We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a lovely place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Agate Cove Inn Hotel
Ranked #4 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Were scrambling last minute to find a place to stay in the Anderson Valley/Mendocino area and were finding everything booked or requiring a 2 night minimum stay. Finally called the Agate cove and YES they were happy to let us stay one night, they had 2 rooms left and we booked at the Moonstone. I have to say, I was expecting a Victorian nightmare, but it actually had a hint of a Hawaiian/ tropics theme to it, so I was pleasantly suprised. NO complaints. Quiet, great shower, soft comfy canopy bed, neat-o heater shaped like an old time stove. Reasonable rates, gorgeous grounds and views and very helpful, accomodating owners- we got in way late and I was worried we would be "locked out" but they left the key where we could get it. Wow.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bailey92101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

We are so happy that we had availability for you and that you had such a comfortable stay. We hope you will try us again when you are in the area, now you know what we have to offer. We appreciate the kind words you have for us and thank you for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 427 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

The Agate Cove is the place to be!

Sure you can stay in downtown Mendocino, but at the Agate Cove you'll be assured privacy in your big clean room that comes with a comfy bed, personal tub with jets, TV/Cable and thoughtful decor. Let's not forget an absolutely lush garden, two wonderful hosts (Roger and Loraine), a delicious breakfast (fresh fruit, poached pear, blueberry muffins, french toast, and/or omelet).

Did I mention the view?

You can enjoy this magnificent view while eating breakfast, or lounging in the hottub, reading a book on a chair in the lawn, enjoying a glass of wine on the patio section or just sitting on the park bench above the cliffs.

Whatever you choose to do at the Agate Cove, you'll be assured rest, a helpful and kind staff, and a surrounding that will coax you out of the fast lane and into relaxation.

THANK YOU ROGER AND LORAINE!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacobespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Agate Cove and its owners/inkeepers Roger and Larraine are simply the best. The views of the ocean are beyond description, our room was beautiful, spacious, and loaded with amenities, the gardens were glorious, and the breakfasts delicious. My friend and I could not have had a better time; we hated to leave and will certainly be back.

First, the innkeepers. Roger and Larraine are gracious, warm and fun, but that is only part of it. They go way beyond the pale to make certain their guests have a perfect stay. One example. Our car broke down about 15 miles short of Mendocino on the coast road coming up from San Francisco. AAA towed us to Agate Cove where Roger asked the tow truck driver to take the car to the one service station in Mendocino. Although it was after 5:00 and the station was closed, Roger assured us that the owner knew him and that he would leave her a note and make sure the car was fixed the next morning. Which it was. In the meantime, Roger drove us to dinner, had the restaurant call him so he could pick us up when we were finished, and then took us into town the next morning. (Agate Cove is not in the village center, but is a moderately short walk away. I'm just not a walker, and Roger was sympathetic.)

Second, the views. The ocean vistas are simply incredible and unobstructed from the property. Breakfast is a treat not only because of the wonderful food but also because of the absolutely spectacular view from the dining area in the main part of the inn. What a way to start the day. And there are plenty of places to sit (and hammocks to relax in) around the grounds to take in the scenery, have some wine, and watch the sunsets.

Third, the room. We stayed in the Sunstone Cottage, which is closest to the ocean and has the advantage of its own private patio facing it. The room was spacious, immaculate, and nicely appointed with a fireplace, cable TV, wi-fi, and a refrigerator, among other amenities. The bathroom was huge, with a large jetted tub, fluffy towels and bathrobes--and yet another view of the Pacific. A carafe of complimentary sherry was also sitting on the mantle when we arrived.

Fourth, the little extras. As if the fabulous breakfasts weren't enough, there is a snack room open all day and evening for guests where coffee, tea, and treats are always available. And you can pop your own fresh popcorn! If it's a bit chilly outside, the inn provides blankets and throws so you can still enjoy relaxing on the grounds without being uncomfortable.

I've stayed in Mendocino on a number of occasions, but always in the center of the village. While the accommodations were certainly nice, they simply did not come close to matching Agate Cove. I cannot recommend it more highly.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sunstone Cottage, which is closest to the ocean and has spectacular views from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2012

Wow what a wonderful review you gave us, it was so well written, thank you. You mentioned some of the inns special qualities and we appreciate that....very observant! We are glad that you made it home safely. It was delightful having you as guests. Best regards, Laraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Upon arriving, you cannot take your eyes off the spectacular ocean view. Arriving was like walking into a fairly tale. It was like stepping into another land in another time. The Gardens were absolutely beautiful and well maintained. The owners and staff are warm and friendly. The Sherry they have waiting for you is delicious. The rooms are very clean. The breakfast was very good, and more than you can possibly eat. My son stayed in a pet room with his dog, and they thought of all comforts including a mat and doggie bed. The beds were so soft, and the rooms were very comfortable. I highly recommend Agate cove. Very relaxing.

Room Tip: The cottage closest to the ocean (the sunset room) is the smallest room with a queen bed. Next time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Was looking for a North Coast get-away and an opportunity to unwind/unplug from the rat race. I did a lot of research online to find a location that met my needs: close to ocean, private cottage, good value. Found all that and more at Agate Cove. I couldn't believe that the garden overlooking the ocean was *exactly* like the photo on the website! Owners very gracious hosts, breakfast was yummy and the Zircon cottage was perfect. It was close enough to town, yet felt private and secluded. So happy to have found Agate Cove and definitely will be returning, as I think I could have found two more days worth of relaxing I could have done :)

One tip for innkeepers: loved the farmhouse deck and the chairs on the lawn overlooking the ocean. Was nice to have blankets available, but wish there could have been a firepit or patio heaters so we could have enjoyed even longer.

Room Tip: When parking in the areas with trees, realize that your car will get some sap/debris. Suggest a car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jody T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My husband and I are "older" (60&67+) "newly weds" on the search for "Our Special Place!" We found it here!

Staying in the Amber Room cottage enjoying an AMAZING VIEW of the ocean from either our pillow-propped bed or from our own private deck sheltered from the winds and our "neighbors" with hedged-garden "rooms," where flowers abound, this has got to be Heaven On Earth-!!!

Enjoy the in-room deep soaking tub with jets and complimentary bubble bath, cozy-perfect bed with dreamy down-filled mattress and topped with quilts for those cool ocean nights. Private fireplace, and in-room refrigerator are just a few extras we found comforting. Pet friendly, lots of private places to sit bundled up with their generous collection of throws, watching the ocean sun-sets, ravens dance in the air or, if you're an early riser... watch the day come alive!

Breakfast is Served!!! And what a breakfast it is too! No need for lunch! We enjoyed homemade blueberry-bread french toast with lemon-zest topping, a BIG bowl of fresh fruit, orange juice, sausage and coffee/tea. Oh, and don't forget the chocolate scones! Just in case you're looking for a snack of fresh baked goodies, or up-before-dawn coffee/tea, it's all there for you in the guest snack room. Fresh popped popcorn and always a plate full of yummy treats to hold you over to your next meal.

We enjoyed an easy walk to town. The road is a bit narrow for about 100 feet when walking two pugs on a leash, but Agate Cove is located away from the main-drag, so the traffic is sparse. There's a lovely trail and point across the street where you can enjoy the ocean up-close. A little hike down to the beach.

Agate Cove reflects "Pride Of Ownership" with Roger and Lorraine living on-site. Two of the nicest-down-to-earth-honest people you are likely to meet. Roger is "deliciously wicked" in the kitchen whipping up breakfast that would easily run you $50.00 for two at the local restaurants, all included in your room rate. Lorraine defines "Gracious" and "Sweet!" check out her knitted goodies in the gift shop.

The morning dining room comes with your own private ocean view and for those stormy days, the crystal chandelier glistens the dining room with tiny rainbows.

Whether you're a couple of old-newly-weds or bride and groom looking for their perfect wedding location with a view of the ocean as a back-drop, or newly-weds honeymooning... or family reunion looking for your special place... This is it-!!!

Why go to Hawaii when it's right here in your own backyard!

Room Tip: Every room is an excellent choice! Think PRIVATE garden cottages with an ocean view and you've...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T-SierraTheodora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Upon arrival were greeted inside by a "friendly" barking dog, kinda nerve racking if you have any dog issues. Checking in, they overcharged us $75.00 in "cancellation fees". When I questioned the hefty UNITEMIZED total, he said we had lots of cancellations. We did, but not $150.00 worth!! Didn't want to start our vacation out with an argument, so I let it go. After reluctantly signing the bill he informed us the jets in our tub were broken, then offered us another room with a lesser view, no offer of a discount. We took the broken tub over the lesser view. There was a big black spider in the room and I asked him to have it removed on our way to lunch. He said he would, but we came back from town several hours later and it was still there. After dinner later that night we came back and it was gone. The next morning after a rainstorm, there were ANTS everywhere, both days, on our clothes computers, bathroom....so both days we had to clean up ants. His comment was, "oh yeah, that happens when it rains"
And the worst part..... THE BED WAS AWFUL! Old lumpy distorted mattress. The ad says its a "comfortable feather bed"......not true....I'm surprised others haven't complained.We didn't sleep well at all. My husband can sleep on anything and he was miserable as well. It was shocking how bad the bed was for as much as you pay. Breakfast was lots of sweet stuff, or a C minus omlet, I had luke warm french toast with really cold syrup....they should at least heat the syrup up in the microwave, I only ate two bites......The good things...the view is grand, and the grounds are beautiful, and the rooms are decorated cute. Nice gas fireplace. The main house is also cozy with a fireplace. Oh, and the dog really is ok.
And we did get our refund on their bookkeeping errors later that week, after I asked for an itemized bill, they admitted their error and apologized. it was the worst vacation we ever had and we will never go back to Agate Cove Inn. I feel bad having to write such a poor review, I so wanted to love it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Thank you for your review of our inn. Yes, we do have stunning views! We we're disappointed in what you wrote about our inn because we tried to please you.

You cancelled your reservation five times over the year. We deducted the cancellation fees from bill and gave you a bottle of wine when we realized that the Jacuzzi tub jet activator button was not functioning and promptly ordered a replacement part, next day air.

A spider in the corner by the front door was removed. We have not seen any ants or had reports of ants so that remains a mystery. Our feather bed toppers are removable and we would have been happy to have removed it had we known that a firmer mattress is to your liking.

Our guests have been so complementary about the breakfasts we serve so we are confident about our recipes and have them posted on our website and at the encouragement of so many, we have a cookbook in the works! We always warm our maple syrup. We are happy to accommodate dietary requirements when advised of special needs.

Although pleased that you took the time to review us, we are also disheartened in what you wrote especially after receiving a friendly e-mail where you wished us well and you wrote, "it really wasn't THAT bad".

We are grateful to Trip Advisor for providing owners an opportunity to reply to our guests reviews. A negative review can kill business especially small businesses so it is important and fair that we be given a voice in this forum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.8 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.7 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
629 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
724 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
480 reviews
0.7 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agate Cove Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agate Cove Inn Hotel

Address: 11201 Lansing Street, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range: $179 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Agate Cove Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agate Cove Inn provides a luxurious and private oceanfront getaway coupled with spectacular views of the Pacific. Perched on a bluff above the coast, Agate Cove Inn delivers a breathtaking view of the sea and rugged headlands. Our Farmhouse and cottages are set on two acres of beautiful coastal gardens, and 100-year-old cypress trees frame the property. Whether you're here on business or a family vacation, Agate Cove has a relaxing environment you'll love. Wake up each morning and enjoy a beautifully prepared breakfast along with fresh brewed coffee, an assortment of fine teas, hot chocolate, and juice! Indulge in our variety of extra features, from our homemade baked goods to our spa services, free movies and popcorn or simply watch the sun set in our outdoor hot tub. Check out our special offers such as the Mendocino Romantic Getaway Package and the Mendocino Wine and Dine Package, an entire day experience with luxury transportation and gourmet meals. We are located close to a whole host of activities like golf and tennis, fishing excursions, kayak tours, along with regular festivals happening all through the year. Take advantage of our concierge service for planning your activities. An innkeeper is on site 12 hours a day. We'll be happy to discuss routes for getting to Mendocino, area attractions, and restaurants. We also make reservations at restaurants, the Skunk Train, horseback riding, whale watching, wine tours, and many other local activities. For the finest oceanfront lodging experience in Northern California, be sure to stay at Agate Cove Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Agate Cove Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agate Cove Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing