We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and Yummy in Mendocino”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mukilteo, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely and Yummy in Mendocino”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We enjoyed a lovely stay at the Headlands Inn B&B. The room was comfortable, everything clean and the owners and staff wonderfully welcoming. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. I really appreciate that Denise made my breakfast with full consideration of several food allergies. An unusual find. Definitely wailed stay here again.

Room Tip: Oops no pool or fitness center. Great hiking along the headlands. We stayed in Annie's room. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    54
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
31
385
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calabasas, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2014

My husband and I had the most wonderful stay at the Headlands Inn, where the owners, Denise and Mitch run warm, spotless, welcoming and charming B&B.
If you are looking for the nice and friendly place, with room that is cozy, comfortable and makes you feel like you’re at home, for the inn, which is well-maintained and is in a great location you have to visit Headlands Inn.
My husband and I stayed in Annie’s room. Room was very comfortable and beautifully decorated. The breakfasts are served to the room and are absolutely delicious.
The location is great. You can hear the ocean a few blocks away. Stores and restaurants are walking distance.
We highly recommend a stay at this inn. We are planning to return and bring our friends with us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold River, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The Inn is exceptionally well situated and well kept on all levels. It is clean, quiet and lovely. The breakfast delivered daily is better than any you could buy in town. Coffee and paper included!

Having said this, I am sure that one could find many other nice properties in Mendocino. The Headlands is unique because of the wonderful people running and managing the hotel. They are all bright, quirky (yes, you Kelly:)) and also vibrant, enthusiastic and wonderful. I kept expecting Bob Newhart to come around the corner at any minute.

The owners are constantly smiling and doing all they can to ensure you will have a lovely stay.......and that includes tinkering with things at 8 o'clock at night so your morning will go smoothly. Jeffrey will make sure your checked in and sorted out. It's so nice to see so many people trying their darnedest to make you happy.

So, could you find a better hotel? Doubtful. But even if you could, you wouldn't want to miss out on making new friends and having a great time at the Headlands Inn. We will definitely be back to Mendocino......and we don't have to think for a minute about where we will stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leytap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had an absolutely lovely stay. The attention to detail is unparalleled and we enjoyed every minute of our weekend. The longer you can stay, the better. The location is perfect and central, within walking distance of everything you need. Accommodations are first-rate. Above all, the breakfast in bed is a special experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felton, California
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We've been to the Headlands Inn many times before; however, it's been a number of years and we wondered if it had changed at all. Well, I'm happy to say that it is still the same fantastic Inn that we knew and loved. The hosts bend over backwards to make sure that your stay is everything you could hope for and their breakfasts are to die for. We always try to stay in the John Berry room as we love it's layout, the fireplace and the fact that we have windows on all three sides ... the front window facing the ocean.

The town still has that Bohemian feel; however, we noticed this time a number of the shops seem more "commercial" as opposed to "boutiquey" which was a shame. The restaurants where we ate were great and a drive up the coast showed off this area of California in all its Fall splendor. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: We really like the John Berry room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CADreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Caspar Cottage was a wonderfully cozy private escape. The breakfasts were elegantly served and the food was fabulous. It was nice being able to enjoy the breakfasts privately in front of our own fireplace. We enjoyed leaving our room and taking a walkabout around Mendocino and having the ocean just across the street. There were many jewelry stores, galleries and shops available to take advantage of last minute Christmas Shopping. The Innkeepers were very accommodating and the main house was very welcoming. We will definitely stay at Headlands Inn again.

Room Tip: We liked the privacy of the Caspar Cottage, but will plan to stay on the 3rd floor in the front of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We just got back from a 2-day trip to Mendocino and had a wonderful stay at the Headlands Inn.
Location: The Inn is situated in the center of Mendocino and is walking distance to the waterfront, trails, restaurants, cafes, etc.
Breakfast: The breakfasts are served to the room and are absolutely wonderful. We were served delicious eggs in ramekins, french toast and yummy egg frittatas.
Hospitality: The hospitality could not have been better - Jeffrey, Denise, Mitch and Kelli made our stay so perfect. Every evening, guests are served tea and snacks in the parlor and the fridge is stocked with complimentary water, juice and beer
Comfort: We opted for the Strauss room with the beautiful ocean views which came with a charming sitting area, breakfast nook and fireplace. The parlor in the common area was a lovely sitting area and we really enjoyed relaxing with other guests and sipping on some of the cream sherry.

We would love to come back and stay at the Headlands Inn again!!!!

Room Tip: The Strauss room have lovely views. If you dont like soft beds, opt for a non feather bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rumesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.2 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.1 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
620 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#8 of 25 in Mendocino
152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 10453 Howard Street, PO Box 132, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Headlands Inn is a distinctive Bed and Breakfast in the heart of picturesque, coastal Mendocino village. Casual elegance awaits you at this historic New England-style Victorian saltbox, where personalized service, charming accommodations, and tantalizing breakfasts ensure a perfect getaway! Ideally located, the Inn is only a short stroll to Mendocino's wonderful shops, galleries, restaurants, and the mighty Pacific Ocean. Come to relax, to reconnect, to celebrate -- Come and fall in love with Mendocino, and the Headlands Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headlands Inn Bed And Breakfast
Headlands Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing