We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful vistas, but disappointing breakfast”
Review of Sea Rock Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Rock Inn
Ranked #2 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Beautiful vistas, but disappointing breakfast”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The Sea Rock Inn has a great location with beautiful vistas of the coast and the Pacific ocean. The rooms are nice and clean, but not very large (unless you book the suites).
It is an easy walk both to the Mendocino Headlands State Park as well as downtown Mendocino.
Unfortunately the breakfast was a real disappointment. For the price we were charged, I would have expected something special, but it was just like an OK breakfast. The selection of bread was very limited, there was a quiche (which was at best OK) and there were some blueberry scones, which were good, if you like blueberry scones. Overall, there was nothing beyond a breakfast you would expect in an average hotel at a much lower price point.
Taking all of this into consideration I have to give "only" a 2 rating - at this price point I would expect more than great vistas and nice, clean and cozy rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xabbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searock1, Owner at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your helpful comments on your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your ocean views from your cozy cottage and noticed the attention to detail we give to the cleanliness of our rooms.

We have taken your feedback on our expanded continental breakfast to heart and have improved on the variety of fresh baked pastries and added both hot and cold cereal.

We are here to provide the utmost positive experience for our guests and are thankful for comments such as yours which affords us the opportunity to continually improve our service.
Warmly,
Susie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    82
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
97
517
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My friend Billie and I were joining a third friend from high school (from 50 years ago!) who lived in the Mendocino area for a mini-high school reunion. Billie and I stayed at the Sea Rock Inn, one of three recommended by people in the area. We rented Unit 7 - a two-bed suite with a totally magical view of the Pacific from our picture window and from the front deck, the view framed by giant cypress trees. I cannot recommend it too highly. Susie and Andy Plocher, in the 19 years they've owned the property, have created a warm and welcoming venue. Before we arrived, I kept phoning to check on amenities: Did they have bathrobes? Yes, plush robes. WIFI? No charge, in our rooms. Breakfast? Yes, it’s a bed and breakfast – fresh quiche, bagels, English muffins, eggs, wonderful oatmeals, homemade jams, delicious! Keurig coffee makers with capsules of delicious coffee in your room. A flat screen TV with a built in DVD player. Wonderful wonderful beds and bedding. A jacuzzi - so good after a brisk day. And the most wonderful wood burning fireplace in the front room, with fire starters, kindling, and dried firewood. And, by the way, if you're partial to abalone, there's an abalone festival the first weekend in October!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayeBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Our Suite #7 is one of the most popular accommodations we have for 'girlfriend' get-aways. Glad you enjoyed all the amenities during your stay. I know the jacuzzi and wood burning fireplace is a must for relaxing after a day of group fun! See you next year?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
2 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Great B & B. We stayed in one of the upstairs suites with wood fireplace and vaulted ceilings. The suite was amazing as was the view from our sitting area, front deck & even from the bathroom. The cottages looked nice as well. It was very convenient having both a microwave and a refridgerator in the room. As well as a coffeemaker, TV/DVD. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was tasty (which usually included a quiche of some kind as well as fruit, & fresh pastries). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was cozy, & quiet but still close to the town of Mendocino, which was perfect for us. We would definitely stay here again. Maybe in Cottage #1 next time.

Room Tip: Ocean views from most (if not all) the rooms, but views from suites and Jr. suites & several of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fltnurse49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We, at the Sea Rock Inn appreciate the mention of how quiet and romantic our property is. Couples, such as yourselves enjoy being able to have a quiet and cozy spot to just "be", take in the beauty of the ocean (even from the soak tub in the bath) and share a glass of wine. Did you spend some time cuddling on our "heart bench"?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
192 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Very very very clean, great view, friendly staff and super comfortable rooms. This was our second stay here. The location is within walking distance of Mendocino Village and an easy drive to rather area sights. We will return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getaround28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
It's always a joy to host repeat guests here at the Sea Rock!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Calif.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My wife and I were in need of a road trip, our first nights stay-somewhere else, was a first all time low for both of us. Fortunately for us we have discovered Sea Rock Inn. My wife was able to secure a reservation for one of there cottages #15? The owner said they don,t normally book this cottage- It does not have a full view of the ocean, we really did not have a problem with this. There are some great touches upon checkin,friendly greeting, lights turned on in your room, a personal welcome note, wine, and it feels really, really relaxing! The beds are verycomfortable, my wife loved the nice touch of a comforter for use in the living room area! It was very foggy when we checked in, my wife could not get connected with her lap top- the owner went above and beyond by letting her use their computer. All in all I can not say enough good things about the Sea Rock!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodzyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
It's so nice to know that even our cottage with the most limited ocean view was deeply appreciated! All our cottages and rooms have their own unique feel and so many of our repeat guests keep going back to the accommodation that is special to them. I'm glad we made your stay with us enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My husband and I needed a weekend getaway and decided to try the Sea Rock Inn. Because it was last minute, most of their cottages were already booked, but they had available Cottage #1 (a 2-bedroom suite with a full kitchen). It was more than we needed, but we were happy to take it. We were so glad that we did!

Cottage #1 has a beautiful view of the ocean and coastline. The "master" bedroom has a gas fireplace stove (all of the cottages have either wood or gas fireplaces) and two sitting chairs. Each cottage has a private deck with chairs to sit out and enjoy the view. Our room was immaculately clean and cozy. The luxurious bedding is plush and warm for cold coastal nights. They had a lot of extra touches - a complimentary bottle of wine, a personalized welcome note, a selection of movies for us to borrow for the evening (at no extra charge), a personalized thank you email when we got home, etc. The staff was warm, welcoming and gracious - very customer service oriented.

The Inn is located on Lansing Street, which is not nearly as loud or busy as Highway 1. We were able to sleep with our window open without street noise. There was no cell reception (AT&T) in the rooms - however, they have a cell reception booster in the office so that we could make calls from there as needed. There is an overlook across the street that allows you to look straight down the steep cliff at the water below. There are benches so that you can sit and enjoy the view.

The rate includes breakfast. I expected that it would be a simple continental breakfast - but it was quite a spread! They served homemade quiche, homemade cranberry croissants, beautiful fresh fruit, and all of the usual continental breakfast fare.

It was a very comfortable, romantic setting. We enjoyed sitting by the fireplace and sitting out on the deck in the fog while listening to the ocean waves. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCH93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit with us and appreciated the extra mile we go to make sure you have a wonderful time. Cottage #1 is a favorite among others as well as it does have all the amenities needed to refresh and relax. We are glad that we had weather good enough for you to enjoy your complimentary wine on the deck. Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My sweetie and I celebrated out 49th Wedding Anniversary in room 17, a Junior Suite at the Sea Rock Inn. It's the same room in which we celebrated our 42nd anniversary in 2006. This second floor room has a great view of the ocean waves crashing on rocks across Lansing Street and, also, of the Mendocino Headlands.

It doesn't even matter that it was foggy and overcast on the days we visited. It's beautiful whatever the weather. Sweetie left the room window open so we could clearly hear the lulling ocean waves crashing on the rocks (I could often hear birdsong, as well). He, also, lit a fire (with the wood left in the room for that purpose) in the black-framed Franklin fireplace positioned diagonally in the room. We could look at the blazing fire from the two red, leather chairs facing the ocean or we could watch the ocean.

We relaxed there for hours not saying anything. We could have enjoyed the wine the management left for us (I no longer drink alcohol). The bed was comfy, though the Scandia down comforter was a bit heavy. The room was warm enough and the bed had a lighter blanket on it as well. Besides that, my sweetie and I covered our legs with a large soft, red blanket while we sat in the red chairs.

The management was accommodating. Before we left for Mendocino, Linda honored my email request to make a dinner reservation at Cafe Beaujolais for our anniversary. The food, though expensive, is scrumptious. Linda, also, graciously took our photo in the breakfast room before we left (my sweetie was in shadow in the anniversary photo taken at the cafe).

I failed to mention that the Sea Rock Inn provides a hot quiche (varies), breads, rolls, sweets, yogurt, oatmeal, and fruits, juices, coffee, or tea for a make-it-yourself breakfast. My sweetie and I enjoyed ours each day to the gentle music and fine ocean view.

Our room included other amenities: TV/DVD, telephone, sitting area, private deck, binoculars, private bath with shower, European toiletries, hairdryer, robes, luxury linens, coffeemaker, ironing board, iron and a private deck.

Once again, we enjoyed our visit to Sea Rock Inn. We plan to visit again. Soon we hope. I recommend that you stay at Sea Rock Inn, sometime, too.

Room Tip: I prefer room 17, a private, upper Junior Suite, because it has great amenities and a wonderful view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank declectic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for letting us at the Sea Rock Inn help you celebrate your 49th anniversary. Junior Suite #17 is one of the most popular upper floor suites for celebrating special occasions. It's red leather chairs in front of the ocean view window add the romantic sparkle to the room! The headlands, even in the mist and fog conjure up that "Heathcliff" romantic feeling. We would love to celebrate another anniversary with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.7 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.7 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
616 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
692 reviews
5.2 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
609 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Rock Inn

Property: Sea Rock Inn
Address: 11101 Lansing Street, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Rock Inn, a Mendocino Bed and Breakfast, offers romantic ocean view cottages and suites overlooking the Northern California Coast. Snuggle up in front of a fireplace or unwind in a two-person soaking tub while watching the sun setting over the rugged coastline. Come to the Sea Rock for comfort, privacy and the beauty of Mendocino. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Rock Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing