We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven On Earth with an Ocean View!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agate Cove Inn Hotel
Ranked #3 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Nevada City, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Heaven On Earth with an Ocean View!”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My husband and I are "older" (60&67+) "newly weds" on the search for "Our Special Place!" We found it here!

Staying in the Amber Room cottage enjoying an AMAZING VIEW of the ocean from either our pillow-propped bed or from our own private deck sheltered from the winds and our "neighbors" with hedged-garden "rooms," where flowers abound, this has got to be Heaven On Earth-!!!

Enjoy the in-room deep soaking tub with jets and complimentary bubble bath, cozy-perfect bed with dreamy down-filled mattress and topped with quilts for those cool ocean nights. Private fireplace, and in-room refrigerator are just a few extras we found comforting. Pet friendly, lots of private places to sit bundled up with their generous collection of throws, watching the ocean sun-sets, ravens dance in the air or, if you're an early riser... watch the day come alive!

Breakfast is Served!!! And what a breakfast it is too! No need for lunch! We enjoyed homemade blueberry-bread french toast with lemon-zest topping, a BIG bowl of fresh fruit, orange juice, sausage and coffee/tea. Oh, and don't forget the chocolate scones! Just in case you're looking for a snack of fresh baked goodies, or up-before-dawn coffee/tea, it's all there for you in the guest snack room. Fresh popped popcorn and always a plate full of yummy treats to hold you over to your next meal.

We enjoyed an easy walk to town. The road is a bit narrow for about 100 feet when walking two pugs on a leash, but Agate Cove is located away from the main-drag, so the traffic is sparse. There's a lovely trail and point across the street where you can enjoy the ocean up-close. A little hike down to the beach.

Agate Cove reflects "Pride Of Ownership" with Roger and Lorraine living on-site. Two of the nicest-down-to-earth-honest people you are likely to meet. Roger is "deliciously wicked" in the kitchen whipping up breakfast that would easily run you $50.00 for two at the local restaurants, all included in your room rate. Lorraine defines "Gracious" and "Sweet!" check out her knitted goodies in the gift shop.

The morning dining room comes with your own private ocean view and for those stormy days, the crystal chandelier glistens the dining room with tiny rainbows.

Whether you're a couple of old-newly-weds or bride and groom looking for their perfect wedding location with a view of the ocean as a back-drop, or newly-weds honeymooning... or family reunion looking for your special place... This is it-!!!

Why go to Hawaii when it's right here in your own backyard!

Room Tip: Every room is an excellent choice! Think PRIVATE garden cottages with an ocean view and you've...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T-SierraTheodora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    54
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
37
321
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Upon arrival were greeted inside by a "friendly" barking dog, kinda nerve racking if you have any dog issues. Checking in, they overcharged us $75.00 in "cancellation fees". When I questioned the hefty UNITEMIZED total, he said we had lots of cancellations. We did, but not $150.00 worth!! Didn't want to start our vacation out with an argument, so I let it go. After reluctantly signing the bill he informed us the jets in our tub were broken, then offered us another room with a lesser view, no offer of a discount. We took the broken tub over the lesser view. There was a big black spider in the room and I asked him to have it removed on our way to lunch. He said he would, but we came back from town several hours later and it was still there. After dinner later that night we came back and it was gone. The next morning after a rainstorm, there were ANTS everywhere, both days, on our clothes computers, bathroom....so both days we had to clean up ants. His comment was, "oh yeah, that happens when it rains"
And the worst part..... THE BED WAS AWFUL! Old lumpy distorted mattress. The ad says its a "comfortable feather bed"......not true....I'm surprised others haven't complained.We didn't sleep well at all. My husband can sleep on anything and he was miserable as well. It was shocking how bad the bed was for as much as you pay. Breakfast was lots of sweet stuff, or a C minus omlet, I had luke warm french toast with really cold syrup....they should at least heat the syrup up in the microwave, I only ate two bites......The good things...the view is grand, and the grounds are beautiful, and the rooms are decorated cute. Nice gas fireplace. The main house is also cozy with a fireplace. Oh, and the dog really is ok.
And we did get our refund on their bookkeeping errors later that week, after I asked for an itemized bill, they admitted their error and apologized. it was the worst vacation we ever had and we will never go back to Agate Cove Inn. I feel bad having to write such a poor review, I so wanted to love it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for your review of our inn. Yes, we do have stunning views! We we're disappointed in what you wrote about our inn because we tried to please you.

You cancelled your reservation five times over the year. We deducted the cancellation fees from bill and gave you a bottle of wine when we realized that the Jacuzzi tub jet activator button was not functioning and promptly ordered a replacement part, next day air.

A spider in the corner by the front door was removed. We have not seen any ants or had reports of ants so that remains a mystery. Our feather bed toppers are removable and we would have been happy to have removed it had we known that a firmer mattress is to your liking.

Our guests have been so complementary about the breakfasts we serve so we are confident about our recipes and have them posted on our website and at the encouragement of so many, we have a cookbook in the works! We always warm our maple syrup. We are happy to accommodate dietary requirements when advised of special needs.

Although pleased that you took the time to review us, we are also disheartened in what you wrote especially after receiving a friendly e-mail where you wished us well and you wrote, "it really wasn't THAT bad".

We are grateful to Trip Advisor for providing owners an opportunity to reply to our guests reviews. A negative review can kill business especially small businesses so it is important and fair that we be given a voice in this forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is such a lovely and inviting inn. We stayed in the Jasper room, very very comfortable. Can't beat the views and serentity. Breakfast was the best. You can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poodoollvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We hare pleased the you awarded us 5 stars in all areas to be judged. We have been busy making upgrades and improvements to all of the cottages and the grounds. We appreciate your review and that you took notice of our work here, including breakfast.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Agate Cove Inn.

The inn is on the main road leading out of the town of Mendocino, probably within walking distance but it was chilly out so we never made the stroll. It's just a few minutes by car if you choose to drive. Mendocino itself is a pretty little town full of historic structures, but it doesn't have a lot going at night. Because of that, I don't see much advantage to actually staying in town, especially if you're staying at a B&B like the Agate Cove Inn and don't have to scrounge around for your breakfast.

Speaking of breakfast, the Agate Cove Inn serves up traditional and tasty bed and breakfast fare. We enjoyed a sweet breakfast one day and a savory one the next, both of which were well prepared and large enough to fuel us through hiking, wine tasting, and other Mendocino-style exploring. The dining area faces the ocean (Agate Cove?)...and what a view! Unfortunately, no whale sightings on this trip.

We stayed in the Moonstone Cottage, which had a great reading nook. The bed was very comfortable and we woke up well rested both days. I read that some people complained about street noise in some rooms, but I didn't hear a thing. I actually had no idea there was a road so close by until I read the reviews!

The jacuzzi-style tub in the bathroom was a treat, but the bathroom was a little chilly (and hard to warm up) compared to the rest of the room. We had to make a mad dash for one of the XL luxurious bathrobes afterward!

The sherry in the room was a nice touch.

The inn also has a nice selection of movies, games, and other items available at the main house, which we made good use of. They also had a binder with local restaurant menus, but it was unavailable when we went to look for it.

The cottage was a little cold when we arrived. It was easily remedied by turning on the fireplace and basking in its glow.

All in all, a very nice stay. It felt a little pricey, but for those of you who have never been to Mendocino before...Mendocino is a little pricey! This was my first time to the Mendocino area so I'm not going to comment on the inn's relative value but I felt like the Agate Cove Inn was not a bad value for this area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank actrombone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2012

My husband and I truly enjoyed our stay at the Agate Cove Inn. The breafasts were great, the room was clean and beautiful, and the view....well, you just can't beat the view! I'd definitely recommend this B&B to all of my friends!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guppy_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Agate Cove Inn. We don have incredible views of the sea and whales passing. We appreciate your review. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Had our tenth consecutive New Years at this wonderful Inn this year. Our room that we try to reserve is the greatest. We have stayed in other rooms in the past and all are great but our favorite is Sunstone. Rain or shine the setting is wonderful and warm. We have seen many changes in the rooms with lots of upgrades over the years. They still have that quaint relaxing feeling to them.

The Inn Keepers, Roger and Laraine are great. They are our second set of Inn Keepers since we started this tradition. We thought it would be hard to beat the last ones but Roger and Laraine have. They work hard to make your experience a rememberable one. The morning breakfastes are always a delight and a great way to start your day,

While there is plenty to do around the area, it is very relaxing to just sit in your room or the farm house and read or watch the sea or meet with others. Roger and Laraine are always willing to chat with you when their duties permit,

We have recommended this Inn to friends and relatives and have heard from them that they really enjoyed their stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2012
Thank you for such a warm and heartfelt review. We always look forward to your time with us. We have made some wonderful life long friendships with some of our guests. You are in that category. Your traditions in turn have become our traditions. We love it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

My husband and I have had the pleasure of staying at the Agate Cove Inn 7 times now, I can't even fathom staying anywhere else while visiting Mendocino. It has a special place in our heart becuase it's where we honeymooned. Visiting Mendocino itself is quite a treat, enhanced by a stay with Roger and Laraine at Agate Cove Inn. Roger prepares a breakfast that is second to none, and it tastes even better (if that's possible) becuase of the full, unobstructed view of the ocean. The rooms (we've stayed in quite a few) are comfortable, cozy and promote the highest level of relxation. Even when the inn is full, you feel private, tucked away in your own little getaway. Most nights, you can smell and see the inviting plume of smoke wafting from the fireplace in the main house. On chilly ocean nights, it makes the stay all the more inviting. You won't be disapointed by a stay with Roger and Laraine at the Agate Cove.

Room Tip: Depends - almost all rooms have an ocean view, either full or just a glimpse. Go to their website a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChuckandBryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.8 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.7 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#5 of 25 in Mendocino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
3.1 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agate Cove Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agate Cove Inn Hotel

Property: Agate Cove Inn Hotel
Address: 11201 Lansing Street, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Agate Cove Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agate Cove Inn provides a luxurious and private oceanfront getaway coupled with spectacular views of the Pacific. Perched on a bluff above the coast, Agate Cove Inn delivers a breathtaking view of the sea and rugged headlands. Our Farmhouse and cottages are set on two acres of beautiful coastal gardens, and 100-year-old cypress trees frame the property. Whether you're here on business or a family vacation, Agate Cove has a relaxing environment you'll love. Wake up each morning and enjoy a beautifully prepared breakfast along with fresh brewed coffee, an assortment of fine teas, hot chocolate, and juice! Indulge in our variety of extra features, from our homemade baked goods to our spa services, free movies and popcorn or simply watch the sun set in our outdoor hot tub. Check out our special offers such as the Mendocino Romantic Getaway Package and the Mendocino Wine and Dine Package, an entire day experience with luxury transportation and gourmet meals. We are located close to a whole host of activities like golf and tennis, fishing excursions, kayak tours, along with regular festivals happening all through the year. Take advantage of our concierge service for planning your activities. An innkeeper is on site 12 hours a day. We'll be happy to discuss routes for getting to Mendocino, area attractions, and restaurants. We also make reservations at restaurants, the Skunk Train, horseback riding, whale watching, wine tours, and many other local activities. For the finest oceanfront lodging experience in Northern California, be sure to stay at Agate Cove Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Agate Cove Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agate Cove Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing