We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweetwater Innn nad Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sweetwater Inn and Spa
Ranked #14 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sweetwater Innn nad Spa”
Reviewed July 26, 2007

We stayed here a year ago and had a delightful room with a full breakfast. This year we stayed and found a opened condom wrapper on the floor of our room,water was off for 12 hours,no breakfast or even coffee for the AM.I would not recommend it for anyone.No one on premise to help you after 6 PM.

Helpful?
Thank nancy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    23
    5
    8
    6
See reviews for
11
47
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mountain VIew, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2007

The the room we stayed in was at first glance clean and comfortable. However, there were a lot of little things and some not so little that made it less than what we expected. The blow drier in the bathroom didn't work, the shower didn't drain properly, but the annoyingly low water pressure kept it from flooding, the towels felt as though they'd been washed in salt water, and there was a previous guest's DRIED BLOOD on our sheets. Each time I tried to call down to the front desk (at least 4 times a day) there was no one there and I was transfered over to the spa staff. We did have a couple of very nice massages, but the desk staff at both the inn and the spa left something to be desired. This was not the relaxing, pampering weekend we were hoping for on our first anniversary, and I would not stay there again. For $275 a night there are much better places.

  • Liked — the massage
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank salwakegypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Reyes, CA
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2007

Wow, I wish I looked at trip advisor before booking. This was our honeymoon and we thought that the spa would be nice complement to our stay there. We stayed in the watertower, which was nice, but nobody called or told us that the spa would be closed the weekend we were there. Major bummer, but sounds like its pretty gross anyway. We tried calling the after hours number, left a message, nobody responded to our request. The management in the morning was rude and I was so disappointed in the overall experience. I really wanted a hottub and this place falsly advertises.
I would never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — rude service, lack of information, spa was closed!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sorazilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2007

Too many surprises! The "clothing optional" feature was a novel surprise that isn't mentioned on their web site, but their "day spa" clientel seemed to be about 90% male, so their frolicking made it an uncomfortable enviornment for us. There were two "hot tubs", one supposedly private for Inn guests, but both were used by all "parties", and cleaned only once a week. Supposedly the "Day Spa" closes at night, with the spa facilities only available to Inn guests, but there was frequent "off-premise" traffic in the wee hours of the morning, and our only shower and rest room facilities were in the spa! An interesting place, but three nights was two nights too many!

  • Liked — Convenience / location
  • Disliked — Please read review
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley,CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2007

I won't tell you which cottage we booked, at the risk of it never being available again...but... we had a beautiful hottub, a well equipped kitchen and a lovely fireplace. fantastic experience, I could not imagine staying anywhere else. The staff were wonderful as well.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 12, 2005

Fireplace smoked us out. Reservations clerk did not inform us our room was in a completely different city then there main hotel. Plumbing clogged. Called emergency phone number, had to leave a voice message and no one returned my call. Owner sent rude letter in response to me complaints and refused to make any adjustment even though we had to sleep with the door open since the fireplace completely filled the room with smoke.

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2005

We've stayed in the garden cottage twice, which seems to be the most booked cottage. The setting is very nice -- there's a private backyard deck with a small hot tub, and over the fence a misty view to the old cemetery in the distance. A queen bed with good reading lights, a small but functional kitchen, and a tiny sitting area (that could use a more comfy couch). The Sweetwater Gardens are nicely kept; there isn't really a spa here, just a few hot tubs that are rented out by the hour. You check in and they leave you alone totally; no breakfast but there are cafes right down the block. My only complaint is I wish the hot tubs were hotter and maintained with newer, more environmentally friendly (i.e., non-chlorine) chemicals.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.3 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.2 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
616 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
466 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hill House Inn
Hill House Inn
#15 of 25 in Mendocino
397 reviews
2.4 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweetwater Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetwater Inn and Spa

Property: Sweetwater Inn and Spa
Address: 44840 Main St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sweetwater Inn and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweetwater Inn and Spa is a beautiful escape in the village of Mendocino, CA offering pet-friendly cottages and cozy ocean view suites at friendly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Sweetwater Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweetwater Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing