We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay...Don't pass up”
Review of Blackberry Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blackberry Inn
Ranked #9 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay...Don't pass up”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Stayed in the Sweet Shop, had a front porch with chairs, spacious room with frig and microwave. Made our mini Thanksgiving vacation a wonderful dream. About 6 min. from Ft Bragg and Mendocino village right across the highway. The staff came by every morning with a basket of fresh fruit, muffins and banana bread. Coffee, hot chocolate and popcorn also included. Room was immaculate with beautiful wall paper and pictures. Maid service excellent. Could not ask for a better staff Melissa and Lou are helpful and wonderful in managing the Inn. Barry and Kathy also made the stay enjoyable. Planning to

Room Tip: Great views of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 60713PearlB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    66
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
131
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed in the Livery Stable at the Blackberry Inn on a recent roadtrip around California (our first proper visit to this state) and it was our favourite of the whole trip. The room was lovely - tastefully decorated and furnished, spotlessly clean, bright and airy, big comfy bed, squishy sofa thoughtfully positioned looking out through the tall arched window with views of the Pacific Ocean between the trees, wood burning stove laid ready to be lit (it was beautifully warm while we were there so we didn't need it but I'll bet it's a lovely feature on chilly nights). Delicious muffins and cereal bars and treats on the pillows each day. Excellent WiFi connection. Good sized fridge and microwave oven. Good quality complimentary toiletries in the spotless bathroom. The owners are very friendly and helpful, and their lovely dog Bobby is a star - we wanted to take him home with us! We really would like to have stayed more than two nights but our roadtrip schedule didn't allow for longer. Would also have liked to have seen more of Mendocino which is a very quaint and interesting town with some lovely old buildings. If we ever manage to get back to this area, we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolmheadFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

This hotel has potential, but needs some work. Rooms are kind of western town theme, a little odd, but different. Problem is in lack of upkeep, room needed some basic repairs, knob for heater was broken, half of the light bulbs in the fixtures were burned out. Just simple things that are not being done that wold make a big difference. Price is a little lower than staying in town, but not by much. Website states ocean views, and I guess if you look between the trees and across the highway you can kind of see the ocean, but not a very good view.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank medicman5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

This little cottage is absolutely adorable! Immediately put off by the strange house next door and it was hard to find, but it is SOOOO adorable once you get there. Pretty comfortable and the wine and basket of goodies that were awaiting us was wonderful. Don't expect any maid service the whole time you are there, as it won't happen even at $250/night. The place was mostly very clean except the bathtub was really dirty with debris and spiders in it....so we just opted for the shower in the other bathroom. The bed was comfortable and there was a lot of firewood provided and we really enjoyed the fires. The woods surrounding this cottage are beyond beautiful and majestic, although we did get a little creeped out when we were walking around outside and found a very fresh grape just outside the bedroom window???? It's not as 'off by itself' as you would hope but is surrounded by ghetto looking houses with teenage mutants. Still though, I just found out that this place was for sale and is pending....so no more Storybook :( That's sad, because even though it could have been cleaner and their may have been neighbor kids lurking about, and there was no maid service, I would have definately gone here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MalteseFluffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mts of western NC
Level Contributor
722 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

After a 3 week road trip this Blackberry Inn gets our top vote for favorite place to stay and the place we would definitely return. The gentleman that checked us in on 9/13 was as pleasant as could be and a real pleasure. We stayed 2 nights in one of the less expensive rooms and we found it extremely clean and very roomy. No odors, just nothing to gripe about. A very effective heating unit with thermostat was just one indication that this wasn't your typical inn. A welcome basket was given to us as well as two treats on the bed. The cute little 'village' theme of the Blackberry Inn was very inviting and the 'feel' of the area was very safe and secure. Just a delightful place to stay while visiting Mendocino. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hooked_on_travel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
150 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed at the Blackberry Inn for one night. Blackberry is very conveniently located although not really within walking distance of the main part of town. The rooms are laid out such as 'the Bank', 'The Baker, etc, which is really very charming. We were allocated 'Assayer' The young couple who own and run Blackberry were charming and very helpful. the room was fine - a fireplace in the corner, everything worked and catered for. Even to the bottle of wine we were given when we arrived. A useful touch was that there were menus of all the restaurants in the town on display in Reception so you could choose somewhere. The advice of a restaurant given proved to be very good and 'local' in feel. Good value for money. We were made to feel very welcome. Would recommend it and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pringle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Blackberry Inn is just outside of Mendocino so not walking distance to local restaurants and bars. But I found this an advantage with being more serene and quiet. Similar to Bed and Breakfast with each room being unique but no breakfast provided. We stayed in the "Bank" room which had a nice sitting area and separate tub and shower. There is a partial ocean view from the property but realize that you are on the opposite side of the highway. It was a good value compared to places in town. There was a wood burning fireplace with wood already to go. We had a fire the first night there. A great place to stay unless you have to be in middle of town.

Room Tip: Not worth paying for ocean view room in my opinion. There is a common sitting area to get a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.9 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.8 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.8 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
1.7 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hill House Inn
Hill House Inn
#15 of 25 in Mendocino
3.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackberry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackberry Inn

Property: Blackberry Inn
Address: 44951 Larkin Rd, Mendocino, CA 95460-9751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blackberry Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blackberry Inn, nestled a half mile above the historic town of Mendocino, offers guests the best of both worlds. Surrounded by sylvan trees, sunny meadows and breathtaking ocean views, the Inn is perfect for those looking for tranquility and luxury. Whether you enjoy strolling through town, hiking the many surrounding beaches, biking the idyllic Hwy. One, or relaxing on your redwood deck with a glass of wine, the Blackberry Inn offers serenity and proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HRS so you can book your Blackberry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackberry Hotel Mendocino
Blackberry Inn Mendocino Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing