We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really enjoyed the Headlands Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Groton, MA USA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“We really enjoyed the Headlands Inn”
Reviewed September 22, 2006

We really enjoyed our stay in the Wilson room. Very spacious and it has its own balcony for relaxing outside. The inn was quiet but on the edge of downtown so you can easily walk to the shops and restaurants. Also enjoyed the breakfast. The Innkeepers helped us with dinner arrangements and sightseeing advice. Discovered a little ways into the stay there is a wireless connection which is important to me.

Would definitely recommend the Headlands Inn and stay there again!

  • Liked — The overall environment
  • Disliked — Bathroom didn't have enough shelving/places to put things
  • Tips/Secrets — Didin't know about the wireless until near the end of the stay...comes in handy for planning
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnandPatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    55
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
31
391
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2006

The B&B is absolutely lovely. The decoration and rooms are all in Tip Top condition and the staff are so friendly, who are there to give advice and help on making your stay in Mendocino truly memorable. We stayed in the room on the ground floor, it had a lovel feather mattress, with an open fire (which we lit and fell asleep watching both evenings), it was so cosy. Then in the morning (being from England) i sort of expected bacon & egg, etc but oh no Headlands Inn do it differently, a real twist to the breakfast like nothing i have ever seen before, flowers you can eat decorate the plate, hot choc instead tea & Coffee should you wish, a hot section of the brekkie different every day, fruit, all finished off with a homemade muffin (had to save that for eleven's), oh it was beautiful! Also don't forget the homemade cookies, tea, coffee, soft drinks and socialising if you wish between 4-7 in the communal lounge area, a real chance to mingle with the other guests if they are around, we got chatting to a really nice couple both evenings and it was great to see how they were enjoying the Inn and Mendocino as much as my husband and I, as well as pick up some tips if there were things we'd missed on our sightseeing. We really did have a fantastic time, thank you all at Headlands Inn - The Handby's from Englandxx

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank claire30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2006

We were lucky enough to be able to spend 5 nights at the Headlands Inn. We stayed in Casper Cottage, adjoining the main building, and loved it. We peeked into two of the other rooms and they were lovely also. The Inn is very close to the heart of the town. Because of this, I was afraid that it might be a bit noisy, but it was absolutely quiet.

Innkeepers Denise & Mitch could not have been friendlier or more accommodating. They gave great suggestions on restaurants, hikes and other activities. And then there are the breakfasts! They were so delicious and such works of art that my husband took pictures of the tray every morning.

We highly recommend the Headlands Inn.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no telephone
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AmberHop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2006

My wife and I are always looking for the ultimate B & B experience. We look for a warm and friendly staff, a room that is plush, comfortable, makes you feel like your at home, is well-maintained and is in a great location. We finally found it!!! We stayed in the cottage but we looked at all of the rooms and they are all warm, homey and gorgeous. The staff and owners are all incredibly helpful, happy and personable. If you want a stiff, Hilton feel, call ahead and let them know because they will want to make you part of the family, instead.

Mendocino is a perfect get away for those that like a relaxing stay in an area of incredible beauty. Lots to do from nature walks, to wine tasting, to antiquing and to excellent restaurants.

Oh, the breakfasts are all delivered to your room at your requested time. Sumptuous and inviting with a full carafe of coffee with which to enjoy your ready-to-light fireplace!!

  • Liked — Office staff
  • Disliked — Far from Los Angeles (but not TOO far!!)
  • Tips/Secrets — The Mendocino area is an undiscovered secret. Don't tell anyone!!!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lbblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2006

This was our 2nd trip to Mendocino; celebrating our 9th anniversary. Stayed in the Caspar Cottage and it was absolutely wonderful; intimate, relaxing, cozy! We enjoyed everything about this Inn. The Innkeepers & staff are friendly, helpful, down-to-earth, very hospitable. Breakfasts were amazing, and served to your room so you can eat by the fire in your pj's! Can't beat that!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank schnauzer-mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 14, 2006

We stayed at the Headlands Inn in June, 2006.
From the very beginning we were enchanted with this very attractive, cozy, comfortable inn. From the feather beds, ocean views and beautiful garden to the delicious gourmet breakfasts it was truly a experience we will remember.
The innkeepers could not have been more accommodating and friendly and we felt like they were our friends by the time we left. We would definately chose the Headlands Inn on our next trip to Mendocino.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 7, 2006

Had a great couple of nights here in the Bessie Strauss Suite. Very comfortable, relaxing, and easy walking distance to anywhere in town. And the breakfasts served up each morning were incredible!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.1 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
623 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Blackberry Inn
Blackberry Inn
#8 of 25 in Mendocino
225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 10453 Howard Street, PO Box 132, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Headlands Inn is a distinctive Bed and Breakfast in the heart of picturesque, coastal Mendocino village. Casual elegance awaits you at this historic New England-style Victorian saltbox, where personalized service, charming accommodations, and tantalizing breakfasts ensure a perfect getaway! Ideally located, the Inn is only a short stroll to Mendocino's wonderful shops, galleries, restaurants, and the mighty Pacific Ocean. Come to relax, to reconnect, to celebrate -- Come and fall in love with Mendocino, and the Headlands Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headlands Inn Bed And Breakfast
Headlands Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing