We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MacCallum House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Certificate of Excellence
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
194 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Special Place”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Stayed in the suites building Morning Glory room#27. Four blocks from main building wher breakfast and dinner are served but WELL worth it. King room with gas fire place sitting area, outside sitting area with partial ocean view. Highly recomend suites building big rooms and very quiet.. Bathroom bigger than most bedrooms with double shower all marble with upscale ammenities and cozy robes. Great deal tru travel zoo including bottle of wine in room on arrival, $7 per person per nite in restaurant and full breakfast per person per day. We had eggs benedict and mimosasa.. Dinner at restaurant was super we has roasted beet salad,grilled salmon with mashed potatoes and aspargus. Will deffinatly be back.

Room Tip: recomend suited building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    150
    51
    51
    35
See reviews for
73
344
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

MacCallum House should be looked at more as a B&B than a hotel. It does not have high end hotel amenities-no bellhop, nobody at the desk after 9pm. The rooms are quite varied in quality, price and accessibility spread over multiple sites. Everything from quaint cottages, to rooms in a converted barn, to high end suites. Be sure to go to the hotel website which has good pictures and descriptions of the rooms. If you have any orthopedic issues be wary of upper floor rooms and showers where you have to climb into a tub to use. I suspect the reviews reflect the price people paid. If you pay rack rate, which is high, you probably will be disappointed in the value. We bought a package on Luxury Link which worked out to be a very good value. The hotel location is excellent for walking through Mendocino. The food at the restaurant is good but expensive. If your breakfast is not included in the rate you can easily spend $50 for 2 for juice,coffee and an omelot-toast is extra. The food for dinner at the restaurant is good and fresh American but $100/person with a $50/bottle of wine. There are many equally as good and less expensive places to eat. We found our room in the barn to be clean and well-appointed but noisy. We could easily hear casual conversations in the next room. Overall if you have reasonable expectations and are there on a package you should have a nice stay.

Room Tip: Check the website carefully-remember there are no elevators and the stairs are old and narrow
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sancarlosdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed at the macCallum House for the first time this trip, and have been to Mendo many times in the past. We had a great weekend, hiking, roaming the town, taking in the views of the sea. The MacCallum House is well located within easy walking distance of all you might want to do in Mendo and being in the center of town here is just fine in this tiny, charming town. The view from parts of the hotel are so pretty and the ease of being able to have a great dinner and a nightcap at the bar (with live music!) is just great. The room itself is a bit rundown and is in need of some tlc. We stayed in #14 and it is a good thing it was a special rate, because if it had not been, I would be writing a different review here. As it was, it was a good value.

I would recommend staying here, but at a discount of 40-50% only. The town itself makes up for anything the accomodations lack, and if you can stay for under $180 a nite, including breakfast, it is still worthwhile.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieMillvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed in Rm 9, The Abbey Blair, whch is one of the cottages on the main property. The cottage is small - a queen bed, an armchair, a dresser and a mini-fridge and microwave take up most of the floor space.The bathroom is also fairly small with just a standard shower. The decor is not high end luxury, more like someone's Grandma's Victorian house. The cottage does have a very private fenced garden with a private hot tub, which is a very nice feature. it is also centrally located on the main grounds (this Inn has rooms that are spread out over the town) so it is a short walk on beautifully landscaped grounds to get to the restaurant. Most stays include a free breakfast, and it is a real sit down made to order breakfast in their lovely restaurant, nothing 'continental' or buffet about it. Our room deal also included $20 towards any other food or drink in the restaurant, so we had dinner there both nights. This is one of the best restaurants in Mendocino. There is a larger, more formal dining room, a cozy bar, and adjacent to the bar is more casual seating in a windowed porch-;like room with fantastic sunset views. The Inn is very centrally located in Mendocino and you can easily walk to anything in town. It IS pricey and they require a two-night stay on weekends, so I would advise looking for one of the coupon deals - Living Social or Groupon or watiing until there is some other seasonal special offer.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetalumaTraveler373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

The room was not clean when we arrived. The beds were made, but there were cobwebs in the nearly every corner, lots of dust balls on the floor, and the pen for the "housekeeping" comment card was broken.

Housekeeping, it turns out, will only be provided before you arrive. They don't clean the rooms during your stay (even if they're not clean to begin with), even though their web site says nothing about this and they charge $400/night.

If you go to this place with children, beware:
1. Despite multiple emails and conversations with the manager about having a crib set up in the room, there was none on our planned late evening arrival. So we arrived, with a child who needed to sleep, with no place for him to sleep.

2. After a phone call to the manager (since no one was there when we arrived) a crib did finally come to our room about an hour later.

3. The person who brought the crib offered no apology, and no sheets for the crib. Such a lovely welcome.

4. The following morning, there was again no expression from the management about how this was an inconvenience, or for that matter, just plain bad business.

I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 2012familytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We bought a Groupon for a two night stay, with a second room as a gift for my parents. We all stayed in the barn in rooms 15 (queen bed, jacuzzi) and 16 (king bed, two steps up to a shower). Both rooms were comfortable and well appointed; room 16 was definitely the bigger of the two rooms. Room 16 faces the street, and there are people and cars passing by, so it's a bit noisier and a lot less private. We kept the curtains closed so that people couldn't look in at us. We chose to "go green", not realizing that it meant that the beds wouldn't get made, or the room straightened, or the coffee or toilet paper refreshed. One irritant is that everything is marked with a price: the LED flashlight is $10, and the 4 bottles of lotion/shampoo/conditioner can be yours for just $69! They'll also be happy to extend the checkout time for a fee of $40+ per hour.

The Groupon came with a bottle of wine (which never did get delivered to our room, despite our asking four times), and two $14 chits that could be used in the dining room or bar, but not on the same night. Dinner was fabulous, though quite pricey at $127 per couple after the $14 chit.

Breakfast was outstanding, especially their version of eggs Benedict, and comes with a mimosa or a glass of juice. However, it also comes with full accounting and a demand for a tip, which came to $14 for each of the two days. I've never had a B&B that included breakfast ask for a separate tip before.

Room Tip: There is live entertainment in the bar on the ground floor, so you won't want a room too nearby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marinrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
393 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

This was a wonderful surprise birthday trip for my husband. We hadn't stayed here before but it was a really sweet experience. The inn and adjacent buildings are comfortable and quaint. We were in the barn building. The king size bed was excellent, room clean and spacious. The bathroom could use some work, not too clean and not enough space to put toiletries, only one paltry glass shelf. We ate our breakfasts there, very good, and both evenings ate our dinner there because the first night was so good! Staff was helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.1 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
7.6 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
460 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
2.4 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
680 reviews
4.6 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacCallum House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacCallum House Inn

Property: MacCallum House Inn
Address: 45020 Albion St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MacCallum House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a classic Victorian boutique hotel located in the heart of Mendocino. Situated on 2 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds the MacCallum House has a full service fine dining restaurant, casual cafe, and bar on site. We offer wedding and group services as well. Our accommodations feature a number of standard amenities including concierge services, 24 hour desk help. Our rooms have many luxury touches such as Shikai bath products,mini bars,gourmet in room coffee, robes, fireplaces, hot tubs, DVD players, Ipod docking stations, phones, and ocean views. We also provide free Wifi property wide so you can stay in touch with the rest of the world. As part of our collection of rooms we also have two vacation homes that are fully equipped and great for families. In addition our Suites property has large rooms complete with ocean views, jetted tubs, gas fireplaces, and large plasma televisions. Come discover why the MacCallum House is the most comfortable place to stay in Mendocino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your MacCallum House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maccallum House Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing