms there were fantastic. We had a separate courtyard with a wonderful working jacuzzi, great bathroom and a modern capsule coffeemaker which was a great start to the day. We could have used a little more introduction to the room since we had difficulty with the heat vs. the fireplace but the rest was perfect.
We had one dinner at the inn and it was terrific as was the subsidized breakfast. Be warned that the 4 p.m. checkin is pretty rigid which is understandable with the preparation of the jacuzzi and the rest.

Room Tip: The rooms up the hill are really terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.1 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.1 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#8 of 25 in Mendocino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
4.6 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacCallum House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacCallum House Inn

Property: MacCallum House Inn
Address: 45020 Albion St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MacCallum House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a classic Victorian boutique hotel located in the heart of Mendocino. Situated on 2 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds the MacCallum House has a full service fine dining restaurant, casual cafe, and bar on site. We offer wedding and group services as well. Our accommodations feature a number of standard amenities including concierge services, 24 hour desk help. Our rooms have many luxury touches such as Shikai bath products,mini bars,gourmet in room coffee, robes, fireplaces, hot tubs, DVD players, Ipod docking stations, phones, and ocean views. We also provide free Wifi property wide so you can stay in touch with the rest of the world. As part of our collection of rooms we also have two vacation homes that are fully equipped and great for families. In addition our Suites property has large rooms complete with ocean views, jetted tubs, gas fireplaces, and large plasma televisions. Come discover why the MacCallum House is the most comfortable place to stay in Mendocino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your MacCallum House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maccallum House Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing