We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely the Best!”
Review of Sea Rock Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Rock Inn
Ranked #2 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely the Best!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We have been going to the Searock Inn at least once a year since 1995. It is by far our favorite place to stay in Mendocino. The view from our regular room #12 is just fantastic. We look right out over the cove at the Pacific Ocean. If it is a beautiful clear day you can go across the street to the Searock's small park and sit on the bench listening to the restful sound of the ocean breakers against the cliff's. It is truly an experience that we have enjoyed over and over again for several years.

Room Tip: No fitness center or swimming pool but the large soaking tubs in the suite is so relaxing with it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WGB51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We love having guests come back to visit us! After a while you are not a guest but family that we are always excited to see! Your favorite room #12 is very popular for its ocean view soak tub and yes how much more relaxing can you get? Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your visits AND the 5 Star review. We look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    80
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
96
508
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I totally enjoyed my stay at the Sea Rock Inn. The view is gorgeous. The room was very nice with the added warmth of a fire place. The service was perfect with friendly people. We enjoyed a nice walk along the beach at the MacKerricher SP (3 miles north of Fort Bragg on Hwy 1). I will definitely return.

Room Tip: Almost all rooms have a view of the ocean which is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
We love hosting guests around the holidays as we know they are relaxing from the hustle and bustle of the season. Walks along the cliffs in the nearby State Parks are just what is needed to unwind. Thank you for your generous 5 Star review and we will look forward to pampering you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

What a beautiful setting! The best ocean views along the Mendocino Coast. The staff was super.
The housekeeping was impeccable. The cabin was very cozy. The breakfast features outstanding fresh fruit and other goodies.

Room Tip: Cottage 2 was ample but small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
From the magnificent mountains to the awesome ocean! Thank you for your kind words and 5 Star rating. Your key words of best, super, impeccable, cozy and outstanding say everything wonderful about the Sea Rock Inn. We are grateful for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This was our first stay at the Sea Rock Inn but it won't be our last! We were greeted upon arrival as if we were old friends. There was a complimentary bottle of Husch wine waiting for us in our room, fresh flowers on the vanity and home-baked brownies and cookies in the lobby. Our room was spacious, quiet and very clean with a fireplace and two comfy leather chairs, plus a small table and two chairs on our front porch from which we could enjoy the wine while soaking in the fabulous view of the cove and Mendocino headlands. The grounds are lovely and immaculately kept and offer several seating areas to relax in while enjoying the view. We will definitely go back to the Sea Rock Inn!

Room Tip: The Jr. Suites offer the best views although Cabins 5 and 6 also have great views. All rooms have a...
See more room tips
Green Features: We always appreciate it when a hotel conserves water and other natural resources.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daydreamingduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you to our friends from Nevada City for the wonderful comments and 5 Star review! It's always exciting to hear you will be back to visit so that we may share our property and views with you again! The first timers are welcomed as friends, after that guests become part of the family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Went to the Sea Rock Inn for our 30th anniversary. Absolutely fell in love all over again, with help from the location, the room, and the staff, they had champagne and flowers in our room when we got there .We watched the most spectacular sunsets from our cottage. We will suggest the sea rock inn to our friends, and we are already planning another trip.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you "BrendaJay" for allowing us to share in your special day. We love to be able to celebrate anniversaries with our guests. We feel lucky that we can enjoy the flowers also for a moment or two as they come from the florist. Makes us feel special too! and of course we ordered the romantic sunset for you also :) Thank you for your wonderful comments and are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We've been to Mendocino many times always staying at the wonderful Joshua Grindle Inn. When we learned that it had closed, we were very disappointed, but nevertheless decided to spend Thanksgiving at the Sea Rock Inn. We could not have been happier with our choice. Our room had a spectacular ocean and headland view, was extremely comfortable with a fireplace and tv (which we barely used). The room was both clean and spacious, but the view from the room and deck stole the show. Breakfast was very good, and the service was gracious and hospitable. We did wish that the breakfast room had been a bit larger so that we could have comfortably had breakfast with the other friends who were visiting Mendo at the same time (a flexible seating arrangement allowing 6 or 8 would be great). Nevertheless, we loved the Sea Rock Inn and recommend it heartily.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a great view…most, but not all, rooms do have this wonderful ocean/headlands view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your "heartily" high recommendation and 5 Star review! It is always hard to find a new favorite after you have been a repeat guest at a wonderful Inn. We are saddened that our friends at the Joshua Grindle Inn are no longer in Mendocino but at the same time are honored to receive some of their loyal guests such as yourselves into our Inn here at the Sea Rock. Because we are an intimate setting it is difficult to seat large groups in our breakfast room, but will always try to accommodate whatever needs arise. Let us know in the future what your numbers are and we will make it work!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

The views from the Sea Rock Inn are idyllic and just far enough from the town of Mendocino to provide the calm comfort we were looking for. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Linda always makes you feel like family and other staff members are pleasant. Breakfast is adequate but nothing super special. A wonderful property.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SonomaSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your stay with us at the Sea Rock Inn. It is always a pleasure to help our guests have the best time ever and if it means the quiet comfort you were looking for I'm glad we were able to provide that for you. Our location does provide the distance from the bustle of town and cliff side ambiance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.7 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.7 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#5 of 25 in Mendocino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
3.1 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Rock Inn

Property: Sea Rock Inn
Address: 11101 Lansing Street, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Rock Inn, a Mendocino Bed and Breakfast, offers romantic ocean view cottages and suites overlooking the Northern California Coast. Snuggle up in front of a fireplace or unwind in a two-person soaking tub while watching the sun setting over the rugged coastline. Come to the Sea Rock for comfort, privacy and the beauty of Mendocino. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Rock Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing