We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Suite Life”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MacCallum House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Novato, California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Suite Life”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent two nights at the Suites and took breakfast at the Inn. Our suite was great, equipped with a jetted tub, seating area with fireplace, a dining alcove, and other luxuries. The bed was very comfortable. We had a back yard with a table and seating and our own 6' by 6' hot tub, which we used while enjoying the wine compliments of the Inn. The full breakfasts were great. One would have to be very picky to find something to complain about. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Stay at the Suites. The hotel is from the last century. It was quaint and a great place to eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    153
    51
    51
    35
See reviews for
76
347
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fenelon Falls, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I visited the MacCallum House with my parents on a quick trip through wine country; the hospitality and accommodations were outstanding. We stayed at many inns throughout California on our recent road trip and felt the MacCallum offered superb value, comfort and convenience.

Room Tip: Bring your appetite; the breakfast was stellar and anyone interested in a fabulous, fresh California...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foresthill, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed two nights in #10, the Carriage House. Nice room, wood-burning stove, hot tub in small private patio, window seat and skylight. Complimentary wine was a nice touch. However, room door was swollen from recent rain and scraped on the ground and toilet handle needed "jiggling" to stop from running. Phone in room would not connect with Front Desk, due to busy receptionist?? Would ask for a quieter room if staying on a Thurs night because Fri morning garbage truck and deliveries were a bit loud. But restaurant meals and service was terrific. Breakfast on the veranda was magical. Accidentally took the keys home but Front Desk allowed for their return with no charge. Nice folks!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenR456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Everything about the stay at this beautiful, elegant hotel in our faorite town in Northern California was heavenly. Staff was welcoming. The suite was beautiful and spacious. Private outdoor hot tub in a beautiful well maintained garden. We did not need to add much to our already fodness of the town of Mendocino, but this experience at the hotel just topped over all our previous experiences. We also had full breakfast and dinners that were excellent. The breakfast was even superb.

Room Tip: Our suite was located in a new aquired section in the north side of the village. The tub/shower, alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ada B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights recently at this historic Mendocino Inn. The staff, rooms, view and food (breakfast and dinner) were everything we could ask for in a first rate quality establishment.
Our room, #30, was in the suites and had a balcony with a view over the ocean. The room included a large flat screen TV with a DVD and two comfortable chairs for viewing. The bath included both a jacuzzi tub and a large two-person shower. The restaurant is in the main building of the inn, which dates back to the 1800's. Our entrees included steak, duck breast and wild mushrooms. Each was excellent, as was the wine list. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms in the suites are more expensive, but worth it. Ask for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlwlawrisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We recently stayed at the MacCallum House Inn and ate breakfasts and dinners in the restaurant. It was a perfect place to unwind and recharge. We cannot wait to come back to the loveliest place in Mendocino!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mari Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We spent a lovely evening in one of the outside cottages with a wood burning stove and hot tub in the adjacent garden. The room was spotless and professionally maintained.

The staff was accommodating, friendly, warm and welcoming. They always had an ear out for ways that they could make our stay more pleasant.

We had dinner in their restaurant. The food was very good as was the service. We agree with the other reviewers that the prices could use an adjustment downwards to improve the value equation.

We are indeed planning to return for another stay.

Room Tip: We noticed an adjacent barn-like building which turned out to be part of the hotel. It look really a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysExploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.1 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
2.4 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
699 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#8 of 25 in Mendocino
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacCallum House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacCallum House Inn

Property: MacCallum House Inn
Address: 45020 Albion St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MacCallum House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a classic Victorian boutique hotel located in the heart of Mendocino. Situated on 2 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds the MacCallum House has a full service fine dining restaurant, casual cafe, and bar on site. We offer wedding and group services as well. Our accommodations feature a number of standard amenities including concierge services, 24 hour desk help. Our rooms have many luxury touches such as Shikai bath products,mini bars,gourmet in room coffee, robes, fireplaces, hot tubs, DVD players, Ipod docking stations, phones, and ocean views. We also provide free Wifi property wide so you can stay in touch with the rest of the world. As part of our collection of rooms we also have two vacation homes that are fully equipped and great for families. In addition our Suites property has large rooms complete with ocean views, jetted tubs, gas fireplaces, and large plasma televisions. Come discover why the MacCallum House is the most comfortable place to stay in Mendocino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your MacCallum House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maccallum House Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing