We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weather ,view and accomodations here ! !”
Review of Sea Rock Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Rock Inn
Ranked #2 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Santa Rosa, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect weather ,view and accomodations here ! !”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed in cabin #5 while at Sea Rock. There was only one other couple there at the time so we quiet,perfect weather,fantastic view and cozy cottage. Loved the front porch to sit on,green lawn to use ,binocularies to use and walking distance to the town was wonderful..The only other thing that would have made it perfect would have been the food. We were served a small piece of warm quiche each day along with a platter in front of us with fruit, Safeway yogurt,an assortment of bread for us to toast and our choice of a cold beverage. Coffee you got on your own..Some fresh baked pastries and not a hard boiled egg would have made the breakfast more enjoyable..

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view. Cottage preferably..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    83
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
97
525
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

On our recent trip to the USA, our friends invited us to visit one of their favourite weekend destinations, Mendocino, CA. They booked the Sea Rock Inn which we all agreed was a lovely, friendly Inn overlooking the ocean. The room was cozy, clean and very well equipped, especially the welcoming wine and coffee maker. Each room had an instant lighting gas stove for the chilly evenings. Breakfast was delicious with home made scones, bread, quiche in addition to fruit, tea and coffee. The staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you. An excellent choice which we would return to if we came back to that part of CA. Our friends who live in CA will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockinRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for sharing your photos! It looks like you had wonderful weather for your visit to Mendocino, but in May the evenings can get quite chilly and I'm glad you enjoyed your fireplace, wine and hot coffee to keep you warm. We would love to host you again if you ever come back to this part of California in the US!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

We wanted to introduce our friends from the UK to the spectacular Northern California coast. We chose Sea Rock from the internet based on the reviews. We were well rewarded. From the cozy well appointed rooms to the spectacular ocean overlook to the delicious breakfast everything was wonderful. This will definitely be our go-to place on subsequent trips to Mendocino.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Curt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
There is no better way to introduce out of town (or country) friends to the Pacific North Coast than a stay in Mendocino. The Sea Rock Inn loves to host 'first timers' and we want to thank you for choosing us. I'm glad your visit was memorable and thank you for your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at this beautiful Bed & Breakfast, and it was fitting place to commemorate such a special occasion. We had a private suite which was beautifully furnished, and the bed and linens were decadently soft and inviting. The ocean views are dazzling, and when we cracked our windows at night the sounds of the waves lulled us to sleep.

As it's approximately a ten-minute walk (or less than five minutes' drive) into the village, the location is nice as it's conveniently close but secluded enough for privacy. Every member of the staff we encountered ~ from the front desk personnel to landscaping ~ were extremely warm and friendly. The breakfasts featured a combination of hearty fare (quiches and apple turnovers) to lighter options such as fruit, juices, hard boiled eggs and toasts. The dining room has sweeping views of the ocean, and relaxing piano music plays quietly during the meal.

There are a row of chairs on the lawn for guests to enjoy the views, and the entire property is landscaped with a multitude of flowers, succulents and greenery that shows a great deal of effort to detail. Each suite has ample parking directly up to the cabin, which is quite a plus if you have a week's worth of luggage as we did.

The only inconvenience we experienced but should be noted (and this was a very slight one at that) is the difficulty accessing the internet or cellular service. We have AT&T service, which I was told is sketchy at best in this part of California. In order to use my phone we had to be in the center of the main reception area, and then it worked fine. We had sporadic but slow internet service in our room, but I wouldn't count on it to be available if necessary. Again - this was a small inconvenience to us and we were able to access by going to the reception area.

Thank you to the Sea Rock for a lovely visit. We'd like to come back some day!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kentandtracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to join in celebrating your 25th wedding anniversary. We appreciate the fact that you liked the close proximity to town but having the quietness and privacy of being out of the center of the village which of course afforded you that ocean view you spoke of.

We have since ramped up our wireless internet on the property and recent guests have had no trouble with the service. Thank you for letting us know your comments in this area of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

As drove into Mendocino, I spotted a fabulous B&B Inn – the Sea Rock. I got a room, mostly because the view of the ocean is so awesome. It was worth the above-budget price!. My suite faced the ocean and was so cozy. The bed was big and comfy and the fireplace added a great ambiance. Across the street, in a little park with benches, I drank wine (they give you a free split of wine) and watched the ocean. I also found a geocache to add to. In the morning, I took my hearty continental breakfast back to my private porch and dined al fresco. I look forward to a return trip!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JewelsR33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments! The benches across the street from the Inn get a lot of notoriety as they are the perfect spot for 'ocean gazing'. We are glad that you had nice enough weather to enjoy breakfast on your deck. Breakfast picnics are fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

This lovely place has a collection of free-standing cabins and du-plex or quadra-plexes. It is about a five-ten minute walk from the center of town, which makes it somewhat more quiet. The views are lovely if you get a room with a view (which I would highly recommend). We were in a room with a gas "wood-burning" stove, which actually was sort of nice, because you could just push a button and have a warm, attractive fire. Not exactly like a wood burning, but easier! The breakfast was a nice bouffet with fritatta-style eggs, toast, yogurt, etc. Warm and friendly service. The style of the rooms was cozy country, (as opposed to sophisticated elegance) with stove, pine wood walls and a big wooden bed. The landscaping was pretty and very well tended. Also--our room had the option of connecting with its neighbor, which would be great for couples traveling together or families.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with a view of the ocean. There were a couple of cabins that opened onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
It seems from your kind comments that you had a 'cozy' visit with us. It is our main desire to make all our guests comfortable and your description of your stay and accommodation makes us feel that we have accomplished this :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

My wife and I loved this B&B. We own a B&B (The Queen Victoria in Cape May, NJ), so we're pretty particular. We were very impressed by the attentiveness & caring of the owner & staff, the amazing suite, magnificent view, cleanliness and great food. Seriously, you couldn't ask for more. Just book it, you'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QV-Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searock1, Innkeeper at Sea Rock Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
It was our pleasure to host a visit from a fellow B&B owner! We appreciated your kind comments as you certainly know what it takes to make a guest comfortable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.7 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.7 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
619 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
698 reviews
5.2 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
618 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Rock Inn

Property: Sea Rock Inn
Address: 11101 Lansing Street, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Rock Inn, a Mendocino Bed and Breakfast, offers romantic ocean view cottages and suites overlooking the Northern California Coast. Snuggle up in front of a fireplace or unwind in a two-person soaking tub while watching the sun setting over the rugged coastline. Come to the Sea Rock for comfort, privacy and the beauty of Mendocino. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Rock Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing