We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Jewel”
Review of Blackberry Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blackberry Inn
Ranked #9 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vieques, PR
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Little Jewel”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stumbled on to Blackberry Inn and it was wonderful. The people at the desk were friendly and responsive. They gave us a cute little basket with yummy cookies and muffins and even a bottle of wine which we had for dinner. The room was cozy and clean. It had a hairdryer and other welcome bathroom items. It was the best buy of our visit up the coast of Calif and Oregon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CasaMariposa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    66
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
131
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
115 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Comfortable, warm, really quiet inn complete with lovely cakes in the welcome basket. Real fire in the room and an ocean view. It was magical listening to the ocean as we fell asleep and awoke. It is slightly out of town - we walked along the highway which is possibly not advisable - but it's good value and the rooms have a really cute theme.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeport, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My Mom , Sister , niece and I stayed here it was charming and clean right across the road from Mendocino the town, I would go back for sure !!!!!!!Love the little breads and cookies coffee tea
great beds window seat fire place shower bath love the landscape sitting areas, short trip to Fort Bragg and restaurants and beach nice little kitchen TV . Nice people and free wine brought on the last night chilled!!!!!!!!!!!
Would like to go back with my husband for sure have been telling everyone how cute it was. Nice and quite
The view could be better if you want to see the ocean but its still worth going because its so charming and well maintained and just across the HWY from lots of beaches !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sali840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed here for one evening while driving up Highway 1. Michael who is part of the family who started the business was most helpful in helping me to cancel a hotel booking for later in my trip as I was getting nowhere with the strange American booking system.
He also gave me some suggestions for places to visit on route to Seattle where I finish my trip on Saturday.
The bed was comfortable and the theme idea to the rooms was fun!
Easy to find and not far to Mendochino itself.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, CA
Level Contributor
370 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed two nights in the "Bank" room, which was well maintained,clean and nicely presented, with a bank facade on the outside. It had a partial view of the ocean through trees. We wondered why the trees are not removed to improve the view.
It was quirky because the TV was very old, and set low down in a cabinet and hard to view from the bed. No fan in the bathroom, which is a glaring oversight these modern times, but we understand that the owner refuses to install them. The basin faucets turn the opposite direction from the usual anti-clockwise to to open.
The room was quite large with a nice sitting area with wicker chairs and table ,and included a microwave, a fridge, and a basket with some fruit and a baked item but no plates or tools for those who wished to use their own cereal, etc.
It has become more expensive since our last stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nepenthium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angwin,
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

we have stayed at the blackberry inn for many years. each time we have such a wonderful time and so enjoy the peace and quiet. our accomodations are always spot on and management is very anxious to make our stay memorable. just what we need to get away from the busy lives we all have

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marilyn f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This review is a little late but true. We stayed at the Blackberry Inn for a wedding. Our party booked reservations, then management changed, but everything seemed fine. Our room was nice, cozy with a fireplace, and had nice little breakfast treats. We moved the couch to chat with our friends before the wedding but didn't think anything of it. Afterwards, I noticed an extra (large) charge. I called, and the girl at the front seat said it wa a cleaning charge for urinating on the carpet! I am not making this up! She said the cleaner was certain it was urine! I asked for the manager to call but they never did. Terrible service, and frankly bizarre behavior. Urine?!?

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank globetraveler321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgatov, General Manager at Blackberry Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
We are sorry that the cleaning fee was unacceptable to you, but it was necessary. The entire Inn was booked for your wedding party from 8/26/11 to 8/28/11. During the stay of the wedding party, we experienced a couple of other incidents that are indicative of the general behavior. On the night of 8/27/11 one of your party threw burning fireplace logs out into the dry grass field surrounding our inn. We were extremely fortunate that the logs landed in a barren spot, as our entire inn could have burned down. When your party left after the wedding, our crew needed to clean up a large quantity of empty beer cans that were discarded around our premises.

When our cleaning staff went to clean the rooms on 8/28/11, they noticed a wet stain on the carpet in your room. When they investigated it, it smelled of urine. We called in a professional cleaner who verified it was urine. We only charged you for the actual cleaning bill. Our front office staff did call you and informed you of the impending bill. The manager also requested you return the call if you wished to discuss the issue further. We did not hear back from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.9 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.8 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.8 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
1.7 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hill House Inn
Hill House Inn
#15 of 25 in Mendocino
3.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackberry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackberry Inn

Property: Blackberry Inn
Address: 44951 Larkin Rd, Mendocino, CA 95460-9751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blackberry Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blackberry Inn, nestled a half mile above the historic town of Mendocino, offers guests the best of both worlds. Surrounded by sylvan trees, sunny meadows and breathtaking ocean views, the Inn is perfect for those looking for tranquility and luxury. Whether you enjoy strolling through town, hiking the many surrounding beaches, biking the idyllic Hwy. One, or relaxing on your redwood deck with a glass of wine, the Blackberry Inn offers serenity and proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your Blackberry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackberry Hotel Mendocino
Blackberry Inn Mendocino Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing