We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in the Bistro”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Reviewed July 19, 2009

We had a light dinner in the Bistro before the Mendocino Music festival. The crab cakes were perfection. The sausage was great! We got there in time for happy hour and enjoyed their house red and white wine from Husch Vineyards. John (the bartender) is the hardest working man in Mendocino--watch him and be amazed. He's friendly too but you have to catch him at a rare slow moment to chat.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Lab804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 611 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2009

It was my first trip to Mendocino. So, I researched on hotels & BB inns everyday for a few months so that I can make my vacation to be a relaxed & enjoyable/memorable one.
I researched almost all Hotels & BB inns in Mendocino, and decided to pick Mendocino Hotel & Garden Suites, and believe me, it was a right & best choice I have ever made!
I stayed at the garden room with fireplace and it was gorgeous! Breakfast, Lunch, & Dinner were scrumptious!! Especially, Victorian Dining Room was just amazing. I felt like I was time-slipped to the Elizabethan era! What a great & exciting experience I had. Highly recommended!!

Thank Kuri88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

The Mendocino Hotel is a woderfully historic hotel located in the most beautiful of settings. The peaceful community that surrounds this lovely hotel is filled with a tremendous amount of history, art and breath taking views. The staff at the Mendocino Hotel are very courteous and knowledgeable, and always willing to help in any way. Thank you to the owners/ staff of the Mendocino Hotel for a truely wonerful experience, we will be back to see you soon.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank realitycustoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

Upon arrivial, the reception staff would not attend to us until she finished counting money .....in only went down from there. The small cramped room was not unexpected, but the paper thin walls were. We could literally hear everything that was being said in the adjoining rooms as well as the music from the lobby. Not too horrible the first night, but the next night was like torture. At 2am the threesome in the next room were very loud. We asked the front desk to deal with it, and to their credit, the made a call up. We then endured a three hour (this is not an exaggeration) porno sound track. This was clearly not the nice, historic, quaint, experience we had read about on trip adviosr. If you choose to stay here, perhaps a garden suite would be a better choice, unless you are hard of hearing or don't need much sleep. Upon check-out when we relayed our experience to the front staff they were not too sympathetic but provided us with 10% off our stay.......yet still didn't acknlowledge the paying customer with a simple thank-you.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
3  Thank travelfamNorthBend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

We loved the location--on the coast, overlooking the ocean, downtown, with the beach 500 yards away. The nice fireplace in the large parlor was inviting, as was the expensive restaurant. The room was small, no amenities, small bathroom, sink in the room. We could step out onto a public balcony, thus little privacy. The room was $200 per night, and one of the cheaper ones.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank LarryMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

I just spent one night here with my husband. We drove into town with no place to stay and this was the first place we came across. We only paid $100 for the room which was a bargain and actually this was with paying extra for an in-room bathroom. The room was clean and nicely decorated, but absolutely miniature. Our bed could fit only our luggage on each side, but it was fine. We had a back room (Room 18) so no ocean view, but we did have a balcony from which we could see the ocean. We ate in the bar off the bistro menu the night we arrived. All of the reviews are correct in saying that the food is great, but the service dismal. My husband was not pleased, but I'm patient and was willing to wait. The bartender, who doubles as the server, utterly ignored us for a LONG time, and when he finally took our drink order, and served our drinks he avoided making eye contact with us for about another 20 minutes. And we were actually sitting at the bar staring at him while he cleaned glasses. Oh well right? The food was great though, nice hamburger, great fries and great flatbread pizza. Good selection on wines and locals beers. Overall nice little spot, and from what we've read far less expensive than anywhere else in town. Oh yes, and they have wireless internet, which is fast and free...very important for us telecommuters!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2009

I've been twice to the Mendocino hotel and i can only say that it gets better all the time. great food, more than comfortable, with wonderful staff. the setting is amazing. but the bottom line is that it is clear that the managers and owners care for this place with their heart and soul. i am only sorry it took this long

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norby55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.1 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
632 reviews
8.6 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
632 reviews
7.7 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#2 of 23 in Fort Bragg
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hill House Inn
Hill House Inn
#18 of 25 in Mendocino
434 reviews
2.4 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites

Address: 45080 Main St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Price Range: $91 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constructed in 1878 and restored in 1975, The Mendocino Hotel Ocean & Garden Suites offers deluxe accommodations: luxurious, romantic, garden suites and cottages situated on two acres of botanical gardens with fireplaces, Italian marble vanities, private balconies and spectacular ocean or garden views. Enjoy antiques, fine art, down comforters, stained glass and Oriental carpets, 24/7 front desk concierge and two award-winning restaurants. ZAGATSURVEY reports “Victorian delights abound at this charming, period Mendocino Hotel restaurant with a California menu that’s right on the mark and sets the scene for locals as the "in place" and well worth the price." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mendocino Hotel And Garden Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing