We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a delight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Pismo Beach, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always a delight”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I plan our California coast trips around this wonderful Victorian gem. Over the years we have tried probably every level of accommodation here and while I highly recommend the garden rooms in back for their comfort (great mattresses and fireplaces), there are no bad accommodations. The public rooms are unbeatable for ambiance. All food and beverages on the premises are yummy. Be sure to try their porridge if you like hot cereal. I fell in love with it and now replicate the mix of grains at home. Please at least tarry a bit in their lobby and explore the grounds. There is a reason they have won a ton of awards. Your experiences here will outshine others you have in the area...mine have!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzyFor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas K, General Manager at Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
As always we appreciate the wonderful feedback from guests who know us well and love what we have to offer. The porridge is also a favorite of mine Amaranth is the secret grain that gives it such a unique flavor. Looking forward to your next visit and hoping we outshine ourselves in service and friendliness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    145
    98
    70
    40
See reviews for
57
333
37
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goldrush County, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is our fifth stay at the Mendocino Hotel...always a delight! Thank you for wonderful accommodations, close to the water. Your restaurant is fabulous as well! We really enjoy the cottage rooms which are super quiet. Can't wait to return :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knowleshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowen Island, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

To start I will say I've visited this hotel three times before and enjoyed it every time but not so this time. I asked for and was given one of our favourite rooms (#24) which overlooks the ocean and has an entrance onto a large balcony that is used commonly by other guests. Sunset and blustery ocean provided a wonderful start to the evening. Unfortunately the hotel could not come close to matching "mother natures" performance. A rather load band accompanied by an overly enthusiastic drummer played until nearly 2AM and although we tried, sleep was impossible. Next came the visit of several members of next doors audience who decided to carry on (not quietly) throughout the hotels corridors - this continued until after 4AM. The front desk did not seem able (or interested) in trying to keep noise down. Normally, we'd just roll over and sleep in but unfortunately we had to get up at 6:30AM in order to get to our next destination. Will I come back - yes but I'll definitely check to see if next door is planning on having a band and if so I think we'll pass.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas K, General Manager at Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
The staff is occasionally frustrated by the neighboring bar as it's hours and customers are not conducive for a restful stay in rooms that face Main St. at times. We are always concerned about our guest's experiences so please don't hesitate to ask for assistance in quieting down a noisy street party but remember that we are not a incorporated town and do not have sheriff staff readily available to respond to our requests for assistance. It sometimes takes more than an hour for a squad car to arrive and that is unfortunate when our guests are being disturbed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guerneville, California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This historic Victorian is a perfect, convenient pit stop for one night only. The downstairs pub gets quite noisy with band and people drinking. Walls are paper thin and I needed to complain to one obnoxiously loud guest. Room had a nice view of ocean from non-private balcony. Room was a bit cramped with bed right against wall but the roomy common area lounge with fireplace and WiFi made up for it

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Allegator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield
Level Contributor
702 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We spent four nights in Room 325 in the Garden Rooms section of the hotel. Our room was on the second floor in a small cottage of five rooms total. Very quiet, even though we faced the street. We had a fireplace in the large bedroom/sitting area, a sofa, desk, window seat, arm chair, and a very comfortable bed. Lots of windows in the room, too, so even with the foggy days, the room was light and pleasant. Huge soaking tub in the bathroom, good quality toiletries, and attractive vintage furnishings. We were told that wifi was only available in the lobby (a bit of a walk from the Garden Rooms area), but discovered we could get it in our room, too.

The lobby area is lovely, with dark wood paneling and a fireplace surrounded by comfortable antique furniture. The bistro menu is served in the bar and lobby area all day and evening. The gardens are lovely; I wish we could have had better weather to enjoy them more, but we loved the view and the flowers, and the many birds flitting about. Very happy with our stay here. (P.S. My finger brushed the "swimming pool" rating tab below, and I can't seem to delete the entry! There isn't a pool at this hotel.)

Room Tip: Rooms facing the southwest have "partial ocean views"--not a big view, but pleasant noneth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArlettaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas K, Manager at Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Room 325 is a beautiful room with a peak of the ocean and very restful with that large soaking tub and flat screen tv. The rooms in our garden suites area are more spacious than the historic rooms in the main hotel but still have that Victorian elegance and décor that you expect from a historical property. Feel free to ask for your favorite room when making reservations as most guests do pick a favorite and return year after year to enjoy our quaint village and full service hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

On a month long drive-about on the West Coast, we rolled into Mendocino after dark without any advance planning. As a small coastal town with no street lights I had to resort to a google map search on my phone to locate a hotel and that's how I found this place. Mendocino has 24 B&B's and 1 or 2 hotels, therefore Mendocino Hotel's rating as the #1 hotel is achieved with little or no competition in its category. As a seasoned traveler, I appreciated the old vintage look and feel of the place from reception to the antique furnishings of the room. The room was smallish -- which is authentic to the period the hotel was built. I was grateful to get a room at night without a reservation and the woman at the front desk was welcoming. The hotel is well placed on the town's main street and near to a beautiful ocean cliff walk. If only the hotel room rates were lower I would find it a better value and be more inclined to give it a more enthusiastic review. The next morning we had breakfast in the adjoining restaurant -- my feeling was the menu was rather uninspired and our waitress was a bit rough around the edges. Improvement in the restaurant would serve to better complement the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Refined-Bohemian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We arrived in Mendocino as part of our honeymoon and were looking for a place to stay. We were fortunate to stop at this Victorian Hotel. We had a beautiful room with a deck and wonderful views of the ocean! Walking distance to the cliffs. The staff were all very nice and the restaurant had good food. Our waiter the first night, Daniel, took great care of us! Many thanks to the front desk staff for taking such great care of us honeymooners!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas K, General Manager at Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Our staff is always excited to greet newlyweds, it is so up building to have the privilege to serve these couples on their most important and memorable occasions. Their joy is our joy and we encourage everyone to come to the coast and make some of their own wonderful memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.1 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
616 reviews
7.7 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#3 of 23 in Fort Bragg
466 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hill House Inn
Hill House Inn
#15 of 25 in Mendocino
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
692 reviews
4.5 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
609 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites

Property: Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Address: 45080 Main St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constructed in 1878 and restored in 1975, The Mendocino Hotel Ocean & Garden Suites offers deluxe accommodations: luxurious, romantic, garden suites and cottages situated on two acres of botanical gardens with fireplaces, Italian marble vanities, private balconies and spectacular ocean or garden views. Enjoy antiques, fine art, down comforters, stained glass and Oriental carpets, 24/7 front desk concierge and two award-winning restaurants. ZAGATSURVEY reports “Victorian delights abound at this charming, period Mendocino Hotel restaurant with a California menu that’s right on the mark and sets the scene for locals as the "in place" and well worth the price." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mendocino Hotel And Garden Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing