We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it! Great Coastal Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Woodacre, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved it! Great Coastal Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

I always head to Mendocino from the S.F. Bay area when I really want to get away, relax and renew my mind, body and spirit. There are two sections to the hotel the older part in the main building and the surrounding garden suites. While both are very nice, I prefer the older hotel for its charm and character. It is located right in the center of town, view of the water or town, reasonable rates if you don't go in the high season, great service and good food. The town is so charming and quaint, perfect for walking around, art galleries, shops, beautiful gardens, historic buildings/architecture and views and whether that can't be beat. The town has a special calm feel that is hard to describe. If you you like larger rooms then opte for the garden suites, but if small with a view is ok for you then the main hotel is perfect. The restaurant is fabulous, but my preference is to sit in the bar and have a drink, snack and look out at the ocean. Great lobby with fireplace and historic charm. The perfect retreat or getaway place.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ike53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    138
    96
    68
    39
See reviews for
54
322
37
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

Decided to spend the night at Mendocino on a recent road trip down California 1. Unfortunately no B&B's were open as it wasn't yet the summer period. Mendocino Hotel was the only place open and taking customers. The staff were pleasant however rooms were tiny, expensive, no TV, and a group of drunken idiots in the courtyard for most of the night meant very little sleep. Mendocino is great to visit, but I wish we had pre-booked a B & B.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vets91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drchef, Manager at Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
We are disappointed that this guest did not select one of our larger accommodations from among our 51 offerings. Our Suites are spacious with separate living rooms, and marble bathrooms fireplaces, television and some offer private balconies overlooking 2 acres of bucolic Victoria Gardens. Where the guest stayed is a lovingly restored 1878 historic building where TVs were eliminated in response to the guest's desire to have a genuine experience. There are drinking establishments in the town and many of the original structures in the town had active bars and in some instances bordellos which apparently thrived on the affluence generated by the gold rush and the need for redwood to support construction of the cities such as San Francisco. We are always pleased to accommodate our guests by having our 24/7 front desk staff concierge or bellman move a guest to a more desirable location
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

Well we had high hopes for this place (especially for $250+ per night) but we were sorely disappointed.

We had confirmed a Garden Suite room with two double beds - we received a room with a King sized bed and a pull out couch. This might not have been so bad, but the couch was very old and the mattress was very thin and extremely uncomfortable!!!!! The bedding provided (once we requested it) for the pull out was just plain nasty.

I requested a room change, but was informed that this wasn't possible because there weren't any rooms available with two double beds that were allowed children....excuse me?!?!?!?!?!

After a long day hiking in the Headlands and enjoying the beach we should have had a great nights sleep...... didn't happen.

I was hoping that a morning shower would put things to rights, but be warned that the water pressure is abysmal! To top it all off, thanks to a very poor bathroom layout I've come home with a huge bruise on my shin from the bathtub surround.

The actual hotel itself (not the Garden Suites) has some lovely features in keeping with it's historic hotel status so, check it out if you are in Mendocino ..... but be sure to stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ohreleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drchef, Manager at Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
During busy Summer evenings the Garden Suites accomodations fill up quickly and bedding configuration is not always guaranteed. This busy time also makes changing rooms difficult. The only area where there is child restrictions is in the Historical section of the hotel but in the Garden Suites we allow children of all ages as the rooms are spacious and have modern facilities. We appologise if staff have neglected to make up the sofa bed beforehand as our policy is to have all sofa beds clean and ready for all check ins. Regarding the water pressure the whole village is on a well system and we were not aware of pressure problems but are greatly concerned for our guest's comfort and happiness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mendocino hotels

Tiburon, CA
Level Contributor
370 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

The hotel had a pleasant, comfortable feel to it, and the decor, old-fashioned, was in keeping with the tradition of the town.
Our room was 316/Maxwell, a garden suite, on the ground floor, and was nicely appointed, in the old-fashioned style. It was a large room, with a lot of windows, but was quite dark because of trees and shrubs cutting out some light, but adding privacy. The doors to the private porch were jammed at the lock, but Steve, the maintenance man, fixed this very promptly. The room had a musty smell, possibly because it was pet-friendly , and the main cupboard smelled strongly of RAID anti-insect spray.
There was some noise from a room over ours and from an adjacent room, but not too bad.
WiFi did not operate in our room ( extremely weak signal ) and we understood it only works in the lobby ; however, it was so slow in the lobby that we gave up on trying to operate on the internet.
The hotel is very nicely located, on the main street, with views of the bay/ocean from the main building. It was easy to get to all of the galleries and shops from the hotel.
Staff were friendly and informative.
Breakfast, in the atrium, was very good, but expensive, and the service was very slow, even though there was only one other table occupied at the time.
We had dinner in the Bistro. While my crab dish was very good, the fish in my wife's fish and chips was very overdone. Reasonable prices. Service was very slow, much to the annoyance of two tables next to us.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building that face the bay are on the second floor, over the lobby/atrium/bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nepenthium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drchef, Manager at Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Guest comments are always taken seriously by our management and after reading the review we have instructed our gardner's to trim back foliage from windows in this Deluxe Garden room to allow more natural light and to prevent unwanted mustiness. A full deep clean of the carpets and draperies have remedied the problem and we thank our guest's for alerting us to this instance. We are currently upgrading the property to have complimentary wi-fi in all of the rooms and hope to have the project completed this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

A quaint retreat in Mendocino county overlooking the Pacific. My husband and I visited California in June for a music festival that was to include camping. After a couple of days of what seemed more like tailgating than camping we decided to check into Mendocino hotel a day early. They were able to accomodate us easily and we were not disappointed, I only wish we would have gotten there sooner! Our room was a quiet retreat out of the last century and the staff was just as nice. The picturesque town had lovely little shops all overlooking some of the prettiest views I've seen in awhile. We can't wait to visit again soon!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsyflour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

Location is great and the lobby downstairs is nice in an old fashion way. The room - a Euro Room with shared bath - looked pretty but the bed was short and small but above all slanted so you had to grab hold not to roll out or onto your partner. Even though the rooms are small I would expect a decent bed!
The stairs to the room are very narrow so beware if you have heavy luggage.
Also the staff at the bar were not very interested in servicing us as guests

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karinn-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

The first room they put us in was damp and smelly, but upon requesting a switch we got a lovely room. Service, food, location etc. were great.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anters_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drchef, Manager at Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
The original hotel was lovingly restored restored and directly overlooks the Pacific Ocean and the sound of the waves occasionally is disturbing. Some guests prefer the more recently constructed garden suites which are situated on two quiet acres of victorian gardens .The view in the rooms facing the ocean do indeed offer partial views . We very much regret that our staff did not encourage this guest to select one of the luxurious suites directly over the ocean in the main hotel which may have been booked at the time as they are the perfect romantic retreat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.1 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
7.7 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Hill House Inn
Hill House Inn
#15 of 25 in Mendocino
3.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
2.4 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites

Property: Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Address: 45080 Main St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constructed in 1878 and restored in 1975, The Mendocino Hotel Ocean & Garden Suites offers deluxe accommodations: luxurious, romantic, garden suites and cottages situated on two acres of botanical gardens with fireplaces, Italian marble vanities, private balconies and spectacular ocean or garden views. Enjoy antiques, fine art, down comforters, stained glass and Oriental carpets, 24/7 front desk concierge and two award-winning restaurants. ZAGATSURVEY reports “Victorian delights abound at this charming, period Mendocino Hotel restaurant with a California menu that’s right on the mark and sets the scene for locals as the "in place" and well worth the price." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mendocino Hotel And Garden Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing