We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
“Fantastic Location”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We loved our stay at the Mendocino Hotel- right across from dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean! Good, friendly service. We loved sitting on the deck overlooking the fabulous ocean view. Bed was comfort

Room Tip: I like the rooms with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suziroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas K, General Manager at Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
This is exactly what the professional staff at the Mendocino Hotel strive to hear. We enjoy visiting with our guests and ensuring that they enjoy themselves while staying with us here at the Mendocino Hotel. Nothing is more satisfying than hearing the happy conversations and “oohs and ahhs” of the guests who see whale spouts up on our deck. Thank you for coming to see us and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    151
    103
    73
    43
See reviews for
64
342
38
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yountville, California
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Welcome to the 19th Century.
The Mendocino Hotel stands out in the 2 block long Skyline and looked interesting. We like adventures in time and this was one of those warps that one really wants to forget. We logged in and took a second floor room and we cannot remember why. The dining room is a beautifully preserved antique show and prices are strangely high. With a shower in one closet and the sink in another and a bed far too large for the room, it was a colossal joke.
We found out what luxury was a hundred years ago - it came down to this: We did not care who stayed here nor when; just LEMME OUTTA HERE....!!!!!!.

At 3:45am, I got up and went down to the desk and found a sleepy night clerk (zombie time), after a few minutes, he told me that they could not move me to another room but the owners did have another property in town and there were rooms there...

We had reserved two nights, one of them already used up - I had a hunch that things could get worse but remembered 30 months of living with 300 others in one of Uncle Sam's Fletcher Class Destroyers - the bed folded up, mattress an eighth inch of canvas ...so I did not see how this nightmare would work out.
The office opened at 8 am, at 8:02 we were checked out and on our way.

Room Tip: Go a quarter mile eastward and toss a coin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maurice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Bremen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

We stood one night in this Hotel, because we love Mendocino - For us it is one of the most beautifull towns at the westcoast. We have been several times in Mendocino and one time I wanted to stay in this old and charmfull Hotel, directly at the coast.
What we can say is: The view from the balcony is absolutely wonderfull. To sit there in the chairs and have your breakfast is really a dream.
In my personal dream I thought, that I was sitting in the same chair as James Dean, when he was here in Mendocino, making the film EAST OF EDEN (just watch the film and have a look, when Jimmy is going to see his mother in "Monterey", it is Mendocino)
For us, as People from the North-West of Germany (Bremen), the weather in this part of the US is the best, because we love the wind, the smell of the sea and the lower temperatures.
So, everything of Mendocino is absolutely high class - but the Hotel is low class in reference of Price-Performance Ratio. Maybe, if you pay 300 until 500 $ for a Suite, you will have a better choise, but for 150$ we got a room as large, as to stand up with two persons in there and beside us a Bed. The room was 80 ft² and the bed was 70x50 Inch. And it was noisy, because the walls are out of Wood (1 Inch thick)
The Restaurant is ok, also the Lounge. The reception could be a little friendlier.
But to sit in the old chairs is very delightfull.
What we can say all together is: Stay one night in this Hotel! Take Profit of the old athmosphere! Have a wonderfull view from the terrace over the ocean. And leave the Hotel in this thought, that you have been in there two times, the first and the last time!
But forever come back to Mendocino and let the film "EAST OF EDEN" be in your mind, because (for us) the second Favorit town at the west-coast is Monterey. Maybe this it is, what Elia Kazan also may have thought, when he chose those 2 towns for his film.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mendocino hotels

Victoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I guess you might say this place is 'unique'. That's about all you could say. The lady at the front desk gave us the basic information without even a smile or a welcome of any sort. The room was very dated and tired-looking, desperate for a makeover, no TV, and an old-style rather grubby shower stall with the sink in the bed/sitting room.For such an inflated price we were actually shocked to find some guests don't even have their own bathroom. We would certainly not bother with a return visit and definitely not recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cathrynoneill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I would love to give the hotel 3 1/2 stars but there is no such option.
The staff was extremely helpful and went out of their way to ensure that our stay was better than satisfactory. When the first room that was given to us smelled like musty sea water, the staff (Dena) was quick to change our room and even a better upgraded room! However even the upgraded room could have used a small fridge and hopefully soon an updated interior make over. Walk inside the front door and you feel you've stepped into the gold rush era. We did not dine at the hotel, just had breakfast which was good but somewhat overpriced for the quality of food. I would go back again should a great deal become available.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessitori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa rosa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

my favorite part of my stay was a glass of wine, a new book from the bookstore on the corner and a quiet overstuffed chair in the main lobby. this is not just a typical hotel stay, this is not the ramada or holiday Inn, it's much better than that, it's a step back in time where every corner of the hotel holds some new and interesting sights, the furniture is unique to each room and the hotel itself. The staff was beyond helpful and friendly, leading me to some wonderful not so touristy sites, the bed was comfy and warm, and the Sunday brunch eggs Benedict was fabulous !! a must do while in Mendocino !!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SantaRosaLolita69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I agree with many of the other reviews, this place is in dire need of a makeover. Staff was nice. Aire (sp?) gave us a great deal, but the suite was more than a little tired. Agreed, the location is great, but I can not believe they call themselves a "grand" hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank niniridesagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas K, General Manager at Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Here at the Mendocino Hotel we are in constant state of carefully maintaining the historical buildings and furnishings that we have cherished all these years. Living in a coastal situation historical properties may not even apply a new color of paint on the exterior of their historical building without local Historical Board approval. We are hard pressed to stay looking brand new when in reality we are 136 years old. Just this weekend we had a professional gardener fly in from Japan to join our staff in preserving the two acres of Victorian gardens and landscaping that were designed and installed by Ken Hayashi --- a well regarded landscape architect of Victorian and Japanese gardens. Suites, rooms and public places are being continuously repainted and the hand crafted wallpaper repaired from an extensive collection of antique wallpapers that have been saved and carefully stored for just such a purpose. Travel reviews have referred to the establishment as a “Grand” hotel and an “Opulent Jewel” and are identified in ZAGAT as the local “in place”. It is the only full service hotel in the town of Mendocino in and will certainly serve 100 years from now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.1 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
623 reviews
7.7 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hill House Inn
Hill House Inn
#16 of 25 in Mendocino
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
707 reviews
4.5 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
632 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites

Property: Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Address: 45080 Main St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constructed in 1878 and restored in 1975, The Mendocino Hotel Ocean & Garden Suites offers deluxe accommodations: luxurious, romantic, garden suites and cottages situated on two acres of botanical gardens with fireplaces, Italian marble vanities, private balconies and spectacular ocean or garden views. Enjoy antiques, fine art, down comforters, stained glass and Oriental carpets, 24/7 front desk concierge and two award-winning restaurants. ZAGATSURVEY reports “Victorian delights abound at this charming, period Mendocino Hotel restaurant with a California menu that’s right on the mark and sets the scene for locals as the "in place" and well worth the price." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mendocino Hotel And Garden Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing