We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It just doesn't get any better than this”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2005

We spent three wonderful nights in the Strauss suite last week. Denise and Mitch are not only fabulous hosts but they can cook and present a breakfast that is off the charts. After four days in the Napa Valley, this picturesque little town was the perfect spot to slow down and relax. With the Pacific outside our window, excellent restaurants, art galleries and shops, Mendocino is simply unforgettable.

Stayed: June 2005
7  Thank LindaZR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

540 - 546 of 563 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2005

Every year we look forward to our stay at the Headlands Inn. Things we love about it: the charm and comfort (great beds!, great views!), the fabulous food, the privacy and last but not least the warm hospitality of innkeepers Denise and Mitch. We were prepared for a rainy, but cozy two nights by the fireplace or windowseat, but were rewarded with bright sunshine, flowers everywhere..in the gardens and wild on the headlands. A delicious breakfast is delivered to your door each morning with plenty of hot coffee and the SF newspaper. Denise and Mitch are happy to make dinner reservations if you like at any one of the many wonderful restaurants in Mendocino or the surrounding area. No need to get into your car at all, unless you want to visit the Botannical Gardens in Ft. Bragg (spectacular!) In the late afternoon, tea, sherry and cookies are set out to be enjoyed before getting ready for dinner. Altho we enjoy very much visiting with Denise and Mitch, one could be there, if desired, with minimal contact with anyone else..a truly peaceful way to really get away.(no TV or Internet)
Our favorite room is the Barry Room, but all the other rooms are unique and delightful and well maintained. We highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank judyhazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Freestone, Sonoma County, California
13
Reviewed May 13, 2005

Another delightful stay for us at the Headlands Inn in Mendocino.
At first we were afraid we had come during a rainy period, to this historical little town by the sea. Then we realized that rain or shine it made little difference to us. If it is rainy, we watch the rain through our window, light the fire in the fireplace, get out a good book and just relax.
Looking down at the English garden from our room is a window on the world of birds, birdbaths, green lawn and flowers.
If the sun in shining, there are so many places to see, you will probably run out of time before you run out of places.
The very tasty breakfast, along with flowers and a daily paper that is delivered to your room every morning is just the beginning of a perfect day.
Owners Denise and Mitch greeted us like old friends, and made us feel more than welcome. Instead of visitors you are made to feel like part of their family.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Plymouth, Minnesota
12
Reviewed May 4, 2005

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2005

5  Thank cpchong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2005

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julie1294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Washington, DC
12
Reviewed January 12, 2005

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.1 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
629 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
155 reviews
2.4 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 10453 Howard Street, PO Box 132, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range: $153 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Headlands Inn is a distinctive Bed and Breakfast in the heart of picturesque, coastal Mendocino village. Casual elegance awaits you at this historic New England-style Victorian saltbox, where personalized service, charming accommodations, and tantalizing breakfasts ensure a perfect getaway! Ideally located, the Inn is only a short stroll to Mendocino's wonderful shops, galleries, restaurants, and the mighty Pacific Ocean. Come to relax, to reconnect, to celebrate -- Come and fall in love with Mendocino, and the Headlands Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headlands Inn Bed And Breakfast
Headlands Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing