We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Cozy”
Review of Sea Rock Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Rock Inn
Ranked #2 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Clayton, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Cozy”
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We just got back from our over-nighter to The Sea Rock Inn. The service and views were incredible and our stay was simply relaxing. We stayed in cottage #6 and were very pleased with the amenities and comfort. We had an of the amazing view of the ocean and the crashing waves from our cottage, inside and outside. The grounds are well maintained and the sea air is fresh and clean. The breakfast was delicious too. We plan to return to this cozy inn. Barbara was a wonderful hostess and inn keeper.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBaldemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    82
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
97
517
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Spent my anniversary here in August, 2010. Normally very foggy but we enjoyed beautiful sunny weather. Sea Rock Inn is definitely a place we will revisit. It's a little Inn that has both cottages and rooms with sitting areas (suites, if you will). We were in cottage #5. We had a wonderful deck with a full on view of the ocean. We even had sunsets. Our room came with a bottle of wine that we enjoyed on that deck. There was gas stove (that we could set with a timer). The walls were knotty pine, really charming. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was quite small. Be sure to cover up before/after shower or your neighbor may get an eye full.

Ample parking was available on site right next to cottage. Each cottage pretty much had their own space. The drive into the town of Mendocino took only a few minutes. Many wonderful restaurants to choose from. Most of them quite pricy. There is a lighthouse nearby if you like a good walk. The town of Fort Bragg was a short drive away. There was a wonderful wine festival at the Botanical Garden which topped off our weekend.

The breakfast provided at the Inn each morning was scrumptious. It was complimentary and usually consisted of coffee, tea, juices, quiche, nut breads, danish, fruit, etc. It was very good and it was fun dining with the other guests.

I loved the Sea Rock Inn. i've recommended it to a number of my friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elle464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Found the Sea Rock by accident years ago while on the way home from a much more expensive place in Mendocino. Since then have stayed several times. The Sea Rock became a home away from home and a comfortable base from which to go wine tasting in the Anderson Valley, visit the beautiful beaches (more for hiking than swimming, the water is coooold!), and have some great meals. Not a full restaurant, but the main house serves a nice breakfast and you can get good advice from the innkeepers as to where to explore and dine.
January is not known for bringing great weather to the North Coast of California, but it was beautiful on this visit!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SactoTraveler95819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banta, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Our stay here was great! Barbara, our Inn Keeper, really made this place feel like a home away from home. Whatever they are paying her, they need to double it!!! She cooked the best cuishes, and we found ourselves in conversation as if my fiance and myself knew her for years. The views were amazing. The crisp ocean air, gorgeous California sea cliffs, and blue ocean views are what you experience when you open the door to your room. The rooms were very cozy, almost too cozy....We had a wonderful stay, as we were just looking to relax and get away from it all, which is what the Sea Rock definitely has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keg08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Very nice b&b with cozy individual cabins a few hundred yards north of Mendocino downtown. Although close to the main road, traffic level is very low and noise is not audible, even at night. Very attentive and friendly inn keepers, lovely breakfasts with various kinds of quiche, scones, breads and an assortment of fresh fruit.
The gas fired stoves in the cabins added to the compfy feel while laying in bed overlooking the stormy ocean in a recent rain storm through the large window.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WWTravel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

We found Sea Rock through Select Registry. It was an excellent choice. We had a beautiful view of the ocean, a fireplace and very soft and comfortable bed. It was a very romantic setting. We interacted with three different staff members and each time was very pleasant. They were helpful, made our dinner reservations for us and interested in our comfort. If our schedule didn't require us to leave we would have stayed at least another night.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColeFishBowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2010

What else can one say? The staff and owners are friendly, courteous, and helpful in every regard. The views are some of the best if not the best on the Mendocino coast. The accommodations are wonderful. If you're considering a trip to Mendocino, stay here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyboy0658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.7 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.7 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
616 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
692 reviews
5.2 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
609 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Rock Inn

Property: Sea Rock Inn
Address: 11101 Lansing Street, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Rock Inn, a Mendocino Bed and Breakfast, offers romantic ocean view cottages and suites overlooking the Northern California Coast. Snuggle up in front of a fireplace or unwind in a two-person soaking tub while watching the sun setting over the rugged coastline. Come to the Sea Rock for comfort, privacy and the beauty of Mendocino. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Rock Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing