We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Inn & Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sweetwater Inn and Spa
Ranked #14 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We started off here for a hot tub appt and ended up renting a room last minute due to our current hotel being horrible - the room we booked was the Mendocino View East. It was awesome. The staff here is great and the accommodations are top notch. We will definitely travel here again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 86 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2012

For all those who are a bit more concerned about money and wish to have an interesting night in Mendocino ask for the Late Night Spa Room. At half of the cost of a normal room you get your own outdoor jacuzzi and sauna. The shower is also outside and the bed is pretty tiny (as the receptionist said: you really have to like the person you share it with) and you can only check in after 9.30 but overall who cares when you are looking at the stars in your own jacuzzi ;)

Room Tip: The Late Night Spa room should only be chosen if you are trying to save money... but if you are it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emanuele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

My friend and I decided to schedule a hot tub and massage at the Sweetwater Garden Spa. The B&B is located next to where we were staying, the Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn. I called on Friday, 12/23/11 to see if they could fit us in that evening, and they did. They were very accomodating and helpful. We did get lost trying to find the spa. We walked along the alley from the B&B. Then had to wander our way through the deck-like entry until we finally found the spa. I'm really glad we did find it! The hot tub was a private wooden tub for 2. They provided a robe, slippers and a bag if you don't bring them. We were in the tub for close to 30 minutes, then were walked to get our massages. It was very relaxing! I will go back if I ever make it back to Mendo!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Skinker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I can't believe all the bad reviews that are posted on trip advisor for this hotel. My wife and I have stayed here several times and are going again in a few days.
All the different rooms we have stayed in have been comfortable and clean. The decorations of the rooms are all individual and more like you would find in somebodies home, not like you find in a corporate chain hotel.
The location of the hotel could not be much better. You are within easy walking distance of any place in the town of Mendocino with lots of places to eat or shop. The ocean is right across the street and Mendocino Headlands state park is a few blocks away.
Our favorite room/suite is one of the old water towers with a deck on the roof. You have a 360 degree view of the ocean and Mendocino from up there.
Yes, the main hot tub is clothing optional, if that bothers you there is an optional privat tub you can rent. The tubs are made from redwood and are clean and clorinated.
The rates are very reasonable for Mendocino. You will have no problem spending 3 or 4 times the price for some of the other places in or around town.

Room Tip: Redwood Water Tower has a rooftop deck, a full kitchen and separate sleeping and living rooms (with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelprofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

After considering several options for my stay, I settled on The Sweetwater Inn and Spa.
$125.00 for a large room, king size bed, and a generous view of Mendocino Main Street,
a historic church and the pacific ocean.
Clear skies or foggy, the ambiance was magical and so relaxing and comfortable.
Very friendly check-in process, three hours earlier than posted, walking distance to fine dining. and easy parking in front.
There is no breakfast as part of your stay. Not that big of a deal.
The spa is free for guests and no additional charge, clothing optional group hot tub as well as private tubs. A bonus attraction for those that like to soak.
Was well worth the time spent there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxbialy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed in the sweetwater tower, and would recommend only this room, as the perks of this room make my review positive. The room itself, although clean, was old and ugly. It looked like an estate sale vomited in there. The bed was the most comfortable thing ive ever laid on though, and the remote control fireplace was perfect. At night, we had the jacuzzi, sauna, and outdoor shower to ourselves. beautiful gardens, stars above, and perfect weather made this a night we will never forget. Romantic, sexy, secluded, and quiet. I wouldolnt recommend a lengthy stay though, as the bathroom is shared during the day. Staff was incredible, rate was reasonable, and this inn is unique and must be tried at least once if youre a couple!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Szag82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed at one of the Sweetwater houses not far from the spa. The upstairs has been turned into two units for guests. We stayed in the unit that had the deck with ocean view. It was a lovely place. Loved the fireplace, the soundsystem throughout the entire unit...bedroom, bathroom livingroom. Very short walk to grocery store and Mendocino Village. Because we stayed during the week and not weekend, it was $100 off and the price was extremely reasonable for staying right in town in Mendocino. I don't really like B&B's, so we usually get a cabin or house, and we'd definitely stay here again. It was nice not having to drive after dinner and a night out so you could enjoy a beverage or two (or three!).

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stace40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.2 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
641 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn
#11 of 25 in Mendocino
345 reviews
0.8 mi away
Agate Cove Inn Hotel
Agate Cove Inn Hotel
#5 of 25 in Mendocino
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweetwater Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetwater Inn and Spa

Address: 44840 Main St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range: $157 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sweetwater Inn and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweetwater Inn and Spa is a beautiful escape in the village of Mendocino, CA offering pet-friendly cottages and cozy ocean view suites at friendly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Sweetwater Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweetwater Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing