We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a dream spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Reviewed July 28, 2007

My husband and I spent a magical 2 days in this dream spot. We stayed in one of the garden suites - a spacious living room, comfortable bedroom and enormous marble bathroom - in a historic building (with a landmark water tower outside the entrance). It was a short stroll through the luxuriant gardens (Mendocino gardens are incredible, and this one is exuberant) to the main hotel building which housed the lobby, restaurant, cafe and bar. In this building we realized that the Mendocino Hotel is not only a haven for travelers, but also seems to be at the center of community life in Mendocino. Visitors and locals alike enjoy the elegant yet very friendly hospitality of this hotel. The innkeeper, Tom, was an active presence, welcoming people and moving through the lobby making sure that everyone was well taken care of. We ate all our meals at the hotel, as the atmosphere was so convivial and the food extraordinarily delicious. Even simple things were made with great flair - for example, I enjoyed the 8-grain porridge at breakfast, served with fresh fruit and cream. It was a delight to eat lunch up on the deck looking out over the coastal headlands. The hotel is right on the coast - one can walk out from the gracious and very civilized lobby and cross the street to a wild stretch of rock and water that must be one of the most beautiful spots on earth. I had never been to Mendocino before, but after this serendipitous experience, I hope to return often!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sandi_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 611 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2007

We have stayed at the Mendocino Hotel several times, most recently during the Mendocino Music Festival. If you like historic, Victorian hotels, you will love this one. The main hotel has original rooms, from European style bathroom-down-the-hall to exquitsite suites. Their newer garden rooms are appointed in the Victorian style, but updated and slightly larger overall. We've stayed in all of them and love this place. Off-season has quite reasonable rates, and high season isn't bad. The main building overlooks the ocean, the bar/bistro serves excellent food and has a pretty extensive wineby-the-glass menu, and John, the bartender is great. The Dining Room is upscale, very good, and a bit spendy. There is local wi-fi available. The grounds are gorgeous. Bathrooms could be larger, but, hey, it's original. we'll keep coming back whenever we need to get away from hot Sacramento.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank steenychu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2007

We had been to this hotel 27 years ago and had a wonderful experience, and are happy to report that it is still great. The restaurant is amazing, and see if you can get Theresa to be your server, she's awesome!

Stayed: July 2007
3  Thank FWFinOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2007

I have been a full-time and part-time resident of Mendocino for 25 years, and one of my favorite places to go for a romantic meal or a gathering of friends is the Mendocino Hotel's beautiful lobby and Bistro bar. There are many sweet tables for two or more, and the bar food is super and very reasonable. My husband and I love to order a glass of wine and perhaps the Bistro menu's special of the day, then settle back into a comfy chair and watch the sun go down over the ocean. During the winter you can sit by the large fireplace with your meal and enjoy the beautiful antiques and wall decor. The fencing Victorian ladies picture always brings a smile! All in all, great food, great atmosphere, great place!

4  Thank Kayaker55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2007

Just returned from a wonderful (4th of July week) stay at the Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites. What a great experience! The hotel and restaurant staff could not have been more helpful and gracious. The room was perfect, with tub, shower, very comfortable bed and an incredible ocean view. Mendocino is truly a treasure and the Mendocino Hotel is definitely the best vantage point from which to enjoy the area. We've already booked our stay for the same week next year. Great hotel, restaurant and staff.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1moreglassofwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2007

My second stay at the picturesque hotel was just as fabulous as the first. A wonderful view from an excellent location was made even better by an attentive and efficient staff.
I look forward to another stay at this bargain by the sea in the near future.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank trippyCovingtonLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2007

We had the pleasure of staying at this lovely hotel only for a night. My wife and I were travelling down the coast of California and arrived at the registration desk late afternoon and was greeted by a very friendly and gracious clerk named Davina. She offered us a room at a reduced rate and even lowered the rate even more when we told her we were on holiday and it happened to be my wife's birthday. The room was lovely although we were initially put off by having to share bathroom facilities with other guests. However there were four bathrooms each with a shower and they were all spotless. Hotel staff routinely made sure the bathrooms and showers were clean and they did a great job. We experienced no problems utilizing the facilities.

We then had a lovely meal in the hotel restaurant. We did have to wait sometimne before we had service and we were considering leaving as we were very hungry. However without saying a word a waitress approched us and offered us a heartfelt apology explaining there was a mix up in seating ans she was not aware
someone was at her table. Her apology was sincere and we had no further problems. The food was wonderful. At the end of the meal the waitress brought out a beautifully decorated desert for my wife with Happy Birthday written in chocolate and a delicious cheesecake with raspberries. The hotel did not charge for this. Another server with a beautifal voice sang happy birthday to my wife who said it was her best birthday ever.

Adjacent to our room there was a crew filming a movie so we got to have a real California experience. The crew let my wife videotape all of the goings on. After they left the hotel became very quiet and we had a very restful night. In the morning we were able to cross the street and acces a trail along the Pacific. The scenery was breath taking.

I would certainly recommend this wonderful hotel to anyone travelling along the coast. Just ask for Davina and she will take good care of you as will all of the other staff.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidScott56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.1 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
632 reviews
8.6 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
632 reviews
7.7 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#2 of 23 in Fort Bragg
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#3 of 23 in Fort Bragg
450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hill House Inn
Hill House Inn
#18 of 25 in Mendocino
434 reviews
2.4 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites

Address: 45080 Main St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Price Range: $91 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constructed in 1878 and restored in 1975, The Mendocino Hotel Ocean & Garden Suites offers deluxe accommodations: luxurious, romantic, garden suites and cottages situated on two acres of botanical gardens with fireplaces, Italian marble vanities, private balconies and spectacular ocean or garden views. Enjoy antiques, fine art, down comforters, stained glass and Oriental carpets, 24/7 front desk concierge and two award-winning restaurants. ZAGATSURVEY reports “Victorian delights abound at this charming, period Mendocino Hotel restaurant with a California menu that’s right on the mark and sets the scene for locals as the "in place" and well worth the price." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mendocino Hotel And Garden Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing