We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pre 30 Anniversary Visit.”
Review of Blackberry Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blackberry Inn
Ranked #9 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakdale, California
1 review
“Pre 30 Anniversary Visit.”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We have stayed in just about all the Rooms, over a 20 or 25 year period. We have
stayed here 6 different times, We luved it... r first time was in 1988.... It was just
the 2 of us, and we enjoy still in r lives riding bikes, so we rode bikes then during
r time here.. We've stayed in the 90's, with r daughter during her growing up years.
Also in 2000 stayed here with r daughter in her teens... r last visit was last month
in July 2011... We stayed r 2nd time in the School House Room. A beautiful
view of the flowers and such, !!!!! A really enjoyable time. A nice pre Anniversary
of 30 years trip... R Anniversary is coming up the 8th of Aug. Again we luv u Blackberry
Inn. !!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diesel93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    66
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
131
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2011

just want to add that I lived in Mendocino for years so I know every inn and guesthouse and believe me, there's no other place anywhere like this one. It begins the instant you turn into the drive and are at once transported to a magical little, storybook of a western street, complete with post office and even the local lock-up. The Stadd couldn't be nicer and the rooms more adorable... and they charge less for all this than other places that don't offer more than your everyday Holiday Inn.
They say the best recommendations come from the natives so I tell everyone I know and they always call to thank me... and while I've moved away, when I go back I know where I stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leslieRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed in the "school house" at the Blackberry, thematically decorated, clean, and located next to a very friendly Mendocino resident who offered us a Meyer lemon from his tree. Right down the road, we drove to watch the sunset and spied whales swimming up the coast--truly idyllic. The only downside to the Blackberry is that the front desk is pretty indifferent. Having just come from a motel where the desk was very friendly, offering suggestions and just conversation, asking questions at the Blackberry elicited vague, blase responses tantamount to "I don't know." Didn't ruin the stay, but a friendly and helpful desk would have easily elevated it to an "excellent" rating.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcohen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

This is was very homey and comfortable. The ocean view was beautiful and one morning we had deer across the grass outside our window. Very peaceful location off the busy highway and many trees around. Every day they left a goodie basket with local coffee, hot chocolate, microwave popcorn, homemade mini-loaves, bannana nut and lemon, baked cookies or brownies and a bag of dog biscuits and clean up bags for the 4 pawed traveler. Room had a refrigerator also. Each room is like a cottage. Each one is a different western town theme but it is not cheesy. Some are larger to accomodate more people or smaller for a single or couple. A fruit basket and coffee was also in the lobby for the guests. We liked the coffee so much we bought some in town to take home. Great place and worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvstosing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Really enjoyed the room we had at Blackberry Inn. It was a charming throwback to how motels used to be. We enjoyed watching the ocean (at quite a distance) from the swing. It was really a very enjoyable, quiet property. Although you are only a 5 minute drive to Mendocino, unless you want to walk on the Highway, this property IS NOT a walk to town. Also, as with other guests, I thought the lack of welcome and local knowledge at the front desk was downright odd. We were there early in the week when there were very few other people there and it was strange to have such uninterested staff, in what clearly was originally meant to be a welcoming place. The price was right, the place was VERY NICE and we would definitely return, just thought the front desk was a disconnect.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bpugmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Booked this Inn just the day before while driving down the west coast.
We stayed in the Sheriffs office which was lovely cozy and had a spectacular deep soaker jacuzzi overlooking the grounds and the ocean
Our check In wasn't very warm or welcoming. In fact the fellow at the desk barely looked up from his television program. when we asked questions about good places to eat he just warned us that everything was very expensive and we would be better to go back to Fort Bragg
We enjoyed the "theme" of the Inn we also had a nice fireplace but only enough wood provided for one very short small fire.
They do provide you with a basket of snacks so we enjoyed popcorn and a movie in front of the fire. There was also some fresh fruit brownies and banana bread that we saved for the next morning.
The grounds of the Inn are also nice would have loved to explore some of the other theme rooms
I think it was the best value in Mendocino. Some people claim its too far from town> We certainly didn't feel that way we could have easily walked there

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovebirds51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

The Blackberry Inn is located on the east side of Highway 1 across from City of Mendocino. It is less than 5 minutes to the heart of town but very quiet and relaxed. No road noise, no noisy neighbors. Rooms are built on a ridge looking west. Easy parking in front of room.

Rooms are almost like small cottages with exquisite decorations reflecting an old west Village theme. Beds are comfortable; staff is very friendly. Best coffee in room I've ever had; plus fruit and homemade muffins. Each room has microwave, small refer, & wireless internet. Some rooms have ocean view though it is somewhat distant. Prices for a Mendocino motel are reasonable.

Room Tip: All the rooms are about equal.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DAMcC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.9 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.8 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.8 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
1.7 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hill House Inn
Hill House Inn
#15 of 25 in Mendocino
3.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackberry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackberry Inn

Property: Blackberry Inn
Address: 44951 Larkin Rd, Mendocino, CA 95460-9751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blackberry Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blackberry Inn, nestled a half mile above the historic town of Mendocino, offers guests the best of both worlds. Surrounded by sylvan trees, sunny meadows and breathtaking ocean views, the Inn is perfect for those looking for tranquility and luxury. Whether you enjoy strolling through town, hiking the many surrounding beaches, biking the idyllic Hwy. One, or relaxing on your redwood deck with a glass of wine, the Blackberry Inn offers serenity and proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HRS so you can book your Blackberry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackberry Hotel Mendocino
Blackberry Inn Mendocino Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing