We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Stay!!”
Review of Sea Rock Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Rock Inn
Ranked #2 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must Stay!!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I arrived at Sea Rock for my 33rd birthday with my mother and sister. It was the best birthday!!! Staff was welcoming, cabin was top notch and the food was delicious. My only regret us that we did not stay longer!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ejc413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We love celebrating birthdays at the Sea Rock Inn! Thank you for your glowing review. Next time you will have to spend a little more time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    83
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
98
528
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Our stay at the Sea Rock was wonderful! We went for our 10th anniversary, and they really made us feel special. The view from the inn is spectacular, and the owners and staff were very friendly. Our room was cozy; perfect for an anniversary getaway. We will definitely plan to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickiedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
So happy we could make your stay an unforgettable one! We are looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great stay, no complaints whatsoever. We stayed in cottage #5 and had an excellent view of the Pacific ocean. There is also an area designated for Sea Rock Inn guests to have an outdoor picnic or just sit down and relax on the benches. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Glad you liked cottage #5! It is one of my favorites also! The view from this accommodation is great. The benches across the street are so inviting for picnics as you say---we look forward to seeing you there on your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed over Thanksgiving weekend 2012. It was our first trip to Mendocino; we moved to the Bay Area 1 1/2 years ago. We've been to Napa and Sonoma several times, but have never ventured this far north. We are so glad we did! It felt like we were a million miles away from home and in another universe. Where else can you hike into a canyon and see a stunning waterfall (Fern Canyon), explore a beach where nature took trash and turned it into treasure (Glass Beach), and end the day with a relaxing massage, a cozy fire, a complimentary split of local wine, a stunning sunset from your own bay window (all at the Sea Rock), and a gourmet locally sourced meal (Cafe Beaujolais)?

After sleeping and dreaming for 10 (yes, 10!) hours, you can get up, tuck into a hearty, fresh, healthy breakfast (warm and tasty quiches, ripe fruit, organic yogurt, etc.) and walk right out your front door to explore the craggy, wild coast (the Headlands), window shop in a historic town (Mendocino), and then freshen up and drive a short way through the majestically towering Redwood forest to spend a leisurely day wandering from winery to winery, tasting the best this rich soil yields (Pinto Noirs! Malbecs!) and soaking in the beauty of the landscape, while experiencing incredible hospitality and none of the crowds of the grapelands further south (a special shout out to Toulose, Navarro and Roederer!). After you nap/rest in the late afternoon by the cozy fire in your cabin, to the sights and sounds of crashing waves just outside, you can drive a short distance to indulge in more comforting, yet creative, local, scrumptious fare (Mendo Bistro in Ft. Bragg), including delicate roasted quail and house made sodas (strawberry chile!). The evening winds down with a delicious nightcap at McCallum House bar back in Mendocino, and more snuggling in front of the fire before you drift off and slumber peacefully for another 10 hours....

The Sea Rock staff is lovely, welcoming and amazingly accommodating. The cabins are pristine and comfortable, with all the amenities (though we watched the waves and the fire more than the flat screen TV). The location cannot be beat for exploring the entire area. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view - well worth the extra price if you like to meditate by watching the wave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RangerDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Mendocino and the surrounding area does have something for everyone. It sounds like you enjoyed the best of wineries, restaurants and hikes. And of course the falling asleep listening to the ocean waves is a great way to end the day! Thank you for your kudos to both Mendocino and the Sea Rock Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville,CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Everything about this Inn is 1st Class. The Inn is well-maintained, and there was absolutely nothing to complain about ! The breakfast was just perfect ! The property is beautiful, and very relaxed and comfortable. We were very impressed as this was our very first visit. Each cottage had a view, and having coffee in the room was an added plus ! The Innkeepers thought of everything ! We will definitely be back soon !!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hllove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searock1, Front Office Manager at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your accolades! We are glad you enjoyed your freshly prepared breakfast. We wanted to be sure you started your day with a full and satisfied tummy! And of course arising to a beautiful view from your cottage with a cup of steaming coffee is just the thing to greet the day. We are awaiting your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Found the Sea Rock Inn by accident while visiting Mendocino. The cottages are very cute, the view is wonderful, the staff very friendly and helpful and the benches across from the Inn to sit and watch the ocean and the sunset were awesome. The blueberry bread is the morning was delicious

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit with us. The benches do provide a front row seat for the awesome sunsets that we do get during this time of year. The blueberry bread is a favorite with many of our guests. We would love to host another visit from you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Excellent Location, Romantic & Cozy, great Ocean views

That pretty much says it all! Wonderful location, very friendly staff, short walk to town, excellent breakfast, spectacular sunset from the chairs in the lawn, made this a perfect weekend in Mendocino.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IloveaviewSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your very kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay as we are most anxious to share our property with it's gorgeous ocean views and cozy cottages with all who stay with us. A perfect get away is what we aim for and are glad that was created for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.7 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.7 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
620 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
699 reviews
5.2 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
619 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#5 of 25 in Mendocino
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Rock Inn

Property: Sea Rock Inn
Address: 11101 Lansing Street, Mendocino, CA 95460
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Rock Inn, a Mendocino Bed and Breakfast, offers romantic ocean view cottages and suites overlooking the Northern California Coast. Snuggle up in front of a fireplace or unwind in a two-person soaking tub while watching the sun setting over the rugged coastline. Come to the Sea Rock for comfort, privacy and the beauty of Mendocino. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Rock Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing