We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely hated it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sweetwater Inn and Spa
Ranked #14 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
Eureka, CA
111
Reviewed December 12, 2005

Fireplace smoked us out. Reservations clerk did not inform us our room was in a completely different city then there main hotel. Plumbing clogged. Called emergency phone number, had to leave a voice message and no one returned my call. Owner sent rude letter in response to me complaints and refused to make any adjustment even though we had to sleep with the door open since the fireplace completely filled the room with smoke.

Stayed: November 2005
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Sweetwater Inn and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 80 of 80 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2005

We've stayed in the garden cottage twice, which seems to be the most booked cottage. The setting is very nice -- there's a private backyard deck with a small hot tub, and over the fence a misty view to the old cemetery in the distance. A queen bed with good reading lights, a small but functional kitchen, and a tiny sitting area (that could use a more comfy couch). The Sweetwater Gardens are nicely kept; there isn't really a spa here, just a few hot tubs that are rented out by the hour. You check in and they leave you alone totally; no breakfast but there are cafes right down the block. My only complaint is I wish the hot tubs were hotter and maintained with newer, more environmentally friendly (i.e., non-chlorine) chemicals.

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Santa Rosa, CA
15
Reviewed February 15, 2005

My husband and I recently visited Mendocino for the first time and how wonderful a village it truely is. We chose one of the 2 luxury suites that are offered through Sweetwater Inn and spa. Mendocino 'West' suite is located on the second floor of a large redwood home. It has an incredible view of the pacific ocean and the suite itself was great, clean and even housed a telescope for distant viewing. The sweetwater housekeeping dept. made sure each day that we had everything we desired. The front desk reception at Sweetwater Inn (where we ck'd. in) is very pleasant and helpful. Thank you Sweetwater for a great first time in mendocino; we look forward to our next visit!!

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Fort Bragg, CA
19
Reviewed January 3, 2004

So for starters, by spa they are just talking about massage and a couple of "natural" hot tubs. Not really what I think f when I think of spa. Second the management is rude. This seems to be a trend of sorts, rude management but great employees. Speaking of which the front desk people are great. So overall the prices are high, and the spa is not so great but the staff is oh so nice.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: apple cottage, zwei Räume, Kamin, ein Doppelbett und ein Schlafsofa im Wohnraum,zweckmäßig und gemüt...
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreaJasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.2 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
627 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
478 reviews
0.0 mi away
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn
#11 of 25 in Mendocino
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweetwater Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetwater Inn and Spa

Address: 44840 Main St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range: $159 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sweetwater Inn and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweetwater Inn and Spa is a beautiful escape in the village of Mendocino, CA offering pet-friendly cottages and cozy ocean view suites at friendly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Sweetwater Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweetwater Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing