We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Fairlawn, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
Reviewed July 2, 2007

We had the pleasure of staying at this lovely hotel only for a night. My wife and I were travelling down the coast of California and arrived at the registration desk late afternoon and was greeted by a very friendly and gracious clerk named Davina. She offered us a room at a reduced rate and even lowered the rate even more when we told her we were on holiday and it happened to be my wife's birthday. The room was lovely although we were initially put off by having to share bathroom facilities with other guests. However there were four bathrooms each with a shower and they were all spotless. Hotel staff routinely made sure the bathrooms and showers were clean and they did a great job. We experienced no problems utilizing the facilities.

We then had a lovely meal in the hotel restaurant. We did have to wait sometimne before we had service and we were considering leaving as we were very hungry. However without saying a word a waitress approched us and offered us a heartfelt apology explaining there was a mix up in seating ans she was not aware
someone was at her table. Her apology was sincere and we had no further problems. The food was wonderful. At the end of the meal the waitress brought out a beautifully decorated desert for my wife with Happy Birthday written in chocolate and a delicious cheesecake with raspberries. The hotel did not charge for this. Another server with a beautifal voice sang happy birthday to my wife who said it was her best birthday ever.

Adjacent to our room there was a crew filming a movie so we got to have a real California experience. The crew let my wife videotape all of the goings on. After they left the hotel became very quiet and we had a very restful night. In the morning we were able to cross the street and acces a trail along the Pacific. The scenery was breath taking.

I would certainly recommend this wonderful hotel to anyone travelling along the coast. Just ask for Davina and she will take good care of you as will all of the other staff.

  • Liked — lovely and clean
  • Disliked — shared bathroom
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidScott56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    148
    100
    73
    43
See reviews for
61
338
38
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Healdsburg
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2007

We recently stayed at the Medocino Hotel and found it to be very comfortable and relaxing. The weather was beautiful. We stayed in a garden room. Very ornate discore, wonderful bed, and expected musty odor from a 1878 building. The odor dissipated after a few minutes.

Wish they had a continental breakfast included, although many nice places are very close.

What a cute town. Ate at the Albion Inn - wonderful.

Helpful?
Thank mikewehs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2007

In downtown Mendocino overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Great hotel with clean old fashion rooms, some with bathrooms down the hall. Great bar and restaurant. Nice gardens and plenty of parking in this busy tourist town.

  • Liked — Old work charm
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hs326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Ca.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2007

Mendocino is a beautiful, small town on the north coast of California.
It has been the site of a number of movies and television shows.

In the middle of town, on the main street is an historical hotel- The Mendocino Hotel.
This hotel, while paying tribute to its past with antiques, old photographs etc. offers all the up to date amenities a traveler wants and appreciates.
We stayed in one of the garden suites. They are clustered in a garden area in the back of the main building. On the other side of the street.
Lots of parking. Both upstairs and downstairs accommodations.
Our large room was extremely comfortable. Television, bathtub, coffee/tea making facilities (Although coffee and tea are offered free of charge every morning in the light and airy Gazebo restaurant and bar.)
There is also a beautiful dining room. The food is wonderful!
The people at the desk were all warm, welcoming and very helpful.
They seemed genuinely interested in our well being.
We enjoyed having a drink on the upstairs (of the main building) deck with a fabulous view of the sea and surrounding bluffs.

  • Liked — Hotel charm and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina_S_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2007

i had read bad reviews on other sites about this hotel, but when we got into town i thought it looked nice, and decided to take a chance,
more fool I.!. We were given a room the same size as a medium size wardrobe to "sleep" in. We had a sink in our room and our "bathroom" was down the hall?. I had to wait over 45 minutes to go to the toilet
as there was a lady taking a shower, we had a dinner reservation in a restaurant in town and I needed to take a shower i forgot my towel and had to go back to the room to get it and when i came back down someone had gone into the bathroom again i waited for over an hour but ended up going out to dinner with greasy hair. THis was just the beginning of our adventure. When we got to our room that evening we could clearly hear music which seemed to comming from reception we thought they would turn this off which we think they eventuall did but not untill well into the night it was turned on again bright and early next morning even though we had complained, but the receptionist just stared off into the middle distance. We asked to be moved the next day due to the music playing and our lack of space and a bathroom, and we also could not believe our view which was of a path, our window was on the same level as some sort of pathway. A disgruntled staff member, brought us on tour of the hotel. he did not
seem quiet sure where he was going, and did not seem sure why he was there at all, after towing our luggae by ourselves by the way around the hotel grounds and around the hotel we were brought across the street, to another part of the hotel, he grunted at us opened the door and left, we entered a room which had not been cleaned and still
had another guests belongings in it, i had to use the bathroom and discovered the other guest was trying to take a shower he was as pleased as we were. We towed our luggage back to reception, where we were almost accused of trying to break into a room we cancelled our stay there we wont be going back, and we did meet several people there which felt the same. what a shame becuase the location of the hotel is great, and the lobby has a charm you just dont see anymore but it stops there, make sure and ask if your room has an en-suite.

  • Liked — Nothing except maybe the lobby but we had no time to spend there as we were busy either waiting for a bathroom or being showed rooms that belonged to other people
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank walsh389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mendocino hotels

elk creek
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2007

We have stayed at the Mendocino Hotel for our Anniversary for the past 8 yrs. The Hotel is always clean and the staff always friendly and eager to assist with any needs. There is a wonderful formal dinning room for a special dinner. They also have a fantanstic cafe for breakfast, lunch or afternoon meal. The rooms are all different and decorated with wonderful antiques fitting to the rich history of the area and the Hotel itself. Some of the rooms have ensuite baths and some share baths that are convienent and clean. The bar and lobby is a great place to rest and visit after a full day of shopping, sea kyaking or diving.
The Hotel is located in the center of the local shops and sites. There are many different shops that offer a wide variety of goods....We always find something new and special each visit.
We have stayed at other inns and hotels in the area but consider our stays at the Mendocino Hotel to be the best.
Brian and Rachel

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank ducksoup64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forestville, California
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2007

We just returned from a one nite stay at the Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites. Having plans to take the Mendocino Coast Garden Tour (the annual fundraiser for the Mendocino Arts Ctr.) on Sat., we thought we would relax after a full day of touring and just stay over instead of making the 2 hr. drive home. I had a heck of a time finding a place of lodging in the Mendocino area that accepts a single nite's stay on a summer Sat. The Mendocino Hotel and Stevenswood resort (just south of the village) were the only 2 that I could come up with. Stevenswood (which adds a resort fee to the cost of a room) just proved to be a bit too pricey for our needs, so we opted for the Mendocino Hotel and booked a room in the garden suites complex, which I assumed would be quieter than a room in the very charming (but thin-walled) historic main hotel. We stayed in Rm. #304 called the Meigg's suite and it was perfect: loc'd within a single story bldg. so no one was above us, and it shared (I believe) only one common wall with other rooms. With it's private outside entrance, it had the feeling of a small cottage. The very spacious room held a comfortable king bed (with fluffy comforter), 2 wing-back arm chairs, a table (which had the TV on it, but could still be used for dining or a laptop) with 2 chairs. The decor and furnishings were traditional, but not frilly. The room had a wonderful old brick chimney that still had an original coal door in it! We didn't see a room thermostat so I'm uncertain about a heat source, altho' there was a small floor register in the bath. At any rate, the room was not the least bit chilly at nite. The bath area was on the small side, the shower controls needed some fussing with to establish the correct temperature), and the sink was in a separate space, but had a nice roomy countertop (something usually lacking in historic rooms). The closet was large. Other in-room amenities: a bedside phone, coffee maker with tasty, robust local coffee (the hotel also serves complimentary coffee beginning at 6 a.m.) and a hair dryer. Altho' the parking area for the suites and cottages was a short distance from the front of our room, I only heard voices and a car once and the sounds weren't disruptive. For a busy Sat. nite, I was really pleased that the area was so quiet--and a film crew was even operating on the street in back of the suite complex!

The main hotel bldg. is a fantastic place to explore with many antiques and interesting architectural features. It's almost like walking thru a museum! The staff was friendly and helpful altho' at times very busy due to the weekend visitors attending several special events in the immediate area. We had a drink that nite in the hotel's bar/lounge which has lots of historic character, and we had a delicious and hearty breakfast in the garden room the next morning (if you get there early you can nab a window table with a view out to the ocean). Altho' we didn't eat there, I took a look at the Victorian main dining room and its gorgeous stained glass panels (which originally embellished British train stations, as I understand it). All in all, the Mendocino Hotel was an experience that meshed perfectly with the needs of this trip, and I would certainly go back for another stay.

As an additional note to our time in Mendocino, we had dinner at 955 Ukiah and it was an excellent dining experience. The tiny restaurant is tucked back from the street and the ambience is very casual and comfortable with a high ceiling and walls filled with the work of local artists. Try to dine early and reserve a corner window table with a delightful view of their gardens and 2 water towers. Their fish/seafood dishes are highly recommended--expertly prepared so that the fresh individual ingredients are the stars! Our server was knowledgeable and friendly and altho' the place was busy, provided us with unwavering and professional attention. A great dinng experience!

  • Liked — Spacious room and historic ambiance of the entire property; very close to shops, galleries, restaurants and the Headlands.
  • Disliked — Probably the price--it did seem just a bit steep for lodging that didn't include breakfast, but that's summer weekend rates.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Forestvillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.1 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
619 reviews
7.7 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
470 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hill House Inn
Hill House Inn
#15 of 25 in Mendocino
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
698 reviews
4.5 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
618 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites

Property: Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Address: 45080 Main St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constructed in 1878 and restored in 1975, The Mendocino Hotel Ocean & Garden Suites offers deluxe accommodations: luxurious, romantic, garden suites and cottages situated on two acres of botanical gardens with fireplaces, Italian marble vanities, private balconies and spectacular ocean or garden views. Enjoy antiques, fine art, down comforters, stained glass and Oriental carpets, 24/7 front desk concierge and two award-winning restaurants. ZAGATSURVEY reports “Victorian delights abound at this charming, period Mendocino Hotel restaurant with a California menu that’s right on the mark and sets the scene for locals as the "in place" and well worth the price." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mendocino Hotel And Garden Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing