We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Mendocino Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agate Cove Inn Hotel
Ranked #3 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Wonderful Mendocino Stay”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed here two nights and loved our time there. We actually stayed in two different rooms due to availability; the hosts were very accommodating and each room was clean, unique, and cozy. The breakfasts were fantastic and the view cannot be beat. We definitely recommend this as a quiet respite, and it was a perfect start to a drive down Hwy 1.

It's a short drive into Mendocino proper, and we found it to be an easy home base for hiking excursions and a trip into town. We had no problem with road noise, and though the property is off the road, we relaxed in the hammock and had a picnic dinner on a bench just off the road (which we didn't find to be busy) but overlooking an amazing Pacific ocean sunset. As an added bonus, the gardens are gorgeous!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TFMash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
We appreciate the 5 star review! We agree, we have an ideal location that is just outside the village but close enough to walk to town. That hammock seems to be a popular spot these days. It is nice and big so two people can comfortably drift off to sleep with no problem. Thank you for discovering us and we hope you return for more adventures in our little slice of heaven that is Mendocino!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    55
    8
    8
    2
See reviews for
39
325
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Talkeetna, AK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is an incredible B+B! We had the most enjoyable stay, the rooms are very large, very comfortable, and our hosts were most accommodating! Not too far from various towns and activities, it provided exactly the quiet haven we were looking for.
The only thing which was a bit disappointing was the lack of internet in the room, and the extremely poor cell phone coverage (not the ACI's fault).
Otherwise, very highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MtnFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for giving us the highest rating possible! We are glad you enjoyed your stay here. I believe we have worked out all the internet problems and so wifi should be working great in all of our cottages. Cell phone coverage is spotty so some phones are not as strong as others but we do have a free long distance phone available for all our guests. We appreciate your kind remarks and for the taking the time to review us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We just returned from our trip to Mendocino and our stay for 5 days at the Agate Cove Inn. The owners Roger and Laraine were so personable and friendly. Our room had a view of the Pacific and the beds were very comfortable. Upon the next visit I will ask for a cottage that has more of an ocean view. There are bath robes provided in your room. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate, scones or muffins are available in the side room off the kitchen and is open 24 hours. The breakfast each morning was gourmet and included in the room rate. We even had Eggs Benedict one morning! The food was absolutely delicious. Make sure to purchase Laraine's new cookbook with all the recipes. The gardens were filled with flowers and the view from breakfast each morning was breathtaking. They even feed the seagull named "C.J." that perches on the Inn's sign post each morning anxiously awaiting a hand signal and breakfast. This place is so quiet, serene, peaceful. We sat in Adirondack chairs at the inn to watch the sun set one evening. If you want to take advantage of their hot tub with the ocean view don't forget a swimsuit. The town is charming as well and has many Victorian homes. We highly recommend a stay at Agate Cove Inn if you are looking for a peaceful place away from the big city and gorgeous ocean views. We also took a picnic lunch out on the headlands and were surrounded by 20 seagulls. We can't wait to visit again. A truly wonderful visit. A big thank you to Roger and Laraine. What a blessing you are! A privilege to meet both of you!

Room Tip: Ask the innkeepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnieDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
It was our privilege to meet YOU! I had to read your review over and over again because it made me so happy! Thank you for describing some of the details that others have not mentioned before. We have had an overwhelming response to the cookbook. It is great now that our guests can duplicate the breakfast experience at home. I love having the opportunity to share these time tested recipes. We do make an effort to make our breakfasts extra special and unique so that our guests don't get bored with the usual plain old pancakes etc. I believe in variety and choices so we do make an effort to mix things up every day during breakfast. We are glad you enjoyed our abundance of flora and fauna. We have a couple of "Fairy Gardens" on the property and feature "fairy garden" supplies in the gift shop and that has been a lot of fun especially for grandparents that want to have an activity with their grandchildren. We are glad you were able to relax and enjoy the spectacular ocean views from our property. We truly are blessed with that. Looking forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We just returned from a weekend at the Agate Cove Inn. Although the room was comfortable, the breakfast was delicious and the views and proximity to Mendocino were great, the road noise was just too much. We stayed in the Zircon room and it is literally backs right up to from Hwy 1. Although the noise does quiet down at night it is always present and cannot be ignored. The property itself is quite nice but will not return due to the constant road noise.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room as far away from Hwy 1 as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Awesomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our inn. We are glad that you thought our inn was nice. Mendocino is built on the coast and unfortunately Highway One runs the entire coastline of the state. We are fortunate to be on the ocean side of Highway 1 so the road noise does not drift up to our property but rather we hear the sound of the ocean. We are sorry that some road noise bothered you. We would have been happy to move you to a different room had we known of your sensitivity. Thanks for trying us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, CA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We just returned from a weekend at the Agate Cove Inn. We have been to Mendocino many times but have never stayed at this lovely Inn. The owners were very attentive and a fabulous full breakfast was included in our room fee. There are wonderful views from this property of the rugged coast and you can take it in from your breakfast table. Our room could not have been more comfortable. The feather beds were comfy, the fireplace kept us toasty and there is every kind of amenity would want in your room --- fridge, microwave, luxurious robes, etc. There is a 24/7 "tea room" where you can get coffee/tea and snacks (don't miss the homemade scones). A phone is available in that same room which I really appreciated since ATT with their usual spotty service in travel areas made my cell phone useless. Since I needed to check in with an elderly father while there, I really did appreciate having this available and had not expected it. Also there is Wi-Fi, and the sweetest dog on the premises. Bring your swimsuits since there is an outdoor hot tub off the kitchen deck. A wonderful location as well. Maybe a mile from town, maybe less. Can't wait for another chance to return!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TuckSpenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
We are thrilled with the 5 Star review you gave us! Thank you for all your kind words and for mentioning some of the room amenities. We do try to anticipate what our guests needs might be and provide accordingly. We are pleased to read that our "guest services" room is being used. Besides the hot drinks and pastry items, the popcorn machine and movies there get a lot of use.
We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview nc
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Breathtaking site overlooking Headlands Park and the ocean. Our room was very comfortable, with lovely Victorian touches. The bed was sooooo comfortable, my little nap was epic,
Breakfast is delicious and looking out the wall of glass, you feel a part of the sea. Loraine and Roger were very helpful about the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace42000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Pros: Great ocean views; friendly hosts; tasty breakfast; cute.
Cons: musty smell in the room.

I recommend it for a weekend getaway. Not far from the town. We actually did whale watching using binoculars from the breakfast room...

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Eco_Friend_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.8 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.7 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
619 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
698 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#5 of 25 in Mendocino
473 reviews
5.3 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agate Cove Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agate Cove Inn Hotel

Property: Agate Cove Inn Hotel
Address: 11201 Lansing Street, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Agate Cove Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agate Cove Inn provides a luxurious and private oceanfront getaway coupled with spectacular views of the Pacific. Perched on a bluff above the coast, Agate Cove Inn delivers a breathtaking view of the sea and rugged headlands. Our Farmhouse and cottages are set on two acres of beautiful coastal gardens, and 100-year-old cypress trees frame the property. Whether you're here on business or a family vacation, Agate Cove has a relaxing environment you'll love. Wake up each morning and enjoy a beautifully prepared breakfast along with fresh brewed coffee, an assortment of fine teas, hot chocolate, and juice! Indulge in our variety of extra features, from our homemade baked goods to our spa services, free movies and popcorn or simply watch the sun set in our outdoor hot tub. Check out our special offers such as the Mendocino Romantic Getaway Package and the Mendocino Wine and Dine Package, an entire day experience with luxury transportation and gourmet meals. We are located close to a whole host of activities like golf and tennis, fishing excursions, kayak tours, along with regular festivals happening all through the year. Take advantage of our concierge service for planning your activities. An innkeeper is on site 12 hours a day. We'll be happy to discuss routes for getting to Mendocino, area attractions, and restaurants. We also make reservations at restaurants, the Skunk Train, horseback riding, whale watching, wine tours, and many other local activities. For the finest oceanfront lodging experience in Northern California, be sure to stay at Agate Cove Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Agate Cove Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agate Cove Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing