We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant, Convenient Stay in the Heart of Mendocino Village”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MacCallum House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Although we stay fairly often in Mendocino and have dined several times at MacCallum House, I’ve never had the opportunity to stay overnight there until just recently. I chose a room in one of the several cottages because I wanted a little more privacy than I thought the rooms in the main house would provide and I was also interested in having a private hot tub rather than having to depend upon the communal one.

The grounds surrounding the main house and the cottages are filled with lush, colorful plantings--quite a joy to behold, as was the mansion itself, replete with Victorian gingerbread detailing. It’s no wonder that the property is a popular site for weddings. Check-in was accomplished by ascending the steep stairs to the 2nd floor (the ground level contains the bar and restaurant). The process was quick and cordial and we didn’t even need to move our car since we had already parked in one of the 2 small parking areas. Street parking is also available.

It was a very short walk to the Carriage House located in a single-story duplex building located to the rear of the main house. We had Room #10 which has a King bed and I believe is larger than its sister room #9. The inside was open, bright and airy with a peaked ceiling and decorative beams, several windows and a skylight allowing lots of light. Walls, ceiling and beams were all painted white, adding to the spacious feeling. The flooring was a type of wood laminate that looked normal, but had the very strange characteristic of making a loud squeaking sound when one walked on it in bare feet. The furniture was a mixture, one could say a “hodge podge” of different styles and looks, with some showing wear beyond what one would expect from vintage pieces. They would greatly benefit from a fresh coat of paint in a unifying color. The predominant colors in the room were white and browns/beiges with some black and olive accents.

Our room had a King bed (with very comfortable mattress and linens), 2 side tables with lamps, bureau chest, armoire (in place of a closet), a wooden chair and a floor lamp. There was a Dynex flat panel TV w/DVD player, old-fashioned alarm clock, single-line phone, microwave, coffee maker with coffee packs and tea bags, small frig stocked with honor bar drinks inc. beer, cokes and wine (plus containers of real cream for the in-room coffee); a tray filled with snack items, liquors, a split of wine and water--all for purchase, and a woodstove on a brick hearth with a nice supply of wood. An ice bucket and wine glasses were in our room. There was no central heating, but 2 electric space heaters were provided. The wood stove was easy to light and warmed the room quickly.

Having only an armoire to hang clothes in became a challenge since the numerous hangers were all jammed onto 3 short hooks inside and once one actually hung clothes on several of the hangers, they all overlapped precariously making it nearly impossible to remove one hanger w/o taking away those in front of it. At least there was a spacious window seat where we placed our luggage. A single luggage rack was also available.

I’m not fond of having the sink in the same area as the bed and our room’s layout was even less convenient than usual with such an arrangement. The sink vanity was in a corner where the bathroom door opened against it--hazardous for the person who might be at the sink while another exits the bathroom! The light fixture above the sink really didn’t provide much light--but this may have been to avoid illuminating someone lying bed just a short distance away.

The modest-sized bathroom also presented some challenges--not the least being the toilet with a flapper that wouldn’t seal and therefore caused the water to run on and on and didn’t allow the tank to refill. We did report that and hopefully maintenance took care of it. The small fiberglass shower stall (no tub) had a showerhead that was located very high up and wasn’t adjustable. The water pressure constantly vacillated, but the temperature held steady. There were enough combined counter and shelf areas in the bathroom and the sink area to provide an adequate amount of space to place toiletries, cosmetics, etc. A small, openable window in the bath was great since there was no ventilation fan. Oddly, a single switch for both the light and the heat lamp existed, so it could became uncomfortably warm if the window wasn’t ajar.

Since our room had a private hot tub, it would have been better to have had a couple of extra bath towels, but only 2 were provided that we could find. Lotion, body wash, shampoo and conditioner were all in 16 oz. containers and the hand soap in a pump dispenser. It was convenient to have a shower cap, hairdryer and 2 bathrobes provided.

Our private hot tub was located at the end of a small stone patio accessed thru a separate door a short distance from the entry. The patio and hot tub area were completely private surrounded by bamboo fencing and tall shrubbery. The 2-person hot tub was at a comfortable temperature and offered a very nice, relaxing experience. The patio had a couple of wooden chairs and a metal table which we would have made use of if the weather hadn’t been unseasonably cold and rainy.

Since this was such a short trip, I didn’t bring my laptop, but there was a free Wi-Fi connection in the rooms as well as a computer and printer for guests to use in the main house.

During the day and evening hours we could definitely hear people from the surrounding areas and traffic on the street, but at night all became quiet and we had a very peaceful night’s sleep.

At check-in we’d received a $14 credit to spend in MacCallum House’s bar or restaurant and after a fabulous (as always) dinner at Cafe Beaujolais, we dropped by the hotel bar for coffee before going back to our room. Being a Fri. night it was quite busy, but we enjoyed the ambiance sitting near their fireplace.

The next morning we had coffee in our room and then walked around town, waiting for the restaurant to begin serving breakfast (complimentary for those staying at MacCallum House) beginning at 8:30am for non-guests and 8:45am for guests. That was about 45 min. later than we would usually have breakfast if left to our own devices. But sitting out on the sunny porch overlooking lovely gardens was worth the wait. There were 5 or 6 breakfast dishes on the menu to choose from and we enjoyed satisfying, delicious meals. Coffee was included at no charge, but juices were not.

Service in the restaurant and bar was friendly but somewhat slow in both places. Being there on a Summer weekend can make the difference.

Despite a number of small problems encountered, all in all we had a very good stay at MacCallum House and would certainly consider staying there again, probably choosing a different room next time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Forestvillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (628)
There are newer reviews for MacCallum House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 628 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2012

MacCallum house was everything we wished for; great location, quaint accommodations, morning walks with seascape views, cute little town, and fabulous food. My husband and I went with our daughter and her boyfriend. We both loved it! Be sure to visit the Cabrillo Lighthouse! Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Room 7 has a great porch, but bathroom is separate from the unit. Next time I would ask for one of...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianeR55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed at the MacCallum House Inn on a Travel Zoo discount package, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. All the staff were pleasant, friendly, and helpful. The Inn and the various buildings are charming, and the grounds are beautiful. We stayed in what's called the Barn. Loved our room - very quiet, real wood-burning fireplace, and we even made a fire when it cooled down in the evening. The room was small, but it had a nice leather arm chair and a small, antique desk. The bed and linens were extremely comfortable. There was also a small bar area, with the usual small microwave, coffee-maker, refrigerator (which was very quiet), and the usual, very pricey mini-bar food and drinks that we didn't dare touch. If you are looking for a view from your room, though, choose one of the upper floor rooms. The package included a complimentary bottle of wine, which turned out to be an excellent, local Chenin Blanc. The bathroom was large and elegant, with a huge jacuzzi tub and combination shower. We had absolutely no problem with the water pressure on the shower head, so I'm wondering if the previous guest didn't find it set right? Our breakfasts were included, and they were outstanding. We had one meal in the bar in the evening. The prices in the dining room are very high, but there are several dishes in the mid-range that were no higher in price than any good restaurant in Mendocino (which is basically a very pricey town), and with the food or drink vouchers included in the package, the meal was less than it would have been anywhere else. We were advised by the bartender that there are more food options in the bar than the dining room. The Inn is one block back from the Headlands-facing front street and within easy walking distance to any shops or restaurants in town, and it is also an easy walk to the Headlands trails. We would recommend the MacCallum House Inn property, and we would stay there again. Just need to save up our money for another trip. :)

Room Tip: Most of the good views appear to be on the upper floors. Lower floor rooms not facing the street are...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkateSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We had only been to Mendocino once many years ago.....I purchased a 2 day stay in a suite thro Travel Zoo and could not have been more delighted! Helpful young woman at check-in, a bottle of wine waiting for us in our room....a most comfortable bed.....lovely, big tub in a roomy bath area....included breakfasts were delicious and filling...Very quiet with a peek of ocean from our windows......I will be looking for another wonderful deal with them soon!

Room Tip: Go online and check photos of rooms and diagram of entire MacCallum House properties....
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I spent 3 nights and it was fantastic, Beautiful rooms, extremely comfortable and great breakfast. The personnel is really friendly and I would love to come back some day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felipe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We purchased a vacation package from TravelZoo so it was about a 40-50% discount. Without it, I would not recommend staying there. Their rack rate is really high and what you get in return at that rate is not worth it. We stayed in room 14 and while it was pleasant (keeping in mind we paid a discount rate), there are a few things to be aware of. First off, it’s in the old barn, so the walls are paper thin and you hear every single word of your neighbor’s conversation. You can also easily hear the footsteps from above too. Second, the shower head has really low pressure, but the Jacuzzi tub is great. Third, the room is literally right next to the hot tube, so it can probably get pretty noisy (it was out of order while we were there). Nevertheless, we really enjoyed the fireplace in the room and lovely garden around the inn.

Unfortunately, the restaurant experience was very disappointing. We had dinner in the restaurant on our first night and while the food was good, the service was lacking. It took awhile for our appetizers to be served (they were raw oysters – how hard can it be to shuck them? ) and then another 20-25 minute wait for our entrees. Breakfast the next day was even worse. We placed our order and proceeded to wait 45 minutes for our meal! I had to flag the waiter down and ask what was causing the delay. He seemed clueless and obviously forgot to put our order in. The waiter said they were just slammed that morning, but literally there were only 2 other occupied tables in the dining room. When our breakfast did arrive, (it was a simple order of eggs, sausages & toast), the server brought out only one piece of toast. Were we suppose to split that one piece of toast between the two of us? Finally after we asked about it, a few more slices of toast were brought out. Lastly, we had a bizarre interaction during breakfast. The hostess came by to ask how breakfast was, and before we could even respond (didn’t want to be rude and talk with our mouths full) she says “Great to hear that -thank you”. Then she turns around and leaves. Wow, how can their staff so robotic and inattentive?!

Overall, I would say stay at this place if you can get a discount package deal and avoid the restaurant. Also, there is a fabulous organic Mexican restaurant called Lu’s Kitchen right behind the inn. If you take the path near the old church (currently the co-op) and turn right towards the parking lot, you’ll see the sign for Lu’s Kitchen. Well worth the visit there.

Room Tip: Skip the barn rooms if you are a light sleeper. The walls are paper thin.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theoatybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Fabulous location. You step out and walk to the headlands, stroll the quaint streets for some window shopping, and then you are back at MacCallum House for happy hour at their bar! It's bustling during dinner time. The restaurant on-site is in a wonderfully cozy, dark room. The breakfast each morning was fantastic. Our room was over the bar area, which did not keep us up at night. Room 1 was nice sized and we unexpectedly spent one day in bed until 2pm because it felt so good to just lay in bed! Definitely find the path down to the small beach area and sit on the petrified wood logs. Such a cool weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fairy1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.1 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
2.4 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
715 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
648 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacCallum House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacCallum House Inn

Address: 45020 Albion St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Price Range: $206 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MacCallum House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a classic Victorian boutique hotel located in the heart of Mendocino. Situated on 2 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds the MacCallum House has a full service fine dining restaurant, casual cafe, and bar on site. We offer wedding and group services as well. Our accommodations feature a number of standard amenities including concierge services, 24 hour desk help. Our rooms have many luxury touches such as Shikai bath products,mini bars,gourmet in room coffee, robes, fireplaces, hot tubs, DVD players, Ipod docking stations, phones, and ocean views. We also provide free Wifi property wide so you can stay in touch with the rest of the world. As part of our collection of rooms we also have two vacation homes that are fully equipped and great for families. In addition our Suites property has large rooms complete with ocean views, jetted tubs, gas fireplaces, and large plasma televisions. Come discover why the MacCallum House is the most comfortable place to stay in Mendocino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your MacCallum House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maccallum House Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing